Regular price: $29.95

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

The story - both romantic and terrifying - of how a handful of men, armed with nothing more than handguns and guts, forced the greatest nation in the world from their shores.

On Easter Monday, April 24, 1916, the first great revolution of the twentieth century began as working-class men and women occupied buildings throughout Dublin, Ireland, including the general post office on O’Connell Street. Among the commoners in the GPO was a young staff captain of the Irish Volunteers named Michael Collins. He was joined a day later by a fourteen-year-old messenger boy, Eoin Kavanagh. Four days later they would all surrender, but they had struck the match that would burn Great Britain out of Ireland for the first time in seven hundred years.

The 13th Apostle is the reimagined story of how Michael Collins, along with his young acolyte Eoin, transformed Ireland from a colony into a nation. Collins’s secret weapon was his intelligence system and his assassination squad, nicknamed “The Twelve Apostles.” On November 21, 1920, the squad - with its thirteenth member, young Eoin - assassinated the entire British Secret Service in Dublin. Twelve months and sixteen days later, Collins signed the Treaty at 10 Downing Street, which brought into being what is, today, the Republic of Ireland.

An epic novel in the tradition of Thomas Flanagan’s The Year of the French and Leon Uris’s Trinity, The 13th Apostle is a story that will capture the imagination and hearts of freedom-loving readers everywhere.

©2014 Dermot McEvoy (P)2014 Audible Inc.

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.3 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    41
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    4

Performance

  • 4.4 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    42
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    4

Story

  • 4.4 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    37
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    3
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

entertaining and informative

The story is fun and engaging. It also describes a very interesting period in Irish history. The narrator does an excellent job.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Enjoyed the history, not the bad sex

What did you love best about The 13th Apostle?

Great view into the "everyday rebel" in 1916-1922

Who was your favorite character and why?

Michael Collins-great personification of a historical figure, showed strengths, flaws and difficult choices before the young revolutionary

What about John Keating’s performance did you like?

Great Irish Accent. had a good distinction between characters

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

Man enough to admit I was fighting tears at the death of Mic Collins even though I very well knew it was coming

Any additional comments?

Really enjoyed the book, agree with other reviewers that the modern-day story was completely and entirely unnecessary. The author also has no experience or reason to describe sex...my 14 year old self could have done a better job on those parts. I recommend skipping as many "sex" scenes as possible.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Let me know when it's 1919 again

As other reviewers mentioned, the historical element of the book (which is happily the vast majority of it) is great--exciting, accurate as far as I could tell, and with interesting personalities. But I found Johnny and Diane, our modern day narrators, to be insufferable--when not making bizarre non-sequitur sexual innuendos, they're over-explaining what was just read as if it were a Wishbone episode, with inane questions from Diane and smug responses from Johnny.
However, the historical narrative is compelling enough and the reader is engaging enough that I did like it, overall. I knew very little about Ireland's journey from rising to civil war before, and now I feel as if I had been there, which is in the end all I want from a historical fiction novel!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Diane
  • ALBANY, NY, United States
  • 03-06-16

A Must read

Would you consider the audio edition of The 13th Apostle to be better than the print version?

With this narrator definitely.

What does John Keating bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

Character.

Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

Yes, both.

Any additional comments?

If you're interested in Michael Collins and the uprising, this is the book to read.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Fabulous historical fiction!

What a great way to learn history. McEvoy takes you through the twists and turns of the turbulent birth of a nation with ease, strong personalization and rich historical details. It's a long 'read/listen' but well worth immersing yourself in to live history through the lives of those who made it. Young Owen may be the fictitious springboard but he lives along side the reader making you feel as if you are a brother/sister in arms.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Gary Ryan
  • Gettysburg, PA United States
  • 11-24-15

One of the best historical novels I've read.!

A novel filled with historical accuracy and a wonderful story line. A novel I will highly recommend to my friends.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Almost did not buy this book but glad I did

Could have left out the whole Grandson Johnny sections. Did not add to the story but distracting and ruined the flow of the story. Felt like I was there running through the streets of Dublin with Michael Collins.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Veronica
  • Seekonk, MA, United States
  • 04-11-15

Lovable Mick

An in depth imaginative look at a mythical figure, as well as an emotional and thoughtful view of the average persons trials during a horrific time.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

The Irish "War and Remembrance"!

A well-woven tale of those times and the narrator was stellar! I would highly recommend it.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Rating the 13thApostlie

The title is the only thing that turned my interest....after 33 chapters I had to put an end to this book. Why? No need for the foolish interjection of sex, etc. If the author is trying to spice the story or make the reader horny. I leave it to others to analysis. I was looking for additional information on the Irish era 1916 thru 1923. This story did not provide any...

Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Amazon Customer
  • 11-22-15

1916- 2016 a rare story

Loved it, "a drink is as good as a payer".
An excellent insight into a tumultuous period in history.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Pamela Hughes
  • 05-06-15

Mixed feelings

A lot of the 1916 story I found interesting but I couldn't stand the modern narrative between the grandson and his wife, it really distracted from the story.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Clare
  • 01-03-15

Story of a true Irish man.

Fantastic representation of a true Irish hero and his friend and mentor. Great tale of Irish history.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • fiona
  • 10-29-17

Excellent Read

loved it an excellent story enveloped in history that helps you understand the Past

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • wulfgar
  • 08-26-15

absolute twaddle!

this is an awful story, all this book is, is an Americans wet dream of what it was like to live in revolutionary Ireland. it's full of rubbish about Irish culture and life that is insulting to the entire history of Ireland. also the michael Collins portrayal is God like, the man was a good man but he wasn't a bloody saint! all in all this book is full of rubbish and inaccuracy, and incredibly badly written.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • ED
  • 06-18-15

Excellent, Excellent

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

Yes, its absorbing, fascinating insight into Irish politics between 1916 and 1922. Whilst it is partly fictional account of a number of characters , I believe the story line is quite accurate to the events of that time, an insight into Eamonn de Valera and Michael Collins and the reason for the Civil War

What was one of the most memorable moments of The 13th Apostle?

Michael Collins wit

What about John Keating’s performance did you like?

Told a Historical event through a partly fictional novel.

If you made a film of this book, what would be the tag line be?

They already have ..

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Catherine
  • 01-09-15

Definitely Worth a read

As a lover of all aspects of Irish history I fully enjoyed this book. It's story is well told and thoroughly enjoyable. I also shed a tear when "The Big Fella" died. Although I found the parts set in the present day to be a bit too focused on sex. I just wanted to get back to the historical aspect of the book.
But overall I would recommend this book to anyone who has an interest in the Easter Rising, the war of Independence and the civil War in Ireland. Michael Collins remains my hero as he does thousands of other people and this book did him justice.

Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Wanda Fenner
  • 11-09-17

Fell in love with Michael Collins all over again!

omg what a journey! I absolutely loved this book. It was so brilliantly written, so utterly believable , so infused with actual happenings that I had to look up various people to see if they were real! I found myself 'seeing 'it all as if I were watching a movie screen or better still walking the streets of Dublin!
I listened for hours on end. I never wanted to put it down. Even if I only had 5 minutes to spare I'd put it on! However, I don't recommend that because it's addictive and extremely hard to put down for any reason!
i only have one criticism. I wish the author had left the sexual innuendo out. I say this not because I don't like sex scenes but they were totaly incongruous and superfluous .
I seriously wish it wasn't over and look forward to reading again and again!