Regular price: $30.79

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

A big-shouldered, big-trouble thriller set in mobbed-up 1920s Chicago - a city where some people knew too much and where everyone should have known better - by the Oscar-nominated screenwriter of The Untouchables and Pulitzer Prize-winning playwright of Glengarry Glen Ross

Mike Hodge - veteran of the Great War, big shot of the Chicago Tribune, medium fry - probably shouldn't have fallen in love with Annie Walsh. Then again, maybe the man who killed Annie Walsh should have known better than to trifle with Mike Hodge. 

In Chicago, David Mamet has created a bracing, kaleidoscopic tale that roars through the Windy City's underground on its way to a thunderclap of a conclusion. Here is not only his first novel in more than two decades but the book he has been building to for his whole career. Mixing some of his most brilliant fictional creations with actual figures of the era; suffused with trademark "Mamet Speak", richness of voice, pace, and brio; and exploring - as no other writer can - questions of honor, deceit, revenge, and devotion, Chicago is that rarest of literary creations: a book that combines spectacular elegance of craft with a kinetic wallop as fierce as the February wind gusting off Lake Michigan. 

©2018 David Mamet (P)2018 HarperCollins Publishers

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    20
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    20
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    8

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    27
  • 4 Stars
    17
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    4

Story

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    16
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    18
  • 2 Stars
    12
  • 1 Stars
    7
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • S. Cavaah
  • Clinton, ma United States
  • 03-17-18

More Parlow!

Maybe a chuckle or two but I did not think I'd be laughing out loud. The buddy-banter is hilarious and now we heard Mike's side it makes me want more of Parlow.

Could have used a more dynamic reading, more divergent voices, but that's pretty subjective. I listen to a lot of audio and found the performance bland as compared.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Excellent Dialogue and Settings, Not Much Action

Would you try another book from David Mamet and/or Jim Frangione?

Yes

What was the most interesting aspect of this story? The least interesting?

Chicago settings during that time period

Which character – as performed by Jim Frangione – was your favorite?

Mike, the main character

Did Chicago inspire you to do anything?

No

Any additional comments?

Mr. Mamet creates great characters but for a story set in the Capone era, I expected more action. This is a character driven book with excellent dialogue not enough insight in gangland Chicago. The Title and cover photo do not represent what happens in the book.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Dialoge awkward

I don't know if it's the reader or the fact that Mamet is known more for scripts than for novels, but the dialogue when read aloud seems stilted. The words themselves within the quotes are fine, it's more the overuse of said that got to me after a while.

I will probably have to read or listen to this again at some point to really review the story plot aspect.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Narration is horrible

The he said/she said narrative is awful. I mean how many times can you hear he said/she said? I couldn’t take it and won’t finish the book. Also thought the story was weak.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Brian
  • Decatur, IL, United States
  • 05-21-18

Pretty good, not great.

I enjoyed the scene-building and the cultural interplay. I think Jim Frangione did a great job of making it feel authentic. However, the story felt disjointed and the ending was unsatisfying.

I probably would have enjoyed this more as a TV series.


  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Not my type of read

Narrator wasn’t bad but he could rarely finish a sentence without using f**k in a sentence. I’m not a prude, but when cursing becomes standard dialogue it looses all apppeal

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars

Not my style

The author uses dialog to advance the story. And the language is hard to get the cadence. I found it difficult to keep the characters straight because the reader had little if any distinction in his voice for each character. After 4chapters I had had enough. Not my style.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Decent idea, good representation of early Chicago, eh story

As a Chicagoan, hearing familiar street names and locales was interesting. The overall idea of the story was OK, but it just dragged on in places. OK but forgettable story.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

David Mamet tries too hard

Wow. I am disappointed by David Mamet’s attempt to write hardboiled fiction in the vein of Dashiell Hammett or Elmore Leonard.

At times the attempts to be literary are clunky and inelegant. I actually found myself rewriting some of the prose in my head while I was listening to this novel.

What this was not a horrible book, it was certainly far from the best book that I’ve listened to in Audible.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Gavin Jones
  • 04-07-18

Ask yourself...

Did you think that "Deadwood" got loads better after Al Swearengen began talking like Hamlet?

Would go into your local chip shop and ask for "two servings of your finest seafood and vegetable hunger solution"?

If not then it won't take very long for this book to get on your nerves

2 of 3 people found this review helpful