Regular price: $10.49

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Seventy-one and a man used to controlling those around him, Saul finds himself slipping into what he describes as his slow dance with death.

His ramblings, humor, emotions, lucid moments, and confusion are laid bare as well as the thoughts and feelings of his loved ones: his wife, Monique, conflicted and depressed, caring yet angry; his daughter, Florence, compassionate yet proper and reserved; his son, Joey, self-centered and narcissistic, seemingly indifferent to his family's challenges; and his doctor, an Alzheimer's specialist who cares for Saul until his final days.

From the beginning Saul and his family know how it has to end because no one has ever outsmarted Alzheimer's. But as they navigate the meandering road that will eventually bring Saul's demise, they leave behind their once disconnected lives and come together to weather their difficult journey.

Heartfelt and moving, this lauded novel, winner of 2014 gold medals from the Independent Publisher Book Awards, Readers' Favorite Book Awards, and the Living Now Book Award for Inspirational Fiction, will appeal to fans of Lisa Genova's Still Alice or Nicholas Sparks' The Notebook.

©2015 Eric Rill (P)2014 Brilliance Audio, all rights reserved.

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    104
  • 4 Stars
    100
  • 3 Stars
    46
  • 2 Stars
    11
  • 1 Stars
    7

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    117
  • 4 Stars
    72
  • 3 Stars
    32
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    5

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    89
  • 4 Stars
    83
  • 3 Stars
    41
  • 2 Stars
    13
  • 1 Stars
    9
Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Gillian
  • Austin, TX, United States
  • 04-17-15

Ambitious but Falls Short

I think "An Absent Mind" tries a little too hard and goes too many places with too little focus. The character's emotions and personality traits are all over the map, they are who they are, either gracious or resentful with little rhyme or reason and it gets annoying. You can't really care for any of them. Alzheimer's was presented well enough with the long term memory being far more readily apparent than short term, but it seemed to cause the family more annoyance than agony. As someone who has it in the family right now, I've gotta say, I was expecting a lot more.
Maybe to those unschooled and just looking for a light read/listen, this'll be good enough, but really, I don't think the character's are developed enough to carry the 4+ hours, short as they may be. Unpopular, maybe, but there you go. My two cents.
Further, the performances are downright annoying. Maybe a daily deal or something? Just make sure you can tolerate the narration...

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

if your a child of an Alzheimer parent

My Dad died with this disease and it gave me better understand of what he and my Mother went through.. as children living far apart we don't get it. This is a great book to read and reread as your parents life changes. it's a shame to have them live so long with this disease. As all of you I pray for a treatment and cure. I am sorry Dad I didn't understand and it was so easy to pretend it wasn't happening. Mom you had a lot to handle I am sorry you wouldn't let anyone help even if was to just listen.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I loved this story especially the narration.

Listened to this in one night. I was captivated by the narration. The ability to get a view from each individual in the story made it more real, making me be able seemingly to be a voyeur in their minds. Very well written and informative about this horrific disease that is happening to so many people myself included.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent representation of all of the perspectives and emotions that come with Alzheimer's

I really enjoyed this book! I thought it did a great job of showing different perspectives of all the people involved when one family member has a terminal illness. I also thought it was great how the author showed that people's reactions and understanding of each other can be mistaken. The way everyone in the family assumed Joey was a loser, just to find that Joey felt unloved and in the end, he's the one who cared for his dad's most beloved companion and cared for his mother. And I felt like the ending was perfect. It really seem true to life. This hit close to home for me because several members of my family are suffering from or have passed from Alzheimer's, and I am very terrified that my future holds the same.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Painful and Beautiful

I think that next to Fredrick Bachman's "A Man Called Ove" this book will always stay in my heart more than any other book(s) I have listened to. Alzheimer's is a devastating disease, and Eric Rill did an amazing job in showing the various points of view of both the patient and his family members. He even shows the mindset of the physician treating Saul.
It was not difficult to understand the feelings that each character expressed. I identified with all of them which I guess isn't that unusual based on my family relations and dealing with the prolonged illnesses and deaths of both an ex-husband with whom I was still close and then my beloved husband.
There are so many feelings that arise during a lengthy illness. It's often difficult to deal with those feelings, but the author was spot on with so many of them here.
The narration was excellent...really excellent! Sandra Burr and Mel Foster "lived" their readings. I usually forgot that I was not listening to Saul and Monique and Florence and Joey. That, to me, is talent.
I am so glad that this book was recommended to me in an email from Audible. I will listen to it again, and I highly recommend it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Wayne
  • Matthews, NC
  • 04-30-16

We all need at least one daughter

An Absent Mind is a fictionalized but honest story of Alzheimer's from time of diagnosis until death. I suspect that most of us over age 40 have had a family member with Alzheimer's or other dementia. In this story the 71 year old man diagnosed with dementia was married for 44 years at the time of diagnosis and he had an adult daughter and an adult son. His wife insisted on taking care of him at home for far too long and as a result she did not take care of herself. She died before he did. That happens far to often.

I can state from personal experience with my parents (my mom had Alzheimer's) that the story is a typical one.

My parents had only sons; at least the man in the story had a daughter. I dislike gender stereotyping, but daughters are much more likely to be there and help than sons. I'm thankful for our two wonderful daughters especially since my wife and I are senior citizens. (I'm thankful for our son, also!)

5 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Personal Story about Alzheimer's

Great story about Alzheimer's and what to expect through the process. You get to experience the development of each character Narration is great!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

very moving

an amazing account of the downward spiral of Saul and his family, and the effects of Alzheimers on all concerned.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great read

Outlines the progression of a truly horrible disaese. Gives insight to those who have not had to watch a loved one taken

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Impressive

very insightful, at times rather intense, and very moving. Reminiscent of "Inside the O'Brians" by Lisa Genova

Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • M. Griffiths
  • 10-23-17

Alzheimer's disease

Covers the effects of dementia on a patriarch and his family. True to life and entertaining enuf without being very funny or moving.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Jillybuns
  • 02-21-16

Enlightening!

This was an easy book to read. I found the characters individual perspective very interesting. At times sad & touching but it does have some laugh out loud moments too!
A helpful & informative book for anyone embarking on this sad journey without too much medical jargon!