We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
An Absent Mind Audiobook

An Absent Mind

Regular Price:$10.49
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Seventy-one and a man used to controlling those around him, Saul finds himself slipping into what he describes as his slow dance with death.

His ramblings, humor, emotions, lucid moments, and confusion are laid bare as well as the thoughts and feelings of his loved ones: his wife, Monique, conflicted and depressed, caring yet angry; his daughter, Florence, compassionate yet proper and reserved; his son, Joey, self-centered and narcissistic, seemingly indifferent to his family's challenges; and his doctor, an Alzheimer's specialist who cares for Saul until his final days.

From the beginning Saul and his family know how it has to end because no one has ever outsmarted Alzheimer's. But as they navigate the meandering road that will eventually bring Saul's demise, they leave behind their once disconnected lives and come together to weather their difficult journey.

Heartfelt and moving, this lauded novel, winner of 2014 gold medals from the Independent Publisher Book Awards, Readers' Favorite Book Awards, and the Living Now Book Award for Inspirational Fiction, will appeal to fans of Lisa Genova's Still Alice or Nicholas Sparks' The Notebook.

©2015 Eric Rill (P)2014 Brilliance Audio, all rights reserved.

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.0 (224 )
5 star
 (77)
4 star
 (90)
3 star
 (41)
2 star
 (9)
1 star
 (7)
Overall
3.9 (194 )
5 star
 (67)
4 star
 (71)
3 star
 (39)
2 star
 (9)
1 star
 (8)
Story
4.1 (195 )
5 star
 (91)
4 star
 (60)
3 star
 (30)
2 star
 (9)
1 star
 (5)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Gillian Austin, TX, United States 04-17-15
    Gillian Austin, TX, United States 04-17-15 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    7759
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    285
    285
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    770
    8
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Ambitious but Falls Short"

    I think "An Absent Mind" tries a little too hard and goes too many places with too little focus. The character's emotions and personality traits are all over the map, they are who they are, either gracious or resentful with little rhyme or reason and it gets annoying. You can't really care for any of them. Alzheimer's was presented well enough with the long term memory being far more readily apparent than short term, but it seemed to cause the family more annoyance than agony. As someone who has it in the family right now, I've gotta say, I was expecting a lot more.
    Maybe to those unschooled and just looking for a light read/listen, this'll be good enough, but really, I don't think the character's are developed enough to carry the 4+ hours, short as they may be. Unpopular, maybe, but there you go. My two cents.
    Further, the performances are downright annoying. Maybe a daily deal or something? Just make sure you can tolerate the narration...

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Wayne Matthews, NC 04-30-16
    Wayne Matthews, NC 04-30-16 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    14977
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2085
    1723
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    530
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "We all need at least one daughter"

    An Absent Mind is a fictionalized but honest story of Alzheimer's from time of diagnosis until death. I suspect that most of us over age 40 have had a family member with Alzheimer's or other dementia. In this story the 71 year old man diagnosed with dementia was married for 44 years at the time of diagnosis and he had an adult daughter and an adult son. His wife insisted on taking care of him at home for far too long and as a result she did not take care of herself. She died before he did. That happens far to often.

    I can state from personal experience with my parents (my mom had Alzheimer's) that the story is a typical one.

    My parents had only sons; at least the man in the story had a daughter. I dislike gender stereotyping, but daughters are much more likely to be there and help than sons. I'm thankful for our two wonderful daughters especially since my wife and I are senior citizens. (I'm thankful for our son, also!)

    4 of 6 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Anonymous 10-30-17
    10-30-17 Member Since 2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "coming to terms"

    How chapters were laid out moves one through the story effortlessly but brings in emotions dramatically. Does a great job of explaining progression of Alzheimer disease vividly & what family does or may encounter - especially what patient may be thinking & coming to grips of what is happening to them. Truely hits it home. Mom passed from disease after ten years of going through its various stages, slow through some & fast through some. Excellent read to learn from and - or come to terms with after the fact. You do what you can for them through their various stages on THEIR level.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    linda vick 09-17-17
    linda vick 09-17-17 Member Since 2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "if your a child of an Alzheimer parent"

    My Dad died with this disease and it gave me better understand of what he and my Mother went through.. as children living far apart we don't get it. This is a great book to read and reread as your parents life changes. it's a shame to have them live so long with this disease. As all of you I pray for a treatment and cure. I am sorry Dad I didn't understand and it was so easy to pretend it wasn't happening. Mom you had a lot to handle I am sorry you wouldn't let anyone help even if was to just listen.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kindle Customer 08-26-17
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    12
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Very good. I really enjoyed listening."
    Would you listen to An Absent Mind again? Why?

    Yes, because the characters remained me of life in my family.


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    I both cried and laughed.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 08-11-17
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great different perspectives"

    It was interesting to get the different perspectives of everyone involved. It is easy for us only to see our views and not take special care to note what others are going through.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Wendy Chamberlin Seattle, WA United States 06-08-17
    Wendy Chamberlin Seattle, WA United States 06-08-17 Member Since 2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    10
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Cathartic"

    It took me two years to listen to this book as that is as long as it has been since my dad passed from Alzheimer's. I'm glad I waited until now as this brought up so many vivid memories, yet the ability to spend time looking at the experience from so many perspectives was helpful.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    ShariAnna - Arizona 05-17-17 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    109
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    132
    111
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    8
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Could have been depressing..."

    ...but it wasn't. it was educational on so many levels--informative about the disease and it's stages, the role of caregiver, family dynamics, and the truth that people do grow and change. The story was told from several perspectives, which I always love, otherwise I feel a bit talked down to. In addition to being educational, the book includes some hilarious stories! It's cool how these very flawed and believable characters make subtle and slow changes to become more compassionate people. Some parts are realistic enough to shock or draw tears, and that's life...that's family, that's being human.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Nicholas A. Crandall 05-07-17
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Meh"

    Didn't love this, not terrible but nothing significant. Good emotional development but overall story wasn't that amazing.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Cory SS Logan, UT 04-21-17
    Cory SS Logan, UT 04-21-17 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellent representation of all of the perspectives and emotions that come with Alzheimer's"

    I really enjoyed this book! I thought it did a great job of showing different perspectives of all the people involved when one family member has a terminal illness. I also thought it was great how the author showed that people's reactions and understanding of each other can be mistaken. The way everyone in the family assumed Joey was a loser, just to find that Joey felt unloved and in the end, he's the one who cared for his dad's most beloved companion and cared for his mother. And I felt like the ending was perfect. It really seem true to life. This hit close to home for me because several members of my family are suffering from or have passed from Alzheimer's, and I am very terrified that my future holds the same.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Sort by:
  • M. Griffiths
    10/23/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Alzheimer's disease"

    Covers the effects of dementia on a patriarch and his family. True to life and entertaining enuf without being very funny or moving.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Jillybuns
    2/21/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Enlightening!"

    This was an easy book to read. I found the characters individual perspective very interesting. At times sad & touching but it does have some laugh out loud moments too!
    A helpful & informative book for anyone embarking on this sad journey without too much medical jargon!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.