We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
Always Audiobook

Always: A Novel

Regular Price:$28.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

A gripping novel about the kind of love that never lets go and the heart's capacity to remember, from the New York Times best-selling author of Blackberry Winter and The Violets of March.

Enjoying a romantic candlelit dinner with her fiancé, Ryan, at one of Seattle's chicest restaurants, Kailey Crain can't believe her good fortune: She has a great job as a journalist and is now engaged to a guy who is perfect in nearly every way. As she and Ryan leave the restaurant, Kailey spies a thin, bearded homeless man on the sidewalk. She approaches him to offer up her bag of leftovers and is stunned when their eyes meet, then stricken to her very core: The man is the love of her life, Cade McAllister.

When Kailey met Cade 10 years ago, their attraction was immediate and intense - everything connected and felt right. But it all ended suddenly, leaving Kailey devastated. Now the poor soul on the street is a faded version of her former beloved: His weathered and weary face is as handsome as Kailey remembers, but his mind has suffered in the intervening years. Over the next few weeks, Kailey helps Cade begin to piece his life together, something she initially keeps from Ryan. As she revisits her long-ago relationship, Kailey realizes that she must decide exactly what - and whom - she wants.

Alternating between the past and the present, Always is a beautifully unfolding exploration of a woman faced with an impossible choice, a woman who discovers what she's willing to save and what she will sacrifice for true love.

©2017 Sarah Jio (P)2017 Random House Audio

What the Critics Say

"A heartwarming story of personal growth and the power of nostalgia.... Fans of Elin Hilderbrand and Emily Giffin should enjoy this warm and compassionate novel." (Booklist)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.2 (194 )
5 star
 (99)
4 star
 (55)
3 star
 (27)
2 star
 (9)
1 star
 (4)
Overall
4.1 (181 )
5 star
 (86)
4 star
 (53)
3 star
 (28)
2 star
 (9)
1 star
 (5)
Story
4.4 (182 )
5 star
 (104)
4 star
 (51)
3 star
 (16)
2 star
 (11)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Glenda Bolton, MA, United States 03-12-17
    Glenda Bolton, MA, United States 03-12-17 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    22
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    52
    23
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    6
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Nice book - fairly predictable"

    Nice "feel good" book - definitely in the category of summer reading. I needed a better villain. Kept looking for danger, but it was not there.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Rachel Atascadero, CA, United States 02-11-17
    Rachel Atascadero, CA, United States 02-11-17 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    160
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    168
    56
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    6
    9
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Loved this"

    Great book! The story really touch my heart!
    Note to the author: what happened to Eddy?

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Shade 02-10-17
    Shade 02-10-17
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Unique plot, interesting characters"
    Would you consider the audio edition of Always to be better than the print version?

    Haven't read the print version


    What other book might you compare Always to and why?

    Haven't experienced this kind of story before


    What about Brittany Pressley’s performance did you like?

    The sound of her voice & her reading pace. Very natural.


    Any additional comments?

    Really enjoyed this listen. Terrific story, fantastic narration.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kristen Burch IL 02-09-17
    Kristen Burch IL 02-09-17
    HELPFUL VOTES
    6
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    42
    16
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Amazing and twisting"

    keeps you so much on your toes on what she would or even should do. I enjoyed the back and forth of the history of her relationships.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 09-20-17 Member Since 2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "When the past collides into the present!!"

    This is my first Sarah Jio book I have read and I am hooked. The storyline caught my attention in a sense where I immediately put myself in the characters shoes.

    The characters were well written and evolved through the story.

    I loved this book so much all of my girlfriends are reading it because I've spoken so much about it. Would love to see a movie made!!!

    The narrator Brittany Presley is excellent!!! Her voice is soothing and easy to listen too!!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 07-21-17
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "i love the reader and the story"

    predictable ending but the plot is great not boring at all! the reader is amazing is the 2 time i heard a book from her and she is clear amd play different tone of voices. great job

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Courtney Yuska 05-14-17
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    16
    5
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "One of the best!"

    This audiobook was one of the best I have listened to. The story was done with such compassion and portrayed all the tug-of-war emotions that Kailey was going through. Brittany Pressley was an amazing narrator, and I just purchased another book that she has narrated because she does such a good job.

    I feel that Sarah Jio tackled the theme of homelessness as well as Jodi Picoult addresses social issues, and it gave me much thought and soul searching about my own generalizations of the homeless. I would have given the Story a 5-star rating but I was disappointed in the anti-climatic ending. It was if Sarah had grown tired after writing this wonderful novel and just wanted to get the ending over with. However, it was worth listening to overall, and I'm glad I purchased it.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kimberly St Petersburg, FL 05-05-17
    Kimberly St Petersburg, FL 05-05-17 Member Since 2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Awful! What happened Ms. Jio?"
    This book wasn’t for you, but who do you think might enjoy it more?

    I can enjoy a simple romance with a bit of mystery and developed characters. This wasn't it. Not sure who would like this book.


    What do you think your next listen will be?

    The Night Bird by Brian Freeman


    What didn’t you like about Brittany Pressley’s performance?

    Narrator was okay but male voices were poorly done.


    What character would you cut from Always?

    None were well developed


    Any additional comments?

    Very disappointed. I've liked previous books by this author.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lauren 05-03-17
    Lauren 05-03-17 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    8
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    16
    16
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Little bit of a let down"

    At first it was a struggle to continue as the narrator was too whiney but the plot of what happened to Kaid (Not sure how it's spelled exactly) kept me going. There were some questions left unanswered and added details not needed I feel and moments when it got little wordy.

    I like the idea of finding an Ex on the streets after years apart and helping them but I feel it could have flowed better

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    lynne m vokatis 03-30-17 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    10
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    55
    19
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Thank you Sara Jio"

    What a wonder story . Sara Jio can't miss . Beautifully narrated by Brittany Presley thank you Sara for creating a a wonderful love story and always believing in love . Thank Audible.com

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.