Regular price: $18.19

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Susie Bright brings together love's darkest arrows in this shiver-inducing collection of 15 gothic erotic short stories, with original stories from legends such as author Francesca Lia Block and Supernatural screenwriter Sera Gamble. Listen alone or share with a lover and devour the mystical characters, forbidden sexual relationships, and private pleasures.

Explicit Language Warning: You must be 18 years or older to purchase this title.

©2009 Susie Bright; (P)2009 Audible, Inc.

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 2.9 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    12
  • 1 Stars
    16

Performance

  • 3.2 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    5

Story

  • 3.2 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    5
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Not a big erotica or goth reader, loved it anyway

I have read some Clive Barker and Steven King, few Roald Dahl and Poe stories. My erotica reading includes some other Susie Bright collections, and a few stories from magazines. I think these stories hold up well as emotionally intense thrillers, in the vein of Poe or Dahl, just with a focus on a sexual (if not always "erotic") milieu.
If other erotica goes well with a nice chamomile tea, this collection goes well with a pagan herbal blend.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Susie
  • Santa Cruz, CA, United States
  • 11-28-12

Fantastic Storytelling, Brilliant Erotica.

Bitten is a collection of supernatural erotica that makes for perfect bedtime stories. Like any good fairy tale, or ghost story, the more is revealed in them, the more questions they bring up. The mysteries will haunt you. What sort of creature was the demon lover conjured in the study? Was the twin lover an apparition? A figment of the imagination? A ghost? What lies in the past of the lovers who find each other in the desert after lifetimes of searching? I'll have to listen again for clues.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall

Not what you bargained for

thought i was purchasing a book of spooky stories with some edge and race to them - most of these stories are very weird and very dirty - maybe one or two good stories on the whole - would not recommend to anyone.

1 of 13 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Rebecca
  • Monrovia, CA, USA
  • 07-01-10

Please don't tell me this is wmns erotic lit

OK, so I'm new to this genre. When I think of womens erotic literature, I think of Pauline Reage's The Story of O. This is tripe. These stories did not appeal to me on any, even the basest, level. Not my idea of a good time.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Niall
  • 07-30-12

Far more dark than erotic

It has taken me ages to drag my way through this book and I think I did finish it all out of a morbid sense of curiosity. Don't get me wrong, there is some quite clever writing in this and I did not hate every single story, but it simply doesn't come as advertised. The erotic stuff is not dark, the dark stuff is actually just a list of body parts and a desire to shock.

On the plus side, the narration is quite good.