adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B0821SC3ZP
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B0821SC3ZP

Try our newest plan – unlimited listening to select audiobooks, Audible Originals, and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
$7.95 a month after 30 day trial. Upgrade or cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Detective John Druitt is new to homicide. His first case is a young woman found in an urban bayou. He immediately sees clues that lead him places he doesn't want to go. But his own demons may be the clue to solving the mystery of the woman's death. And as the case widens, so do his new partner's suspicions about his past and motivations. 

Buffalo Bayou is a dark, psychological thriller perfect for fans of Michael Connelly, Karin Slaughter, and James Patterson.

©2021 Piton Press LLC (P)2021 Audible, Inc.

What listeners say about Buffalo Bayou

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    669
  • 4 Stars
    387
  • 3 Stars
    205
  • 2 Stars
    67
  • 1 Stars
    36
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    758
  • 4 Stars
    318
  • 3 Stars
    132
  • 2 Stars
    21
  • 1 Stars
    22
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    606
  • 4 Stars
    319
  • 3 Stars
    209
  • 2 Stars
    65
  • 1 Stars
    46

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

One I Won't Soon Forget

Buffalo Bayou isn't anywhere near my first Tom Abrahams book, but it's definitely the first in this genre. The benefit of reading an author I enjoy is that going into it, I know what to expect. But it being a new genre it's all "new". Abrahams absolutely crushes this genre and I wouldn't be surprised if this book is the first of many that he writes. As with most of his other stories, he likes to write about the Houston area since that's where he's from and you can really feel it in the way that the city is talked about. The city becomes another character instead of just a backdrop to the story. Buffalo Bayou couldn't have been transported to another city and feel realistic. It's the way Houston is written about that makes it feel like such a part of the story.

I realized pretty quickly that this one was going to be a hard review to write. Not because it was a bad story, but because it was such a good one that all of the twists and turns make it spoiler-ridden if I try to talk about any of the major things going on in the book. I can't even compare it to the other story that it reminded me of since it'll be a bit of a spoiler itself. Just know that you're getting all of the good things that Abrahams is known for but with the darkness-meter turned up to 11.

In Buffalo Bayou, Abrahams shows off a darker side that he alludes to and maybe even talks about a bit in some of his Post-Apocalyptic stories - but in this, the darkness is front and center. One of the main characters is easily one of the darkest individuals I've read about in any book. Definitely up there with the enemies that Battle faces in the Traveler series.

Overall, an excellent story from an excellent writer. One I won't soon forget.

I thought Jason Culp did a great job becoming Druitt and his narration was well-done for this style of book. In the beginning, I had a hard time getting used to his cadence but that quickly fell away. I did want to call out that the opening and closing voice didn't say Abrahams's last name right, or the name of his publishing company, Piton Press. Something that the casual listener won't notice but something that got me (maybe it was the producer?) I'm glad that Culp didn't have similar issues throughout the book.

19 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

No suspense, just gratuitous violence

We were looking for a mystery/suspense novel, but the "who" dunnit is revealed immediately. All that follows is violence.

15 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Gave it a shot. Shouldn’t have.

I wanted to give up on this book twice in the first chapter but the 5 star reviews here and on Goodreads convinced me to stick around. I shouldn’t have.
The reviewers comparing the protagonist to Dexter have a horrible view of the victims of human trafficking. This anti-hero is no hero. He’s sick and his monologues do not justify his actions or make me second guess his self-righteous entitlement.

12 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Unique! Captivating.

This book had me drawn in from the first second. It only took me 3 nights to finish, and I really only listen at night when I go to bed. The narration was great. Clean, crisp and flowing. The story is one of a kind. It’s not your typical crime novel by any means. Very noir and very interesting. Highly recommended!

12 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Pay Attention!

Pay attention and keep up! This book has no slow spots. And it’s not what you think it is. I was put off at first by the old-time-detective story feel of 1st person Narrative. But you aren’t stuck in the ‘50s, it’s just the Narrator’s style (to me, anyway). It’s placed in modern times, cell phones included. The characters are easy to follow, because the detective continues his own point-of-view throughout. Every twist & encounter is news to both of you. That’s a difficult feat for any author; but Abrahams is a master! I’m going to find more of his work. This was great!

11 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A great listen!

As a Texan who has lived in Houston and worked for the prison system for over 25 years, I loved the authenticity of this book. Only one flaw…. The author refers to “the chair” instead of “the needle” when talking about the prospect of his own execution.

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

IN THE BEGINNING

This is a great listen. You know who the killer is by the second chapter, but you don’t know how he got there until mid way through the book and you will be Dying to know how it ends.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Exciting.

Wish the author wrote more like this! An interesting story line. I just discovered this author.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

I didn't finish.

I just couldn't get into the book. Right from the start you know who the killer is & he's a really sick puppy. He ruthlessly kills people and gets away with it over and over again. I didn't care enough about the characters to find out how they caught him.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wow!

The story didn't draw me in at the beginning and I almost returned the audiobook. The perspective of the story was new and a bit disturbing to me. Then the twists and turns began and it was hard to quit listening. The narrator did a great job with most of the story, but could have created better voices for the different characters. Overall, it was worth listening to and I'd recommend it.

2 people found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Gavingks
  • Gavingks
  • 10-29-21

Good yarn

The story is not really very believable but it has pace. Vaguely put me in mind of American psycho; in that you liked a clearly flawed person