Prime logo Prime members: New to Audible?
Get 2 free audiobooks during trial.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Blood Sugar  By  cover art

Blood Sugar

By: Sascha Rothchild
Narrated by: Allyson Ryan
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $18.00

Buy for $18.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's summary

A New York Times Best Thriller of the Year

"Terrific. You might come for the mystery, but you will stay for the sheer energy."--
New York Times Book Review

An utterly delicious debut thriller that tells the story of the most likable murderess you will ever meet, perfect for fans of Riley Sager and Jessica Knoll.


“I could just kill you right now!” It’s something we’ve all thought at one time or another. But Ruby has actually acted on it. Three times, to be exact.

Though she may be a murderer, Ruby is not a sociopath. She is an animal-loving therapist with a thriving practice. She’s felt empathy and sympathy. She’s had long-lasting friendships and relationships, and has a husband, Jason, whom she adores. But the homicide detectives at Miami Beach PD are not convinced of her happy marriage. When we meet Ruby, she is in a police interrogation room, being accused of Jason’s murder. Which, ironically, is one murder that she did not commit, though a scandal-obsessed public believes differently. As she undergoes questioning, Ruby’s mind races back to all the details of her life that led her to this exact moment, and to the three dead bodies in her wake. Because though she may not have killed her husband, Ruby certainly isn’t innocent.

Alternating between Ruby’s memories of her past crimes and her present-day fight to clear her name, Blood Sugar is a twisty, clever debut with an unforgettable protagonist who you can’t help but root for—an addicting mixture of sour and sweet.

©2022 Sascha Rothchild (P)2022 Penguin Audio

What listeners say about Blood Sugar

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    310
  • 4 Stars
    150
  • 3 Stars
    57
  • 2 Stars
    24
  • 1 Stars
    13
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    305
  • 4 Stars
    118
  • 3 Stars
    46
  • 2 Stars
    13
  • 1 Stars
    11
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    270
  • 4 Stars
    124
  • 3 Stars
    56
  • 2 Stars
    26
  • 1 Stars
    16

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Interesting story, aggravating narration

It’s a little more frothy than the typical book I would read, but the story is interesting. There were way too many stereotypical descriptions of men having washboard abs, strong jawlines, dazzling eyes, etc.- reminiscent of trashy romance novels where no one is normal looking besides the main character (and even she is basically stereotypically attractive so…). However, it was the performance that really irked me. The narrator uses this odd, halting style of speech that I think is meant to indicate that the protagonist is a real person with realistic mannerisms, but it was so annoying to me that I never got used to it. Even worse was the narrator’s only “male voice”. Each man sounds the same, including her partner who supposedly has a slight southern accent. All the men exhibit her typical halted speech but at an even slower speed.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

excellent suspense

I can't think of anything I didn't like about this book-it kept me totally excited to keep listening.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

a murderess like no other...

I chose this novel based upon a NYT review of delightful murder mysteries of 2022. The jacket cover states that the protagonist, Ruby, is the most likable murderess you will ever meet. That’s all I needed to choose “Blood Sugar” by Sascha Rothchild.

What I enjoyed is Rothchild’s characterization of our murderess, Ruby. Most murder mysteries revolve around good versus evil. In “Blood Sugar”, those lines are grayer.

From the start of the novel, in which Ruby, age 5 has a hand in (murders?) a fellow 7 year-old classmate’s drowning. There happens to be two more deaths that occur in the immediate vicinity of Ruby during her 30 year lifetime. When Ruby’s beloved husband dies in bed, her malicious mother-in-law accuses her of murder. Once a magnifying glass is shown upon Ruby, all these obscure deaths appear suspicious.

Ruby narrates the story, so we do learn of the situations in which the departed were found dead. Is Ruby guilty of first-degree murder? Or is she a sociopath, killing without remorse. Ruby even chose psychology in university to gain insight into her feelings.

Ruby is complex. The reader is left pondering the morality of Ruby. She’s just so darn likeable, yet she’s a bit unsettling….. This is a fun read!

I listened the Audible audio, narrated by Allyson Ryan. She did a fantastic job!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Disappointed

the NYT gave this a good review. WRONG! The story moved along but was just too incredible +- the connections others made about the protagonist, and the legal setting, beggared belief.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Really?

I kept waiting for some twist or something to justify my having spent hours listening. It never happened. What a let down

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Pick this up!

The story started strong and just kept going! I really enjoyed listening to this tale of a woman and the mysterious deaths that surround her.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Multi-dimensional character

Such an intriguing story ! On one level the main character is an unrepentant killer; but her reasons are logical and perhaps justify what she does ? She pursues a career as a psychologist and genuinely wants to help her patients. She loves animals and finds a life partner to whom she is devoted, despite his very precarious health. The book is so well written and Ruby, the central character, is so very interesting. Great narration, Allyson Ryan is one of my favorite readers.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Boring

Most of the book is her narrating there is no character development very disappointing and not very interesting.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Soooo goood!

This is a can’t put it down roller coaster ride. You will find yourself rooting for the main character and wondering why! There are moments that are chilling and others that make you feel like you are chatting with an old friend. This is a must read! Great story telling technique. Believable dialogue and great character development. 5 stars

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Insufferable

Intriguing premise that quickly devolves into the most boring, drawn-out pointless story. I couldn’t even like the main character, and she is basically the whole book. The writing is juvenile and surface level - the characters and plot alike are cringey (I rolled my eyes more than once). Just a real waste of what could’ve been an ethically complicated portrait.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!