Regular price: $17.00

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

In this powerful, soul-searching memoir, beautifully written in the vein of A Pack of Two and Wild, animal behaviorist Dr. Patricia McConnell recounts for the first time the compelling story of her dark past, memories of which are triggered by a troubled dog named Will.

World-renowned as a source of science and soul, Patricia McConnell combines brilliant insights into canine behavior - gained from her work with aggressive and fearful dogs - with heartwarming stories of her own dogs and their life on the farm. Now, she reveals that it wasn't just the dogs who had serious problems. For decades Dr. McConnell secretly grappled with her own guilt and fear, which were rooted in the harrowing traumas of her youth.

Patricia is forced to face her past by her love for a young border collie named Will, whose frequent, unpredictable outbreaks of fear and fury shake Patricia to her core. In order to save Will from this dangerous behavior, she must find her own will to heal and along the way learn that willpower by itself is not enough.

Interweaving enlightening stories of her clients' dogs with tales of her deepening bond with Will, Patricia recounts her fight to reclaim her life. Hopeful and inspiring, the redemptive message of her journey is that while trauma changes our brains and the past casts a long shadow, healing, for both people and dogs, is possible through hard work, compassion, and mutual devotion.

An Audible for Dogs Pick: Make your dog's day. Cesar Millan shares how audiobooks can make dogs happier and calmer. Learn more.
©2017 Patricia McConnell (P)2017 Simon & Schuster, Inc.

More from the same

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    149
  • 4 Stars
    41
  • 3 Stars
    17
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    4

Performance

  • 4.6 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    135
  • 4 Stars
    35
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    3

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    132
  • 4 Stars
    28
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    4
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Fabulous book!

I have listened to many books and I must say, this one surprised me. I was expecting a sweet dog story, which would have been fine. As a dog lover, I'm fine with hearing a good dog story now and then. But this is so much more! I think I can honestly say this book is going to change my life. This book reveals the author's personal journey through some very difficult situations that, although different from my life, helped me realize that I have some things I need to address from my own past. And the information shared about her dog and the work she has done with other dogs is going to help me tremendously in working with my 2-year old rescue. I am so glad I downloaded this book! The narration is excellent, the story is compelling and the author does an excellent job sharing her life story. I highly recommend this book!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

A courageous and fascinating book

I was spellbound all the way through this book. Patricia McConnell is an excellent writer - she has several other books about dogs - but this is different. This one is not only about the difficulties one of her dogs experienced, it's about her journey, and how she has overcome the effects of trauma on her psyche and life. Truly an excellent memoir. And the narrator is excellent as well.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

A tale of healing and triumph over suffering.

I have read several of Patricia McConnell's dog training books, and found them to be full of practical advice, with many examples from her long career working with dogs that have behavioral issues. In this book McConnell describes her own journey with her border collie, Will, who has severe anxiety and also sustains serious physical injuries that required many months of rehabilitation and healing. In the course of her treatment plan for Will, Tricia begins to confront some dark and traumatic incidents from her past, and to heal herself in the process.

The book is written from an honest and cathartic viewpoint. It is encouraging to hear how a renowned expert struggled with her own dog's behavior. I had great sympathy for Tricia's trauma in her past and, as the story unfolded I found myself rooting for both of them. The story is written from the perspective of a survivor, not a victim, and Tricia gives an honest description of what it took to make that transition.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Personal and Educational

Like many dog lovers, the author grew as a person through the relationship with her dog. Many people will be able to relate to this story, even if not so lucky to be a border collie owner. The professional tips are a plus, especially if you are interested in dog training issues. If you are already a fan of the author, then you will enjoy this book. If you are not familiar with this author, read "The Other End of the Leash" first. The audible downside is that it is not narrated by the author.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

A beautiful book

A wonderful book about loss, trauma, work and recovery. Both human and dog traumas are discussed with care and gentleness.
I work with dogs everyday and found this book a great source of help in dealing with dogs with anger, fear and unexplained behaviors. A must read. Chloe

4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall

Wow!

I just want to thank Patricia McConnell for sharing so much of her own story and explaining how working with Will helped them both overcome serious trauma and anxiety. This is a very inspirational book, and I have been deeply moved by Patricia's honesty and reflection.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Relatable in so many ways

As an owner of a reactive dog, and a woman who has experienced trauma (but is in denial about it) this book made me realize no being is broken or flawed. With dedication and determination thing are achieved. Pro Tip: don't listen in rush hour traffic...there are tears.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Exceptional book by an even more exceptional women

I absolutely LOVED this book. This is the first memoire that I've ever read. I originally was only passively interested in reading it until my co-worker recommended it. Patricia McConnell is a gift to the animal training and behavior community and hearing her story was inspiring. I didn't except that a 'THE' Patricia McConnell has struggled with some of the same things that I've struggled with. I felt empowered and very introspective after "reading" this. If you have ears you should listen to this book.

Thank you Patricia for writing this book- It made a huge impact on my life.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Excellent!

Great book. I really enjoyed it. Very honest even when being honest isn't easy. Highly recommended

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • michele
  • Lancaster, OH, United States
  • 01-10-18

Not just a dog book

The books deals with the author's own trauma as she deals with rehabilitating dogs.