We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
The 13th Gift Audiobook

The 13th Gift: A True Story of a Christmas Miracle

Regular Price:$21.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

For readers of Richard Paul Evans and Greg Kincaid comes The 13th Gift, a heartwarming Christmas story about how a random act of kindness transformed one of the bleakest moments in a family's history into a time of strength and love.

After the unexpected death of her husband, Joanne Huist Smith had no idea how she would keep herself together and be strong for her three children - especially with the holiday season approaching. But 12 days before Christmas, presents begin appearing on her doorstep with notes from their "True Friends." As the Smiths came together to solve the mystery of who the gifts were from, they began to thaw out from their grief and come together again as a family. This true story about the power of random acts of kindness will warm the heart, a beautiful reminder of the miracles of Christmas and the gift of family during the holiday season.

©2014 Joanne Huist Smith (P)2014 Random House Audio

What the Critics Say

"If there ever was a roller-coasterish page-turner of a Christmas book, this would be it. As a veteran devourer of Christmas stories short and long, fictional and true, I mistakenly assumed I'd encountered every conceivable plot variant in the genre. Turns out I was dead-wrong. Joanne Hurst Smith's wondrous story hit me from so many directions, playing on the strings of so many emotions, that it left me limp at the end Quite simply, it is a masterpiece." (Joe L. Wheeler, Ph.D., author of the bestselling Christmas in My Heart series)

"The 13th Gift has a touch of magic in it. It's a lovely story that proves we can recover from any loss, strengthened by the blessings of others. It's a classic for the Christmas season--and all seasons." (Glenn Plaskin, author of Katie Up And Down The Hall: The True Story Of How One Dog Turned Five Neighbors Into A Family)

"For readers of Richard Paul Evans and Greg Kincaid comes The 13th Gift, a heartwarming Christmas memoir about how a random act of kindness transformed one of the bleakest moments in a family's history into a time of strength and love." (Book Reporter.com)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.2 (81 )
5 star
 (38)
4 star
 (28)
3 star
 (10)
2 star
 (4)
1 star
 (1)
Overall
4.5 (71 )
5 star
 (44)
4 star
 (18)
3 star
 (8)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (1)
Story
4.0 (73 )
5 star
 (29)
4 star
 (23)
3 star
 (14)
2 star
 (6)
1 star
 (1)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Book Lover 12-11-14
    Book Lover 12-11-14

    yayalori

    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    40
    10
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Very good book. I enjoyed every minute of it."
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    Yes, I would recommend this book.


    What did you like best about this story?

    How real it felt.


    Which scene was your favorite?

    When things became happy.


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    Yes


    Any additional comments?

    The only thing I had a problem with, is the reader sounded just like Rosanne Barr's voice, when she is being nice. It took me a few chapters to get her out of my head because I can't stand her. Very nice story, and it made me want to start this tradition for someone in need.

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Susan Bartonville, TX 12-21-14
    Susan Bartonville, TX 12-21-14 Member Since 2012

    I don't usually rush out for all the "best sellers", but give each intriguing book/author a look. I have found many diamonds in the rough.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1050
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    589
    561
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    174
    81
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Love and Loss"

    This was a very heart wrenching book based on a true story of love, loss and a journey of the heart.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sandra Castelluccio Randolph, MA United States 12-13-14
    Sandra Castelluccio Randolph, MA United States 12-13-14 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A beautiful story! Transforming grief to joy!"
    What made the experience of listening to The 13th Gift the most enjoyable?

    A beautiful story! Transforming grief to joy!


    What did you like best about this story?

    The gift of selfless love


    Have you listened to any of Joanne Huist Smith’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

    No!


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    It made my heart feel filled with love


    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 12-22-16 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    "materialistic"

    pretty dismal. A wife who was loved by a great and doting man died prematurely. now she's left with three beautiful, loving, healthy, respectful, obedient children. Oh, and lest I forget, a secret Santa who delivers heartfelt gifts to their door each 13 days of Christmas. big problems?not enough $ for computers and bigger home. forgive me, but I suspect to people with BIG problems, this story may appear whiny and full of self pity.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jane Metsker 12-15-16 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Pathetic"

    I had to stop listening to this after three chapters of nothing but negative whining! This author needs serious grief counseling! This is not an uplifting Christmas story!! Don't waste your credit or your time!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer TX 12-11-16
    Amazon Customer TX 12-11-16 Member Since 2001

    KB

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    54
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wonderful Christmas time read."

    This book really puts me in a holiday mood and reminds me of the true meaning of giving.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    ROBIN SODDY DAISY, TN, United States 12-10-16
    ROBIN SODDY DAISY, TN, United States 12-10-16 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    709
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    125
    91
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    62
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "What I liked most is that it was true..."

    Started out a bit slow and sad but it's a true story, and life is like that sometimes . Soon the story and the storyteller were both growing on me, and the next thing I knew I was loving it! So glad I listened, glad it's a true story , and glad there are real life angels out there.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kindle Customer United States 12-02-16
    Kindle Customer United States 12-02-16 Member Since 2011
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    120
    15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "true meaning of Christmas"
    Would you listen to The 13th Gift again? Why?

    Yes, to me it is a truthful story of how a little gesture can actually go a very long way.<br/>


    What other book might you compare The 13th Gift to and why?

    there are several, one about the red shoes, and the one about the Present. All are heartwarming and actually put some faith back into other people. Makes you realize that the people are not all getting cold and uncaring.<br/><br/><br/>


    Which scene was your favorite?

    Not just one, but you slowly see the family start to unthaw.<br/>


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    missmarples 02-28-16
    missmarples 02-28-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    28
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    30
    28
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Depressing"
    Is there anything you would change about this book?

    The person reading it.


    What was one of the most memorable moments of The 13th Gift?

    When they found out who was leaving the gifts and why this was started. It made you feel so good and makes you want to be a part of it.


    How could the performance have been better?

    Stop the whining. It was sad but the annoying, constant whining was like nails on a chalkboard. It took me several months to finally finish it.


    Was The 13th Gift worth the listening time?

    The story was an incredible act of unselfish kindness.


    Any additional comments?

    the experience was sad but the family kept together and helped each other cope with their loss. <br/>

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Phil C. Jacksonville, FL 02-03-16
    Phil C. Jacksonville, FL 02-03-16 Member Since 2014

    Phil and Judy

    HELPFUL VOTES
    9
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    70
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good story, hard time on the voice"
    If you could sum up The 13th Gift in three words, what would they be?

    Good story, enjoyed the story but did not enjoy the reading of the story.


    How would you have changed the story to make it more enjoyable?

    A different reader.


    Have you listened to any of Joanne Huist Smith’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

    No


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    No


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.