Regular price: $21.00

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

For readers of Richard Paul Evans and Greg Kincaid comes The 13th Gift, a heartwarming Christmas story about how a random act of kindness transformed one of the bleakest moments in a family's history into a time of strength and love.

After the unexpected death of her husband, Joanne Huist Smith had no idea how she would keep herself together and be strong for her three children - especially with the holiday season approaching. But 12 days before Christmas, presents begin appearing on her doorstep with notes from their "True Friends." As the Smiths came together to solve the mystery of who the gifts were from, they began to thaw out from their grief and come together again as a family. This true story about the power of random acts of kindness will warm the heart, a beautiful reminder of the miracles of Christmas and the gift of family during the holiday season.

©2014 Joanne Huist Smith (P)2014 Random House Audio

Critic Reviews

"If there ever was a roller-coasterish page-turner of a Christmas book, this would be it. As a veteran devourer of Christmas stories short and long, fictional and true, I mistakenly assumed I'd encountered every conceivable plot variant in the genre. Turns out I was dead-wrong. Joanne Hurst Smith's wondrous story hit me from so many directions, playing on the strings of so many emotions, that it left me limp at the end Quite simply, it is a masterpiece." (Joe L. Wheeler, Ph.D., author of the bestselling Christmas in My Heart series)
"The 13th Gift has a touch of magic in it. It's a lovely story that proves we can recover from any loss, strengthened by the blessings of others. It's a classic for the Christmas season--and all seasons." (Glenn Plaskin, author of Katie Up And Down The Hall: The True Story Of How One Dog Turned Five Neighbors Into A Family)
"For readers of Richard Paul Evans and Greg Kincaid comes The 13th Gift, a heartwarming Christmas memoir about how a random act of kindness transformed one of the bleakest moments in a family's history into a time of strength and love." (Book Reporter.com)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.2 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    50
  • 4 Stars
    30
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.0 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    36
  • 4 Stars
    25
  • 3 Stars
    21
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4.4 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    55
  • 4 Stars
    21
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • susan
  • Plymouth Meeting, PA, United States
  • 04-11-15

13th gift

If you could sum up The 13th Gift in three words, what would they be?

it could of been alot shorter .I think way to many details.

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

when they found out who was putting gifts at their door step.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Susan
  • Bartonville, TX
  • 12-21-14

Love and Loss

This was a very heart wrenching book based on a true story of love, loss and a journey of the heart.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

A beautiful story! Transforming grief to joy!

What made the experience of listening to The 13th Gift the most enjoyable?

A beautiful story! Transforming grief to joy!

What did you like best about this story?

The gift of selfless love

Have you listened to any of Joanne Huist Smith’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

No!

Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

It made my heart feel filled with love

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Very good book. I enjoyed every minute of it.

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

Yes, I would recommend this book.

What did you like best about this story?

How real it felt.

Which scene was your favorite?

When things became happy.

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

Yes

Any additional comments?

The only thing I had a problem with, is the reader sounded just like Rosanne Barr's voice, when she is being nice. It took me a few chapters to get her out of my head because I can't stand her. Very nice story, and it made me want to start this tradition for someone in need.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Heartwarming ❤

The author narrates & isn't the greatest narrator but, the story tugs at your heart & helps remind us what the Christmas season really is about as well as what healing can look like. Easy read & truly enjoyable.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

So glad I decided to finish this story after the f

So glad I decided to finish this story as er hatte das falsch future this I was going to wonderful and I'm so glad that I finished and I've been inspired to try to do the same for someone else this Christmas

  • Overall

materialistic

pretty dismal. A wife who was loved by a great and doting man died prematurely. now she's left with three beautiful, loving, healthy, respectful, obedient children. Oh, and lest I forget, a secret Santa who delivers heartfelt gifts to their door each 13 days of Christmas. big problems?not enough $ for computers and bigger home. forgive me, but I suspect to people with BIG problems, this story may appear whiny and full of self pity.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Pathetic

I had to stop listening to this after three chapters of nothing but negative whining! This author needs serious grief counseling! This is not an uplifting Christmas story!! Don't waste your credit or your time!

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Wonderful Christmas time read.

This book really puts me in a holiday mood and reminds me of the true meaning of giving.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

What I liked most is that it was true...

Started out a bit slow and sad but it's a true story, and life is like that sometimes . Soon the story and the storyteller were both growing on me, and the next thing I knew I was loving it! So glad I listened, glad it's a true story , and glad there are real life angels out there.