The Things We Cannot Say

A Novel
Length: 13 hrs and 42 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (13,332 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

"Kelly Rimmer has outdone herself. I thought that Before I Let You Go was one of the best novels I had ever read.... If you only have time to read one book this year The Things We Cannot Say should be that book. Keep tissues handy." (Fresh Fiction)

"Fans of The Nightingale and Lilac Girls will adore The Things We Cannot Say." (Pam Jenoff, New York Times best-selling author) 

In 1942, Europe remains in the relentless grip of war. Just beyond the tents of the Russian refugee camp she calls home, a young woman speaks her wedding vows. It’s a decision that will alter her destiny...and it’s a lie that will remain buried until the next century. 

Since she was nine years old, Alina Dziak knew she would marry her best friend, Tomasz. Now 15 and engaged, Alina is unconcerned by reports of Nazi soldiers at the Polish border, believing her neighbors that they pose no real threat, and dreams instead of the day Tomasz returns from college in Warsaw so they can be married. But little by little, injustice by brutal injustice, the Nazi occupation takes hold, and Alina’s tiny rural village, its families, are divided by fear and hate. Then, as the fabric of their lives is slowly picked apart, Tomasz disappears. Where Alina used to measure time between visits from her beloved, now, she measures the spaces between hope and despair, waiting for word from Tomasz and avoiding the attentions of the soldiers who patrol her parents’ farm. But for now, even deafening silence is preferable to grief. 

Slipping between Nazi-occupied Poland and the frenetic pace of modern life, Kelly Rimmer creates an emotional and finely wrought narrative. The Things We Cannot Say is an unshakable reminder of the devastation when truth is silenced...and how it can take a lifetime to find our voice before we learn to trust it.

©2019 Kelly Rimmer (P)2019 Harlequin Enterprises, Limited
What members say
Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10,811
  • 4 Stars
    1,922
  • 3 Stars
    436
  • 2 Stars
    99
  • 1 Stars
    64
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9,958
  • 4 Stars
    1,653
  • 3 Stars
    423
  • 2 Stars
    95
  • 1 Stars
    57
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9,894
  • 4 Stars
    1,683
  • 3 Stars
    396
  • 2 Stars
    94
  • 1 Stars
    63

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Don’t Miss This One!

It is extremely rare that I give a book a five star rating. I am very particular about what constitutes this A+ grade in historical fiction, including the research, character development, and strong story line. Just as important, perhaps even more so, is the narration. The tone and pitch of the voice, the believability of gender difference between reader and character, accents and fluency in other languages, and overall pleasing sound of the voice, must all work together to qualify for an exceptional rating.
In this case, “The Things We Cannot Say,” by Kelly Rimmer, proved that all of this is possible! I was skeptical in the beginning as to how this could all come together to make such a believable, heartwarming, (sometimes heart wrenching) story, but to my delight, it worked beautifully.
I have read many, many WWII historical fiction books, but this was one of the very best! I don’t know why I didn’t read it sooner.

303 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Outstanding

It’s been awhile since a book made me cry. This did. Outstanding. Ten stars are not enough l! The story and narrative are perfect.

127 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Could not put this book down

I am on the road a lot so Audible has been fantastic. The Things We Cannot Say was so engrossing that I found myself sitting in parking lots not wanting to get out of my car because I needed to stay with the characters and the story. This book was so well written and so vivid we’re the descriptions that I felt it took me back in time. I loved every minute of this book!

118 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Emotional

I can hardly write a review for “The Things We Cannot Say”. It was so gut wrenching at times I could hardly listen for crying. Sometimes I wondered why I was crying so hard. Then I remembered a sentence from the last book I listened to, “The greatest tribute you can give someone is to cry with them.” Or for them?

122 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

if you think you have it tough...

This book was so good I listened in bed until I could barely hold my ears open. If you ever think you have a tough life this story is a quick check in to love and loss, past meets current life situation.

96 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Sweet love story<br /><br /><br /><br />

Story was good but the Alice narrator sounded like she was mad at the world in her very sharp/staccato voice even when she was being nice she sounded like a whining spoiled brat all the time....I was always relieved when it switched back to Aleena.

35 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Well... not my favorite

I wanted to like this book but darn that Alice character was hard to listen to. Too much whining and saying the same things over and over again. But Aleene was so much better and saved the entire book. Sorry I know lots of people liked it a lot but it grew very tedious with Alice’s voice and whining and self-righteousness.

49 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Gripping

This is a World War II story. I guess you can call it a historical novel. The book grabbed me right from the start and kept me engaged through-out the story.

The book is well written and researched. It switches back and forth from the past to present. The characters are interesting. The past part of the story takes place in 1942 Poland. Alina Dzink is fifteen. She is in love with Tomasz who is away at collage in Warsaw. Then the Nazis come to her village. The present has Alice taking care of her grandmother, Alina, who has had a stroke. Alina wants Alice to return to her village in Poland. The book shows how war effects people even long after it is over. I had no difficulty keeping track when the story switched back and forth between past and present. The two narrators made it very easy with their different style of narration.

The book is thirteen hours and forty-two minutes. Ann Marie Gideon and Nancy Peterson do a good job narrating the book. This is my first experience with both the author and the narrators.

112 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Life, Death, Love, Terror, Courage, Sacrifice

An incredible work of historical fiction, my fave! Many twists and turns and unexpected journeys during a terrifying time in history. It was very interesting to hear about some of the things happening in Poland during WW2; most of the books I read take place in other countries. The present-day plotline was also very interesting, and I learned a lot from Alice as she mothered her 2 children, each with their own gifts and challenges. I'll definitely be looking for more from Kelly Rimmer!

68 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Best book this summer!

I’ve listened to many books this summer but this book was by far the best yet! The storyline was captivating and kept me engaged the entire time. It’s one of those books you wish you hadn’t read so you could re read it again. Trust me you will NOT be disappointed. And the narrator was amazing!

68 people found this helpful