Shake

3 books in series
4 out of 5 stars 610 ratings

Gutshot Straight Publisher's Summary

A crime caper in the tradition of Elmore Leonard and Carl Hiaasen, this fast and funny debut is the story of "Shake" Bouchon, fresh out of prison and ready for life on the straight and narrow—well, maybe after one last job....

When Charles "Shake" Bouchon, professional wheel man, walks out of prison after a three-year stretch for grand theft auto, he's got only two problems: he's too nice a guy for the life he's led and not nice enough for any other. So he says yes when he's asked to run a simple errand for his former boss and lover, Alexandra Ilandryan, the formidable pakhan of the Armenian mob in Los Angeles. All Shake has to do is deliver a package to Las Vegas and pick up a briefcase. Only the package turns out to be a wholesome young housewife named Gina whose husband has run afoul of Dick Moby, aka "The Whale", an unpleasant 400-pound Vegas strip-club owner. Shake hates to think what's going to happen to Gina when he delivers her to The Whale, so in a move that's as noble as it is boneheaded, he decides to set her free.

Now Shake and Gina are on the run to Panama, hoping to unload the very valuable—and highly unusual—contents of The Whale's briefcase. Shake could end up a rich man, but first he'll have to outmaneuver two angry crime bosses, a murderous Armenian thug plagued by erectile superfunction, a former pro football player who blames Shake for his romantic woes, and a billionaire swindler with a flair for the theatrical. Not to mention, and not the least, Shake will need to survive his own heart, since he's going to discover that wholesome housewife Gina is even more intriguing, and a lot more complicated, than he ever imagined.

Full of blindsided double-crosses and hard shots to the head, Gutshot Straight is a tale of love, luck, and larceny against the odds.

©2010 Lou Berney (P)2011 Audible, Inc.
Show More Show Less
  • Book 1

    • Gutshot Straight

    • By: Lou Berney
    • Narrated by: Edoardo Ballerini
    • Length: 9 hrs and 8 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars 517
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 441
    • Story
      4 out of 5 stars 438

    When Charles "Shake" Bouchon, professional wheel man, walks out of prison after a three-year stretch for grand theft auto, he's got only two problems: he's too nice a guy for the life he's led and not nice enough for any other. So he says yes when he's asked to run a simple errand for his former boss and lover, Alexandra Ilandryan, the formidable pakhan of the Armenian mob in Los Angeles.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • A whole lotta fun.

    • By Richard Delman on 04-12-12

    Regular price: $19.60

  • Book 2

    • Whiplash River

    • By: Lou Berney
    • Narrated by: Jeff Gurner
    • Length: 8 hrs and 59 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars 93
    • Performance
      4 out of 5 stars 80
    • Story
      4 out of 5 stars 79

    Having left his life of crime behind, former getaway driver Charles "Shake" Bouchon has finally realized the dream of owning his own restaurant in Belize. Unfortunately, to do so he's had to go deep in debt to a murderous local drug lord named Baby Jesus. And when Shake thwarts an attempted hit on an elderly customer named Quinn, things go from bad to worse. Next thing Shake knows, his restaurant's gone up in flames and he's on the run from Baby Jesus, two freelance assassins, and a beautiful but ferocious FBI agent. Out of options, Shake has to turn to the mysterious Quinn for help.

    • 4 out of 5 stars
    • great story featuring the unflappable Shake

    • By Charles Atkinson on 07-23-12

    Regular price: $28.51

  • Book 3

    Whiplash River audiobook cover art
    Not available on audible.com

    There are many reasons why a book might be unavailable.

    Sometimes a book goes temporarily out of print - and sometimes no audio version has ever been recorded. Audible wants to give you the most complete selection we can and we'll keep adding series and filling in gaps as quickly as possible.