The Collected Short Stories and Novellas of Andre Dubus

3 books in series
4.5 out of 5 stars 15 ratings

We Don't Live Here Anymore Publisher's Summary

In the early 1970s, literary journals that contained Andre Dubus' short stories were passed around among admiring readers. When his debut collection, Separate Flights, arrived in 1975, it was immediately celebrated and won the Boston Globe's Laurence L. & Thomas Winship/PEN New England Award.

The collection includes the novella We Don't Live Here Anymore, which served as the basis for the 2004 film of the same title (nominated for the Grand Jury Prize at the Sundance Film Festival); the novella also introduces Dubus' writer-protagonist Hank Allison, a character who continues to appear throughout his work.

Two years later, the title story of Dubus' sophomore collection Adultery and Other Choices continued the exploits of Hank Allison. "The title story alone will make it worth your while to go out and get the book", wrote the New York Times Book Review.

While the collection's opening stories focus on the fragile nature of youth, later stories shift to darker struggles of adulthood, such as in "Andromache" - Dubus' first story to appear in The New Yorker (1968) - which traces the aftermath of a tragic death during wartime.

The complete list of narrators includes Robert Fass, Joe Barrett, Bronson Pinchot, Cassandra Campbell, Hillary Huber, Traber Burns, and Andre Dubus.

©2018 David R Godine (P)2019 Blackstone Audio, Inc.
Show more Show less
You're getting 2 free audiobooks.

You're getting two free audiobooks.

$14.95 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.