Showing results by author "Beth Underdown"

Categories

All Categories

2 results
Sort by
    • The Witchfinder's Sister

    • By: Beth Underdown
    • Narrated by: Lucy Brownhill
    • Length: 10 hrs and 36 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars 44
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 43
    • Story
      4 out of 5 stars 43

    A thrilling debut novel, a literary historical thriller based on the devastating witch hunts in 1640s England conducted by "Witchfinder General" Matthew Hopkins - for fans of Sarah Waters and Katherine Howe.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Excellent Historical Fiction

    • By ilene on 05-30-17

    Regular price: $28.00

    • The Witchfinder's Sister

    • By: Beth Underdown
    • Narrated by: Lucy Brownhill, Roy McMillan
    • Length: 10 hrs and 54 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars 8
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 7
    • Story
      4 out of 5 stars 7

    It's 1645. When Alice Hopkins' husband dies in a tragic accident, she returns to the small Essex town of Manningtree, where her brother Matthew still lives. But home is no longer a place of safety. Matthew has changed, and there are rumours spreading through the town: whispers of witchcraft, and of a great book, in which he is gathering women's names. To what lengths will Matthew's obsession drive him? And what choice will Alice make when she finds herself at the very heart of his plan?

    • 3 out of 5 stars
    • Rather long .

    • By G.Keyzer on 10-27-17

    Regular price: $22.71