Regular price: $28.00

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

A thrilling debut novel, a literary historical thriller based on the devastating witch hunts in 1640s England conducted by "Witchfinder General" Matthew Hopkins - for fans of Sarah Waters and Katherine Howe.

©2017 Beth Underdown (P)2017 Random House Audio

More from the same

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    14
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    25
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    14
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Excellent Historical Fiction

I found this book impossible to put down. Excellent account of the horrible truths these people endured at the hands of other human beings. The fictional story was extremely well written and keeps your interest, although a little drawn out at times. Impeccable narration throughout. Very interesting , definitely recommend!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great Listen

The story is wonderfully written and the readers voice is perfect.
I loved this book.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great, but not as an Audiobook

This dark novel is gripping. Based on 17th Century historical characters and events, it tells the story of an evil man who dedicates himself to the identification, trials and executions of over 100 women accused of witchcraft. The author injects into this history, fictional characters, imagined conversations, and events, while retaining what little is known about the history. It is brilliant and captivating historical fiction.

I would suggest reading the print edition, skipping the audiobook for two reasons: 1. There were too many characters for me to keep them straight; and 2. The narrator was difficult to understand, both because of her accent and her particular voice. Some words were incomprehensible.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

DOWNLOAD THIS BOOK NOW!!!

This historical novel is incredibly well written. The author maintains a sense of foreboding that rivals The Handmaid’s Tale. She presents a story that is so human and so horrifying yet we know thousands of women were tortured and killed during this period much as described in this novel. The narrator absolutely lives the characters lives and delivers a powerful telling that makes you forget this is anything other than a firsthand account of events.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A different kind of book for me, but I loved it!

I especially liked that is was truly based on history. It was very interesting indeed.