Your audiobook is waiting…

The Witchfinder's Sister

Narrated by: Lucy Brownhill
Length: 10 hrs and 36 mins
4 out of 5 stars (55 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

A thrilling debut novel, a literary historical thriller based on the devastating witch hunts in 1640s England conducted by "Witchfinder General" Matthew Hopkins - for fans of Sarah Waters and Katherine Howe.

©2017 Beth Underdown (P)2017 Random House Audio

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    23
  • 4 Stars
    19
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    35
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    23
  • 4 Stars
    18
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Excellent Historical Fiction

I found this book impossible to put down. Excellent account of the horrible truths these people endured at the hands of other human beings. The fictional story was extremely well written and keeps your interest, although a little drawn out at times. Impeccable narration throughout. Very interesting , definitely recommend!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great Listen

The story is wonderfully written and the readers voice is perfect.
I loved this book.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The brother is a horrible man

I was searching for a book one day and came across this one. it didn't have a lot of reviews that I saw but I was drawn to it.
It is fiction but based on truth in history I was pleased with the story.
Alice was forced to witness her brothers horrible acts while being treated as not family but as he would treat a servant.
I was pleased with the ending after all that I cringed in hearing which I won't spoil for you.
if you like witch stories you will like this book however it's more the persecution of them then a story about them.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

I'm so sorry.

It's well researched... but boring. I tried. I fought my way to 7 hours in and I couldn't take it anymore.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Mary
  • Charlotte
  • 10-22-18

Awesome Book!

Loved everything about this book. The history, the story, the underlining lessons about humanity then and current ideas of what is okay. The reader was amazing also. I rarely leave reviews and I think everyone should read this book, and I think everyone should stand up for women!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

DOWNLOAD THIS BOOK NOW!!!

This historical novel is incredibly well written. The author maintains a sense of foreboding that rivals The Handmaid’s Tale. She presents a story that is so human and so horrifying yet we know thousands of women were tortured and killed during this period much as described in this novel. The narrator absolutely lives the characters lives and delivers a powerful telling that makes you forget this is anything other than a firsthand account of events.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great, but not as an Audiobook

This dark novel is gripping. Based on 17th Century historical characters and events, it tells the story of an evil man who dedicates himself to the identification, trials and executions of over 100 women accused of witchcraft. The author injects into this history, fictional characters, imagined conversations, and events, while retaining what little is known about the history. It is brilliant and captivating historical fiction.

I would suggest reading the print edition, skipping the audiobook for two reasons: 1. There were too many characters for me to keep them straight; and 2. The narrator was difficult to understand, both because of her accent and her particular voice. Some words were incomprehensible.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A different kind of book for me, but I loved it!

I especially liked that is was truly based on history. It was very interesting indeed.