Your audiobook is waiting…

True Believer

A Novel (Terminal List, Book 2)
By: Jack Carr
Narrated by: Ray Porter
Series: Terminal List Book Series, Book 2
Length: 15 hrs and 44 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (878 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

“This is seriously good. I mean - seriously. Both author Jack Carr and main character James Reece are the real deal, the action is razor sharp, the suspense is unrelenting, and the tradecraft is so authentic the government will probably ban it - so read it while you can!” (Lee Child, number one New York Times best-selling author of Past Tense)

“A powerful, thoughtful, realistic, at times terrifying thriller that I could not put down. A terrific addition to the genre, Jack Carr and his alter-ego protagonist, James Reece, continue to blow me away.” (Mark Greaney, number one New York Times best-selling author of Mission Critical)

True Believer, the highly anticipated new thriller from Jack Carr, is one of this year’s hottest thrillers, and a perfect fit for fans of Vince Flynn, Brad Thor, and Daniel Silva.” (The Real Book Spy)

In acclaimed author Jack Carr’s follow-up to The Terminal List, former Navy SEAL James Reece’s skill, cunning, and heroism put the US government back in his debt and set him on another path of revenge.  

©2019 Jack Carr (P)2019 Simon & Schuster Audio

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    705
  • 4 Stars
    121
  • 3 Stars
    41
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    5

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    718
  • 4 Stars
    92
  • 3 Stars
    16
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    646
  • 4 Stars
    132
  • 3 Stars
    40
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    7
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The BEST book I've heard this year!!!!

After Jack Carr's first book, I could not wait for the release of his second. I started listening to TRUE BELIEVER at 3:15 am. Other than falling asleep at some point and backtracking I was completely engrossed in this fabulous new book. Carr seems to have stepped out of nowhere and is at the top of this genre's game, so much so that he states in his preface that parts were redacted by the Department of Defense. I generally don't like to compare authors but if you are a fan of Greaney or Coes then you will surely become a fan of Carr's. I can easily see James Reece becoming as popular as Mitch Rapp.
Although this book can be listened to as a stand alone, I would strongly suggest listening to TERMINAL LIST first. Carr is very good about giving explanations to references to his previous book but to really enjoy the full story you have to listen to both.
This book picks up where TERMINAL LIST ends. James Reece is unaware that during his final act of vengeance he had received a call from a neurosurgeon telling him his brain tumor could be removed. Reece never gets the message and still believes it's inoperable.

Viewed as a domestic terrorist Reece has to leave the states. A former Navy Frogmen he really doesn't know how to sail a boat but leaves the US and is sailing a yacht he liberated from an old friend men and heads to Mozambique and an old friend who lives there. While helping to rid the area from poachers his whereabouts are discovered by those US officials who could do him harm. Instead they want to recruit him back into service. It seems there are foreign terrorist on American soil and they've been busy. Hesitant at first Reece finally agreed.
From here on this fast paced book ramps up even more and continues right up to a spectacular ending.

What could I possibly say about Ray Porter? The man is one of the BEST narrators. His voice can only add to the enjoyment of any book he reads.
This book has my HIGHEST RECOMMENDATION.
If you found this review helpful please indicate so.
Thank You.

25 of 33 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good story

While I enjoyed the story line there were several points where the reader kept saying redacted. I know the author explains that this was part of his past career but this became a bit annoying and I felt that it was either a poor choice of his publisher not to have the author fix the sections (maybe in a haste to get the book published) or this was some sort of marketing idea to make you feel the author really knows his stuff. Either way it distracted too much from the story and made me want to turn it off a few times. I really like the character and think it’s a good/ fun series I hope that going forward this type of thing will be fixed prior to publication.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

First book was better

The first book was an exciting listen that I recommended to everyone. This was more of a slow burn that didn't seem as engaging or exciting.


1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I hate hearing “Redacted!”

Look it’s a fictional story and if it may have mentioned a sensitive location or entity I get it. So make a change or invent a place like “Somebeckastan”. Nothing breaks the flow and the continuity like a voice jumping in “Redacted “ or “paragraph Redacted” umpteen times. It is neither cute or chic. Otherwise the story was great. The end came up too quickly like the writer ran out of steam or wanted to leave more for the next book. To be continued?

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Wayne
  • Matthews, NC
  • 07-31-19

WOW! Perfection!!

I had two Audible pre-orders delivered on July 30. I decided to listen to The Russian by Ben Coes first followed by Jack Carr's TRUE BELIEVER. I loved The Russian but True Believer is clearly the better novel of the two. Jack Carr's first novel titled The Terminal List was clearly not a fluke. TRUE BELIEVER picks up where The Terminal List finished. Protagonist ex-SEAL James Reece has just finished killing everyone responsible for the deaths of his SEAL team, his wife and his daughter as he prepares to die from a cancerous brain tumor.

Ex-SEAL Jack Carr is a new author but his first two novels are very polished with very complex plots. Comparing his first two novels with those of Vince Flynn, Brad Thor, Mark Greaney, and Ben Coes finds Jack Carr to be the equal of those espionage thriller authors.

Narrator Ray Porter does an incredible job of narration.

EDIT: Why the hell are all of these complaints about redactions being made by reviewers. The US government made the redactions for (likely) good reasons. In any case I doubt the redactions significantly changed the plot line. It is difficult to imagine the story being any better than the 5+++ stars the novel earns with the redactions. So far this year TRUE BELIEVER is the espionage thriller of 2019 even with a few redactions. I am very happy with the way Jack Carr handles the redactions by including the word REDACTED when they occur. If my comments here result in more unhelpful votes for my review, so be it.

14 of 21 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Ray plus Carr shines

What Shelley from NC said, read on for her review: action, enemy backstory, well written main character, and Ray Porter puts the notes to a verse like no other. Incredible!

I also agree there are big similarities - good ones - to Dalton Fury, Ben Coes, Mark Greaney.... wow!

4 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic Follow Up

I was fortunate enough to read an ARC of TRUE BELIEVER, but I love my audiobooks, so I wanted to give this a completely separate review.

First, Carr's debut thriller THE TERMINAL LIST was one of the best debuts I've ever read. From what I've heard from authors, the second book is the most difficult, but WOW! This book is a true gem. It is one of my favorite books of this year, by far. This book has action, mystery, and emotion and emotion and emotion. It was so good!

When you add in Ray Porter as the narrator, it makes it all-the-more better. Porter is one of my favorite narrators, up there with Scott Brick, George Guidall, George Newbern, and Jay Snyder. He is so talented, and he truly brings this book to life.

Because of Jack Carr's past military history, he is required to have this book reviewed by the DoD, which is why the pub date was pushed back. Just like in THE TERMINAL LIST, Carr left in all parts that were redacted by the DoD, meaning, in the middle of a sentence, you may hear the word "redacted." Now I DON'T mind this at all. I actually find it interesting, but it may turn some people off to it. For a quick example, Chapter 40 probably has over a dozen redacted words, and they all seem to be nations. This is not a direct quote, but it would be something like, "Reece got off the plane at (redacted)," or "He entered the (redacted) embassy," or "the (redacted) solider." Again, I had no issue with this, but some people may not like it. Just something to keep in mind.

Overall, this is without a doubt, going to be one of the best thrillers of 2019. I can't recommend it enough. A fantastic plot, dynamic and incredible characters, and the ideal narrator.

Great job, Jack!

6 of 11 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Best Military Spy Thriller Series Yet

I love the character. As gritty as Harvath with a sharper edge or Wrap but more mature. The narrator makes a huge contribution to the down-to-earth feel of the story. Emotional with a realistic view on what warriors must do.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Cant wait for the next one to be released!

Loved this book it seamlessly transitioned into the new characters and plot. Can't wait for the next one to be released.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Disappointed

I don't understand all the rave reviews. The first part of this book was unnecessary . The important parts left hanging from Terminal List were not answered. The reinstatement of Reese after the killings of the first book was not sufficiently explored. Neither was his relationship with Katie.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 08-12-19

I want more

I didn't want it to finish. Very gripping. I can't wait for the next book.