Your audiobook is waiting…

The War Nurses: A Moving Wartime Romance Saga Full of Heart

The War Nurses Series
Narrated by: Marian Hussey
Series: The War Nurses, Book 1
Length: 10 hrs and 53 mins
Categories: Fiction, Historical
4 out of 5 stars (38 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

You will love every moment of this absolutely brilliant wartime saga, perfect for fans of Diney Costeloe, Soraya M. Lane, and Nadine Dorries. 

As war takes its toll, the love and care of two brave young nurses become everything to the wounded soldiers they tend... 

1914. Two plucky young nurses pledge to help the war effort: Mairi, a wholesome idealist hoping to leave behind her past and Elsie, a glamorous single mother with a weakness for handsome soldiers. Despite their differences, the pair become firm friends.  

At the emergency medical shelter where they're based, Elsie and Mairi work around the clock to treat wounded soldiers. It's heart-breaking work and they are at constant risk from shelling, fire, and disease. Occasionally there are happier times...parties, trips, and letters. And maybe even the possibility of love with an attractive officer in their care...

But as the war continues and the stress of duty threatens to pull the two women apart, will Elsie and Mairi's special nurses' bond be strong enough to see them through?  

Based on a true story, Mairi and Elsie's devotion and bravery will make you smile and cry. You won't want to put it down!

©2018 Lizzie Page (P)2018 Bookouture

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    18
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    25
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    16
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

wonderful is all I can say!!

I absolutely couldn't stop listening and loved it!! wonderful is all I can say!!!
I'm a huge fan of the the author now!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Best narration and plot that keeps you wondering

How will it end? Narration through her eyes was a masterpiece. Well thought out plot. Left me wanting more episodes.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

I really really wanted to like this book...

This book seemed to go on forever, and ever, and ever. I forced myself to finish it, hoping it would get better, but it was mediocre, lackluster, and I really didn't enjoy any of the characters. The narrator also had the most annoying voice. I'm returning the next book in the series.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 08-06-19

good story

loved ths sory not the narater need a more firm voice to put more effect

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for TKIRK
  • TKIRK
  • 01-17-19

A good read & a great listen - very moving

I thoroughly enjoyed this book and want to thank the author & narrator. It is quite moving - well constructed - great characterisations - good history. The narrator's 'voic

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mrs. A.M. Andrew
  • Mrs. A.M. Andrew
  • 05-30-19

Enchanting

A story of loss of innocence, love, friendship and suffering as the war rages on the Western Front.