• The Girls of Victory Street: An Absolutely Heartbreaking World War 2 Family Saga

  • The Bryant Sisters, Book 1
  • By: Pam Howes
  • Narrated by: Susie Riddell
  • Length: 6 hrs and 1 min
  • Unabridged Audiobook
  • Categories: Literature & Fiction, Genre Fiction
  • 4.3 out of 5 stars (16 ratings)
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

From Amazon best seller Pam Howes comes an emotional World War Two saga about three young women whose bravery and friendship will see them through the darkest times. 

Liverpool, 1939. Bella Rogers thought her life was just starting; she can’t wait to get married to her childhood sweetheart, Bobby. But when war is declared and Bobby is called up, his letters stop, leaving Bella heartbroken and alone. Then her family is torn apart by tragedy when her angelic 5-year-old sister dies from a terrible illness. They can barely afford a funeral, but the church is packed with the entire community, devastated for their loss. 

Grieving for her sister and lost love, Bella finds a job at the Bryant and May factory, making matches. As bombs begin to fall, Bella gets the workers singing, keeping spirits high amidst the fear. When she meets a handsome American airman, Earl Franklin Jr, Bella’s heart finally starts to mend. Earl encourages her passion and soon she and her friends are offered the opportunity of a lifetime: to travel the country’s army bases, entertaining the troops and singing for victory. They name themselves The Bryant Sisters. 

Just as her life is getting back on track, Bella finds herself pregnant - and Earl reveals a shattering secret that changes everything about their future. Desolate, she flees home to Liverpool, but as an unmarried mother, will her family reject her? And, as she faces a terrible sacrifice, will she ever sing with The Bryant Sisters again? 

A heartbreaking historical novel about women in wartime, friendship, family and hope. Perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries, Diney Costeloe and Wives of War.

©2020 Pam Howes (P)2020 Bookouture

What listeners say about The Girls of Victory Street: An Absolutely Heartbreaking World War 2 Family Saga

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Chris Searston
  • Chris Searston
  • 02-22-21

A great listen

Easy to get lost in this book, it keeps your interest from the first page, didn’t even realise I was at the end of it, need to get started on the next saga straight away!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for RITA
  • RITA
  • 10-17-20

Brings back some memory’s of my younger days

Laying in bed at night with my two sisters both older-than me and no I was not a sleep as they assumed it was hard not to giggle at times but l grew up fast .And I am sure there are many other women that remember those years to very hard but I still think we had the best so please keep them coming these are also the best books at least for me