Your audiobook is waiting…

The Eagle and the Wolves

Eagles of the Empire, Book 4
Narrated by: Jonathan Keeble
Series: Eagles of the Empire, Book 4
Length: 12 hrs and 48 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (186 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

If you don't know Simon Scarrow, you don't know Rome!

The Eagle and the Wolves is the gripping fourth novel in Simon Scarrow's best-selling Eagles of the Empire series. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden.

Britannia, AD 44. Occupation is never easy. The enemy is butchering their supply convoys, their garrison town is starving and the truce with the locals is uneasy at best. Young Cato, newly promoted, and veteran centurion Macro are ordered to train the Wolves and the Boars, two cohorts of barbarian Britons, and introduce them to the brutal drills of the Roman Imperial Army. Macro is confident they'll win the natives over, but Cato worries about putting weapons into the hands of potential rebels. Ultimately, only one thing matters: is there a difference between the enemy at their gates, and the allies in their own camp?

©2003 Simon Scarrow (P)2017 Headline Publishing Group Ltd.

Critic Reviews

"A new book in Simon Scarrow's long-running series about the Roman army is always a joy." ( The Times)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    145
  • 4 Stars
    34
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    147
  • 4 Stars
    25
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    132
  • 4 Stars
    33
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great Story, great narration

another great story, and the narrator (new with this book) did a great job bringing the story to life for me. already downloaded the next book!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Cato and Macro are in trouble again

I bought the first book in this series, Under The Eagle, out of curiosity. I have had a continuing interest in Ancient Rome and I enjoy a good historical novel, so I thought I would give it a chance. I enjoyed it, but not so much that I went out and bought the next book in the series right away. After about 6 months I decided to listen to the next book available in the series (book 3 as book 2 is not available) and thoroughly enjoyed that. The books were getting better, or I was getting more interested in the main characters of the novels, or both.

Book 4 was better yet. Cato keeps growing as a character, Macro provides a good counter-point, the story of the Roman Legions in Great Britain and the fight against the Celtic rebellion led by Caratacus gives the story interest and relevancy.This book, which concerns the effort to train the local Celts as an ally to Rome, has been the best in the series so far and is full of interesting people, political intrigue, great bravery and more than a little pathos. The back story of the novel is, of course, accurate, and the entire book feels more like a history than a novel. Mr Scarrow's writing is wonderful and the narration by Jonathan Keeble is first class. There is a bit too much detail in the battle descriptions for my taste, but I can easily overlook that, given the gripping story itself.

I will buy the next book in the series much earlier than after another 6 month wait.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great story series with excellent narration.

read the series in order. much knowledge and enjoyment to be found. the narrator uses, with a few exceptions, classical Latin pronunciation, which alone is worth the money to me.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for jamie
  • jamie
  • 06-28-17

Why was this released in a weird order?

loved it but It was released a long time after book 11. Why? I enjoy the stories so it makes little difference but now I have the time line messed up

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for KathyW, UK
  • KathyW, UK
  • 07-09-19

Brilliant again

Absolutely loving this series - even with the city battle descriptions. This is my favourite period of history and this series brings it so alive, plus there is someone to hate - Quintilius, and Mr Keeble's voice for him is so good, making him so slimy and hateful. Gotta go, have to download the next one.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Naomi
  • Naomi
  • 06-13-19

Great Listening

Another wonderful book from this superb writer and read by the man who brings Macro to life, for me, in my head.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sean T Ryan
  • Sean T Ryan
  • 02-13-19

Troublesome Tribes.

The narrator voiced Macro exactly as I imagine him to sound. The ultimate Roman 'geezer'. Another great story.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Connor woods
  • Connor woods
  • 01-25-19

Fantastic

Absolutely incredible. Was skeptical of the new narrator and was satisfied with the one prior but Jonathans work on this was excellent. Truly remarkable.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for David C.
  • David C.
  • 12-16-18

Book number 4

This book covers the story of Makro and Cato and their raising of 2 Native cohorts the Boars and the Wolves. It puts light on the potential of the fighting men of Britton when trained by the legions, and also shows the humanity of the Romans and how they relied on basic tactics and drills repeated over and over and over again until the humanity was gone and all that remained was a professional soldier. However to truly be a professional soldier you must rise above your human aspects and come together as a unit of men who work together and rely on eachother.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Richard James
  • Richard James
  • 10-10-18

great books so far

really enjoying the story so far.

only annoyance is the change of narrator and how he pronouces catos name different to the previous one.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for P. Craine
  • P. Craine
  • 09-09-18

I am a Wolf

Another great book with our dynamic duo. Treacherous dealings with royalty! Murder!
I cannot sing the praise of Jonathan Keele more, the man is a true genius. The same goes for the author. On to the next book.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 06-13-18

loved reading this book

another great book in the series. was a little bit worried about change of narrator but after a while got used to the new voices. here's looking forward to the next book in the series

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Simon
  • Simon
  • 03-26-17

The Boys are Back in Town

At last this book is available on Audible UK with the next following soon. A great present from our friendly audiobook supplier!

Macro and Cato are once again thrown into misadventure as they are unwittingly placed into the heart of the Emporer's campaign for Britain both in terms of the military and diplomacy. As ever our chalk and cheese leads approach the situation in their own unique ways with, needless to say, mixed results. It all builds very enjoyably until the final few hours of the book which bring it to a close with a crunching set of action set pieces brimming with fine detail.

I think this is as good as anything else I've read in the series to date.and I'll be lapping up the next one as soon as I can!

7 of 10 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jeremy
  • Jeremy
  • 03-08-19

another ripper

my biggest disappointment, was that it was someone new telling the story.. i dont like change, but once he was settled i was fine.
my only issues were his pronunciation of the letter S.. it would become very high pitched haha.
aside from that, wonderful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for kevinplee@hotmail.com
  • kevinplee@hotmail.com
  • 03-20-18

Very good

Another great chapter following this pairing of comrades. Very happy to find they'll continue their journey which I'm very much looking forward to mivjbf on to now.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Pamela
  • Pamela
  • 06-13-17

ripping historical yarn

I'm invested in the characters, and they are set in a great sweep of history. I intend to keep going with the series

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sue Shailer
  • Sue Shailer
  • 04-02-17

Simon Scarrow excels again

Once again Simon Scarrow hits the mark with this historical tale of Roman legions invading Britain. Descriptions of daily life, tribal customs, and frenzied battles are balanced with the mateship of Cato and Macro and their witty repartee. I would recommend to all who like a good adventure story, anyone who likes historical novels, and everyone who likes "buddy" stories as these two have the best bromance ever.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Delmar
  • Delmar
  • 03-29-17

fantastic story and excellent narration

A great story and well read, excellent voices for Macro and Cato! Jonathan does s superb job.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 03-27-17

Don't go backwards!!!

Somewhat disappointing. Love Jonathan Keeble but allowing this to be published on audible after invader and also after Cato an Macro have gone through many adventures, didn't allow for Cato to be as "junior" a centurion as I would have hoped. Just proves that books should be published in order. And, with the introduction of the Invader series before this was "audibled"!! Doesn't help. Love the Figulus character and the overlap is good but it's all got a bit higgledepiggldldy, if you know what I mean??????