The Body on the Shore

DCI Craig Gillard, Book 2
Narrated by: Marston York
Series: DCI Craig Gillard, Book 2
Length: 10 hrs and 32 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (639 ratings)

Audible membership

$14.95 a month

Free with a 30-day trial
1 audiobook of your choice.
A monthly selection of Audible Originals.
$14.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $18.54

Buy for $18.54

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A killer is at work in the supposedly safe commuter belt. DCI Gillard needs answers fast.... 

Promising architect Peter Young is shot dead at his desk. DCI Craig Gillard is on the scene, looking at what appears to be a brutal and highly professional hit: two bullets, fired with ice-cold calm. Gillard knows that the most crucial question in solving the crime is one word: why? 

Two weeks later, on the Lincolnshire coast, another body is found on a windswept beach. In this case there is no identity for the young man, just a curious brand burned into his neck. As the mystery deepens, Gillard is plunged into a case without answers, finding himself up against dark forces - people who believe in only two things: blood and a warped code of honour. This time lives are on the line, children's lives - as well as his own. 

At breakneck pace and with a jaw-dropping twist, the suspense-filled second DCI Gillard crime thriller is perfect for fans of Robert Bryndza, Patricia Gibney and Faith Martin.

©2018 Nick Louth (P)2019 W. F. Howes Ltd

What listeners say about The Body on the Shore

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    314
  • 4 Stars
    234
  • 3 Stars
    59
  • 2 Stars
    24
  • 1 Stars
    8
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    358
  • 4 Stars
    174
  • 3 Stars
    42
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    4
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    286
  • 4 Stars
    192
  • 3 Stars
    69
  • 2 Stars
    20
  • 1 Stars
    14

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Gripping Unusual & Masterful

Not your usual procedural.Architect shot dead at his desk. Is it a simple hit? What motive? And how is it that it is linked by DNA with a mysterious kidnapping of two orphan children adopted from Albania by a staggeringly wealthy British couple? ingenious plot twists kept me listening far into the night. Then there's that corpse on the beach 200 miles away. Great performance by a masterful narrator who glides effortlessly through regional accents, including English, Albanian, and Italian. An explosive climax, and a bitter afterword see the mystery solved, yet the future so unresolved. Great listen.

13 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The Body on the Shore

This was a fabulous book! Twists and turns - right to the end. Just a minor complaint - I don't think the title of the book is appropriate.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

A disappointing sophomore effort.

I absolutely loved the first book in this series and was very excited to get the second, but this book is nowhere near as good as the first. The story is very unrealistic, bordering on the silly. I couldn't wait for it to be over quite frankly.

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Hard Pass

I wish I would have stopped listening when young teen girls were refered to as "jail bait." Or when the main character was teased for having a stalker because a victim called him twice over 3 days. Or when the female boss, who I think the author was trying to describe as a strong, independent character, was not only a stereotypical lesbian that everyone gossiped about, but was also gossiped about having the hots for our hot male detective. What is a hot man supposed to do with all the ladies swooning over him? While our main character doesn't seem obsessed with sex, our author sure does seem obsessed with his fictional female characters and their boneability. All of this is gross of course and offensive. But his use of language is pretty gross too. You will find the author likes to find really big words he found all by himself in his thesaurus and throws them out between his careless and lazy overuse of the easy ones.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Well written. Far-fetched plot.

The Albanian aspect of the story stretched credulity for me. I don't see that a local police station would be involved in an international crime scene such as this. Still it was an unusual storyline and I give him credit for that. Looking forward to #3.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Disjointed and horrifying

Loved his first. but this one is a self indulgent and fragmented mess. I can picture him getting drunk with his cronies and making a bet that he can sell a book that repeats the word "Albania" 6000 times. Was it that many? Probably more like 8000

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The complete package

I love this series and Marston York is icing on the cake, his accents, cadence and speech patterns are spot on!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

book 2

Another good story read by a talented narrator, I'm looking forward to the next one.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Oh wow, this is a twister

Ever worried about Albanian feuds? You will after reading this one. Moves right along. Good book!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Fascinating up to a point!

I really enjoyed this book, especially the trip to Albania. The narration was very good with several difficult accents. However, be prepared to suspend disbelief at the end.

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Guðrún
  • Guðrún
  • 11-13-19

Bad

I really struggled to finish this book. The story is so full of stereotypes that it sounds as if there is not a single honest, intelligent Albanien. Just bad!

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Street
  • Street
  • 01-11-20

Disappointing

Having enjoyed the first in the series I was looking forward to the second but I found it patchy, difficult to follow and a let down after the first. On the basis of the first |I will still try the third in the hope that this was the dog in the manger.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Guitargal
  • Guitargal
  • 11-21-19

Not so sure about this

Started really well and continued that way until the third and final section . The descriptions as always were excellent but I felt the storyline lost my belief somewhat. It is undoubtedly based on well researched facts but was still hard to go along with. Maybe my fault, but I had to suspend my disbelief once too often.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for hearne
  • hearne
  • 06-21-19

Excellent and mostly enjoyable

Great Story but the the regional accents occasionally seem more important than the story. Tone it down a little and add to the story, stop overpowering it..

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Judith
  • Judith
  • 04-16-19

Strange storyline

I enjoyed the first in this series, but this one seemed unrelated to book one in most respects. A strange Lithuanian mafia plot? Mmmm? Unsure if I will try another.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Gen
  • Gen
  • 03-14-19

Lots of loose ends and patchy storyline but okay

The narrator was believable for some parts of the book, bit like the story. Research may have been robust but it didn’t feel real or even very possible if it is we should know and be moved It’s peopled with characters I couldn’t care about. But taste comes in to this for me tension wasn’t tense enough, acts that should have engendered hate didn’t .

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for frances andrew
  • frances andrew
  • 03-13-20

Appalling narrator

I can’t bear to listen to this, the narrator is so slow and appalling over emphasised London accents. It doesn’t hold my attention at all. Waste of a purchase for me

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Dizzietango
  • Dizzietango
  • 06-20-19

Excellent

Excellent, marred only by some strange accents. Looking forward to the next book in the series

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for victoria macdonalf
  • victoria macdonalf
  • 01-30-20

Rather far fetched

It started off well but got progressively more far fetched and unrealistic as the story goes on and rather tedious. Not a very good crime novel.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lizzy
  • Lizzy
  • 01-17-20

A strong second outing

I really enjoyed this, we learned a little bit more about some of the supporting characters and that Craig is happy and settled with Sam (but still a workaholic) and we get a really twisty thriller! In fact, only the wobble I have is that the big reveal was a little far fetched, but other than that, I enjoyed this story very much.

2 people found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for annelan
  • annelan
  • 07-19-19

A great read

Really enjoyed this book quite riverting, kept me interested all the way, great Author
I read an earlier review about 'a mention of love making was not necessary'. so was a bit wary while listening out loud... BUT this was Nothing .. and laughable in retrospect of the subject of the book. BUT agree the title is wrong.