Regular price: $42.00

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

A stunning debut set in a world where reading is unheard of, perfect for fans of Inkheart and Shadow and Bone.

Sefia knows what it means to survive. After her father is brutally murdered, she flees into the wilderness with her aunt Nin, who teaches her to hunt, track, and steal. But when Nin is kidnapped, leaving Sefia completely alone, none of her survival skills can help her discover where Nin's been taken, or if she's even alive. The only clue to both her aunt's disappearance and her father's murder is the odd rectangular object her father left behind, an object she comes to realize is a book - a marvelous item unheard of in her otherwise illiterate society. With the help of this book, and the aid of a mysterious stranger with dark secrets of his own, Sefia sets out to rescue her aunt and find out what really happened the day her father was killed - and punish the people responsible.

With overlapping stories of swashbuckling pirates and merciless assassins, The Reader is a brilliantly told adventure from an extraordinary new talent.

©2016 Traci Chee (P)2016 Listening Library

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.0 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    23
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.4 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    26
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.0 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    21
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

the childlike narration

the male characters sound ridiculous when read with the "youthful tone" of the narrator. worse when canibalism is the topic. I want to take it seriously but can't.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall

Intense, but great story.

Super interesting premise. A bit hard to follow at times, but the prose and narration were hypnotic. Needless/excessive violence at times, but overall a great listen.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

LOVE!

So sad that it is over and not another book to start listening to! I enjoyed the multiple story lines and the characters. I look forward to more stories by the author and the narrator was marvelous!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Not for me

Reader was great, but the story just couldn't hold my attention. I really tried, but once I find myself flipping to other books or going to next chapter, it's a wrap.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful