Regular price: $15.48

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

The incredible new novel from the author of Oscar-nominated The Silver Linings Playbook. For fans of The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time and The Perks of Being a Wallflower.

How would you spend your birthday if you knew it would be your last? Eighteen-year-old Leonard Peacock knows exactly what he'll do. He'll say goodbye. Not to his mum - who he calls Linda because it annoys her - who's moved out and left him to fend for himself. Nor to his former best friend, whose torments have driven him to consider committing the unthinkable. But to his four friends: a Humphrey-Bogart-obsessed neighbour, a teenage violin virtuoso, a pastor's daughter and a teacher. Most of the time, Leonard believes he's weird and sad but these friends have made him think that maybe he's not. He wants to thank them, and say goodbye.

In this riveting and heart-breaking book, acclaimed author Matthew Quick introduces Leonard Peacock, a hero as warm and endearing as he is troubled. And he shows how just a glimmer of hope can make the world of difference.

©2013 Matthew Quick (P)2013 Headline Digital

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A troubled teenage mind in all its glory

The narration falters at places but I think its for clarity. Otherwise, a great read.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 02-22-18

I loved it

I thought his voice was memorable and emotive for the part, very fitting and effective.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Michael
  • 12-11-16

salinger/green

loved this book Leonard was an amazing character to write this kind of stuff you must have had some of the experiences Leonard had reminds me of looking for alaska or catcher in the Rye which for me is a big compliment.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Katie Hobson
  • 06-25-16

Forgive me leonard peacock

An interesting exploration of mental health, i will recommend this to all teens and young adults as it is a book that will help us understand others better!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Colin
  • 02-09-16

Took ages to listen to

This short book took weeks to get through. The narrator was great but I just found myself avoiding listening to this book for days at a time

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Alice
  • 06-02-14

Dark, suicidal teenager tale

What did you like most about Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock?

This was an intersting take on the shoot-out phenomena that is afflicting the US, as it tooka first person narrative style look at preparations for a teenage shooting rampage.

What does Noah Galvin bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

Noah brought Leonard Peacock and all his insecurities to life in a most brilliant way.

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

Leonard experiences of abuse by his friend were addressed with sensitivity and care for a touching delicate subject matter.