• Skin of the Sea

  • Skin of the Sea, Book 1
  • By: Natasha Bowen
  • Narrated by: Yetide Badaki
  • Length: 11 hrs and 28 mins
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars (643 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Skin of the Sea  By  cover art

Skin of the Sea

By: Natasha Bowen
Narrated by: Yetide Badaki
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $38.50

Buy for $38.50

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Instant New York Times Best Seller • The must-listen Black mermaid fantasy series that number one NYT best-selling author Nicola Yoon calls “epic and original,” in which one mermaid takes on the gods themselves. Perfect for fans of Children of Blood and Bone and Beasts of Prey.

“Riveting.” (NPR)

“Evocative.” (Entertainment Weekly)

“Remarkable.” (Buzzfeed)

A way to survive.

A way to serve.

A way to save. 

Simi prayed to the gods, once. Now she serves them as Mami Wata — a mermaid — collecting the souls of those who die at sea and blessing their journeys back home. 

But when a living boy is thrown overboard, Simi goes against an ancient decree and does the unthinkable — she saves his life. And punishment awaits those who dare to defy the gods.

To protect the other Mami Wata, Simi must journey to the Supreme Creator to make amends. But all is not as it seems. There's the boy she rescued, who knows more than he should. And something is shadowing Simi, something that would rather see her fail....

Danger lurks at every turn, and as Simi draws closer, she must brave vengeful gods, treacherous lands, and legendary creatures. Because if she fails, she risks not only the fate of all Mami Wata, but also the world as she knows it.

©2021 Natasha Bowen (P)2021 Listening Library

What listeners say about Skin of the Sea

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    547
  • 4 Stars
    72
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    539
  • 4 Stars
    47
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    3
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    498
  • 4 Stars
    76
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    4

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing

This book is beautiful in all aspects. In the end the author says she hopes the book sparks readers interests of the history found within the book. It absolutely has. I hope to read more like this!

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Black history AND black mermaids!!! LOVE IT

I actually loved this book! The storyline was great!!! I loved hearing about this young, BLACK mermaid AND hearing bits and pieces of OUR history and OUR cultures originating from Africa. So beautifully written and definitely showing a wonderful love for our black features like our hair, our lips, and the like. From someone who definitely learned to love the skin they're in and expresses it so well. I was so for this book! I hope others will try this book as well.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Stunning Story

This story is so beautiful - the characters, the mythology, the history - from the very first word to the finale. The story is impeccably told; whimsical and lovely language carry the reader through the world the author has created. The narration is beautiful, capturing characters in a way that gave them true life as a listener. I will be excited to read this author - and this book - again!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful story!

I absolutely LOVED this story! The mixture of history and fantasy helped to make the story feel real, so to speak. There is just the right amount of adventure and conflict to fully round out the tale and move the story along. There was never a point that I didn’t want to listen. And I thought the narrator’s voice and delivery were perfect for this story.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wowed by the Waves

The narrator quickly drew me in--making me feel as if I was part of the story. The life she gave to the characters and scenes, through tones, speed, rhythm and pitch had my my heart racing one instant and weeping another .
The descriptions of characters, clothing and places were fantastic. The only thing better was the story itself and how it unfolded at the end! I plan to seek out more works by this talented team of educating and entertaining artists!!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Little Mermaid Who?

This was such a rich, empowering Paradigm shifting narrative. Just beautifully written and the narrator helped make the hearing immersive. Bravo!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Couldn't Take it

the mispronounced Yemenya drove me crazy. I couldn't continue listening. Also the mischaracterizing th3 d3vine source. Also the story was slow.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Beautiful Story of African Mythology

Couldn't put this beautiful writing down. Learning more of Mami Wati from the Yoruba religion and the storytelling of the author was amazing. Yes, it is fiction and I have to remember that, but I could easily see this as none fiction. Thoroughly enjoyed reading this.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Beautiful & Engaging!

Fantastic story with so many bits of West African folklore and culture intricately woven together. Well balanced with action, emotion, beauty, memory, and lore. I ended the book ready for the next part. There is another book, right? Right?!!!!! Yetide Badaki has a lovely, rich voice and is a very engaging storyteller. I. Love. This. Book.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great read

loved this book I was sitting on the edge of my seat and could not wait to get back to listen and was upset when it ended. wishing for more.

1 person found this helpful