Regular price: $6.95

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

This is a gritty sword and sorcery tale in the tradition of Fritz Leiber and Robert Howard.

A dark twisted youth and his voluptuous lover tackle the one thing they sought to avoid, responsibility. In the dangerous streets of Kingspoint, they play at thievery, love making, and adventure seeking.

©2016 Luke Ahearn (P)2018 Luke Ahearn

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A master thief and his Minx seek skeletal wealth

I just got this today, and finished it completely in one sitting. The story starts off with a man conversing with an aged robed man, who claims that he can indeed lead the questioner to the bones of long dead mage. Bones that are bejeweled and bedecked with gems and other sparkly things. Bones that are worth a fortune beyond measure. The problem arises when the ancient man demands a deed in exchange for the information, a deed that seems all but impossible. Steal a gemstone from a place that is impossible to get to, and defeat its guardian, and upon the retrieval of the stone the man's answers shall be provided.

The story then follows what happens as the magically befuddled man (he is hexed with hellhounds (rats) that follow him until his task is done) as he sets about following the old man's instructions. Along the way he meets another daring thief, a harlequin, whoi is as beautiful as she is skilled in thearts of sword fighting, burglering, and love making. They make a fun pair, and you will treasure their time together. I do not want to reveal what happens, but I had everything figured out before long. Not that it was broadcast, it is just that I have read a million or so books and I can generally perceive where plotlines are leading to.

The story is well written, and the main character is likable, he isn't a bad guy, he just lets his greed get him into trouble periodically. The writing is smooth, and the narration works really well. The narrator's accent adds a certain charm to the story that an american accent would have lost. The cover on the audiobook is beautiful to behold. I really look forward to more in the furture, this looks promising, and hopefully we will see more of the old man as we are told we will. He was fun. Even though I did receive a promo code for this review it in no way influenced my considerations of the material, and in fact, inspired me to be more honest. In fact, getting a code generally makes me harsher as a reviewer as I am more often concerned what someone like Me will decide based on my review.


If this review helped, please press the YES below. Thank you immensely!!!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful