Regular price: $21.31

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

An unabridged reading of the brand-new novel based on a storyline by Douglas Adams.

The Doctor promised Romana the end of the universe, so she's less than impressed when what she gets is a cricket match. But then the award ceremony is interrupted by 11 figures in white uniforms and peaked skull helmets wielding bat-shaped weapons that fire lethal bolts of light into the screaming crowd. The Krikkitmen are back.

Millions of years ago, the people of Krikkit learned they were not alone in the universe and promptly launched a xenophobic crusade to wipe out all other lifeforms. After a long and bloody conflict, the Time Lords imprisoned Krikkit within an envelope of Slow Time, a prison that could be opened only with the Wicket Gate key, a device that resembles - to human eyes, at least - an oversized set of cricket stumps....

From Earth to Gallifrey, from Bethselamin to Devalin, from Krikkit to Mareeve II to the far edge of infinity, the Doctor and Romana are tugged into a pan-galactic conga with fate as they rush to stop the Krikkitmen gaining all five pieces of the key. If they fail, the entire cosmos faces a fiery retribution that will leave nothing but ashes....

©2018 BBC Worldwide Ltd (P)2018 BBC Worldwide Ltd

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    19
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    19
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    16
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Life, the Universe, and the Doctor

Anyone whose read Adams' third Hitchhiker novel will recognize this story, since it's basically that story, only longer, slightly less funny, significantly more interesting, and featuring a different bunch of heroes, namely the Doctor, Romana II, and K9. I always thought Life, the Universe, and Everything stuck out from Adams other books as being a more straightforward adventure than the rest of the Hitchhiker novels. It makes sense, then, that it was originally a Doctor Who story. That said, this is not at all as straightforward as most Who adventures, but it is a great read nonetheless.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I love Doug Adams

Everything that man writes is gold. This one almost reads like a murder mystery, and I couldn't put it down. I highly recommend.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

hitchhiker & who fan

I have been a fan of the Hitchhikers universe and Doctor Who series since forever. Unfortunately this mashup of the two felt forced and stitched together in ways that left the storyline feeling broken and choppy. Could not resist the idea of it but almost stopped several times from disappointment.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Alistair
  • Alistair
  • 01-27-18

Douglas Adams's original concept given form!

Would you listen to Doctor Who and the Krikkitmen again? Why?

I certainly would listen to this again. It is absolutely hilarious. It is based on the same concept as the third series of Hitchhiker's Guide To The Galaxy as Doctor Who and the Krikkitmen was the original concept albeit fleshed out in some ways by the also hilarious James Goss. I couldn't possibly recommend this more highly. If you are a fan of Adams or Goss BUY THIS BOOK!

What did you like best about this story?

Regarding the story I loved some of the planets they visited. Bethselamin - a planet with practically no concept of negativity or evil was especially hysterical - as well as Mareeve II. On top of this The Doctor and Romana are characterised especially well along with some other characters later in the book. Almost every line makes me want to burst into laughter just remembering it.

Have you listened to any of Dan Starkey’s other performances? How does this one compare?

I have listened to one of Dan Starkey's other performances as a narrator - Doctor Who: Devil In The Smoke which I also recommend - and I think his narration here is superior. It is superbly done. He has the perfect tone of voice for all the characters which allows the jokes to hit so well. Regardless of if he is supposed to sound like an unusually flipppant.travel guidebook, an unnervingly jovial or deadly serious alien traveller or the world's most arrogantly officious bureaucrat he pulls it off magnificently. I'll keep an ear out for any future audio books he narrates.

Any additional comments?

I give this audiobook my highest possible recommendation especially for fans of Doctor Who, Douglas Adams or James Goss. Grab it as soon as you can!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 02-18-18

Fantastic! Douglas would be rightly proud.

A brilliant adaptation that captures the wit and conceptual genius of the much missed Mr Adams. Dan Starkey's narration is sublime. Not only does he deliver the Doctor's lines with intonations that will have John Culshaw revising his pension options his other characterisations hold many a gem; I don't know if Douglas had envisaged the Great Khan to be portrayed by Brian Blessed, but if he had not been available, Dan could have covered without anyone noticing.

Anyone who has already experienced the kernel of this story in either of it's previous regenerations; Adams novel "Life, the Universe and Everything", or it's equally well realised radio adaptation need not disregard this with epithets regarding places already visited, tasks undertaken and shortsleeved tops purchased. This, as with it's similarly recycled stablemate, Shada, has plenty of new content to tickle one's synapses.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Judgecal
  • Judgecal
  • 02-21-18

HHGTTG Part 3.5

It reads like another installment of Hitchhiker's Guide, which it should. Dan Starkey's voices are superb throughout and really make it a very fun performance, including his Tom Baker impersonation.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Frankie Mouse
  • Frankie Mouse
  • 02-08-18

A fun story but seems awfully familiar....

This is, as Shada was before it, one of the stories that DNA re hashed in another franchise.
Where as Shada was a good Doctor who series that translated into a good Dirk Gently novel
Dr Who and the Krikkitmen doesn't really work as a doctor who story but is superb as a hitchhiker's installment.
To me its feels as if a copy of life the universe and everything fell through a timewarp and was badly plagiarised as a Dr who story.
Much of the dialogue and many situations just don't gel with the characters from the Dr who universe.
It felt like the doctor had been shoe horned into someone else's story.
The entire plot of private life of Genghis khan was much better as the short story and Kakapo are better described in last chance to see.

All on all this is a fun story with some cracking jokes they just sound like the are coming from the wrong people.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jim R.
  • Jim R.
  • 02-02-18

It's not Adams

James Goss does his best to mimic the Adams style, but he can't match the master. Where Adams is able to enthral us with absurdity, Goss just tires us.

I should have learned my lesson after his painful novelisation of The Pirate Planet, but at least with Audible I'm able to return this mess and use the credit for something more enjoyable.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jen
  • Jen
  • 01-24-18

Absolutely brilliant.

If you’re a diehard Whovian (particularly for No.4) and have a penchant for all things Douglas Adams, you’ll LOVE this book. Written before Hitchhikers so you’ll see bits he’s taken from this and used in the series. And it goes without saying that Dan Starkey portrays the Doctor beautifully. Didn’t want it to end.