Regular price: $28.50

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Love takes the stage...

Elise deVries is not what she seems. By night the actress captivates London theatergoers with her chameleonlike ability to slip inside her characters. By day she uses her mastery of disguise to work undercover for Chegarre & Associates, an elite agency known for its discreet handling of indelicate scandals. But when Elise is tasked to find the missing Duke of Ashland, she finds herself center stage in a real-life romance as tumultuous as any drama.

Noah Ellery left the glamour of the London aristocracy to pursue a simpler life in the country. He's managed to avoid the intrigue from his past life - that is, until he lays eyes on Elise. From the moment he notices her intelligence and courage, Noah realizes there's more to this beautiful woman than meets the eye. But when Elise reveals her real identity - and her true feelings for him - the runaway duke must confront the past he left behind...to keep the woman he loves forever.

©2016 Kelly Bowen (P)2016 Hachette Audio

Critic Reviews

"Fans of Julia Quinn and Sarah MacLean will adore Kelly Bowen!" (Lauren Willig, New York Times best-selling author)
"Where have you been all my life, Kelly Bowen? If Julia Quinn, Sarah MacLean, and Lisa Kleypas were to extract their writing DNA, mix it in a blender, and have a love child, Kelly Bowen would be it." (HeroesandHeartbreakers.com)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    83
  • 4 Stars
    34
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 4.7 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    85
  • 4 Stars
    25
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    77
  • 4 Stars
    30
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Trish R.
  • JACKSONVILLE, FL, United States
  • 07-29-16

Fabulous book and fabulous narration..

I just knew I’d love this book as much as I loved Duke of My Heart. I just wish we didn’t have to wait so long in-between books.

Anyway, Noah and Elise was a fantastic couple and they had a rough time getting together because of his hatred for his parents, he didn't want anything to do with the Dukedom, which was understandable to a point. Good grief, WTH was his parents thinking sending him to that place just because he couldn’t speak, or wouldn’t speak. And, wow, Elise was described as one of the best trackers and scouts for the British Army. That was awesome.

The instant chemistry between the two of them was amazing but that kind of changed when Noah found out she was there to take him back to London. He was so hurt you could just feel it. Ms. Bowen writes with such feeling and emotion. However, one reviewer said something about how there was no real chemistry between the two of them and their devotion was so quick after their meeting. I didn’t see that at all. There was chemistry from the time they met and all through the story. AND Elise admitted to Miss Moore that she loved Noah but knew it would go nowhere and she would have to give him up. And that was at about 75% of the story. There was no insta-love, except in their minds, so I’m glad I didn’t pay any attention to that review, because I absolutely hate insta-love. There was none of that in this book. There was insta-lust, some great sex, attempted murder, a trip back to London, plans to get the Duke back into society, more sex, meeting with Mr. Miller (which was a terrifically funny part of the book,) her leaving and him going after her, and at 99% they confessed their love for each other.

I gotta tell ya’ I really like the business “Duchess,” Elise, Alex, sweet little Roddy and King have going on here. There’s just no problems they can’t solve, and I love how they go about it. I would have liked for the story to go on a little longer, though. I would like to have seen Noah go back to see his friends in Nottingham, and teach the arrogant Baron and his bitchy daughter a thing or two, and see some kind of ending to his relationship with his mother. I just felt like there were things left unanswered. BUT still I loved this book. I can’t wait until January when the next book comes out.

There was some awesome explicit sex and a few swearwords.

As to the narrator: I love Ashford McNab! She does great men’s voices and has a wonderful reading voice and terrific emotions. You can’t ask for more than that.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Tracy T
  • Jacksonville, FL USA
  • 08-06-16

Love this author, story and narrator!

What a great story. I really like this author a lot! I love the way she writes her female characters all beautiful, strong, smart and witty.

I loved Elise and Noah! They were fantastic together. They had great chemistry and the dialogue between these two was fantastic! Amazing.

The story line and plot was fantastic! He ended up making a great Duke! His parents, wow what jerks! I really liked how his speech problem was written. I love the "fixers" that part of the story line is great too.

This was such a fantastic story. As was Duke of My Heart! Which is by far my favorite book I have read this year!

I want to see more Kelly Bowen books on audible please! Looking forward to the next book in this series.

As for the narration, well I am a big Ashford McNab fan so it is a total bonus she is narration this series and is perfect for it!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

An author to follow

Excellent storytelling here. Characters/plot/the whole package. This is only my third Kelly Bowen book, but she is going up in my authors-to-follow list.

I didn't take off a star, but I have to say that Ashford McNab's habit of giving her male heroes a nasal voice just drives me nuts. She is capable of doing a male character without the nasal quality, so I wish that she would concentrate on that. I have enjoyed the first two books in the series, but I may have to skip the fourth. It's the story of Elise's brother, who is a minor character here, and his voice was so awful that I don't think I could listen.

Kelly Bowen is very good, though, so I will read the series and forego the audios.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Kathleen
  • Texas, United States
  • 10-08-16

Doesn't Work for Me

After all the reviews, I really tried to like this. Didn't like the first book either. In the first book, I tried twice to get out of the first scene with the dead body in it and just got too annoyed both times. Got further with this book, made it to about chapter 5. The sum of the story seemed to me to be a contest between hero and heroine to see which one suffered the most. I almost always enjoy an Ashford MacNab performance but her male voices this time around sound like wicked witches or guys with severely stuffed up noses. Kinda tired of heroines who want to ditch their gowns and put on a pair of trousers, like they're going to throw on a pair of Levi's. Then, throw in the political digs where Americans are bad (this time during French/Indian wars, and I quit trying. Not all books have to be as good as "Flowers from the Storm" to suit me. I enjoy the average historical romance, but I don't have to settle for boring. This one is going back.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

I love a Fantastic follow up

This book started out a little slow, but after that watch out! It was a great romance and mystery. I love how this series features a Business ran by strong women. I love a slow burn novel and this is it. This was well worth the credit.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • SB
  • 01-11-17

Interesting characters , fairly enjoyable!

Any additional comments?

Interesting characters and a unique story. Some adventure. Nice relationship development, but sometimes the story is a bit lost.
There is no background to some big issues.
This could be a promising author. Overall enjoyable.

Narration: great as always!

Story: 3.75 stars, unique, interesting, but some missing pieces.
Relationship/heat: nice contrast between the characters. nice development, some sizzle.
Performance:4.5 stars, very nice!

Overall: 3.75 -4 stars. enjoyable. Want to hear more in the series

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Oh MY! What FUN!

Listened for Fun (Audible)
Overall Rating: 4.75
Character Rating: 5.00
Story Rating: 4.50

Audio Rating: 4.50 (not part of the overall rating)

Quick Thoughts: At first I thought I might have problems with Elise and Noah because ultimately she was hiding something from him BUT their chemistry just blew that away. I had so much fun listening to this story. They were both something of square pegs that refused to fit and preferred it that way. I think that is why they worked so well. They got into situations that only the two of them could have and once their communication opened up it was a delight.

Audio Thoughts:

Narrated By Ashford McNab / Length: 11 hrs and 50 mins


Ashford brought both Elise and Noah to life. I totally got lost in the story and fell in love right along with both of them.

Part of my Read It, Rate It, File It Done Review

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Oh Wow!

Absolutely great book! Loved everything about it. Perfect balance of romance and excitement, suspense and intrigue. Will be looking for more from this author!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

My New Favorite Author!

Duke of My Heart is the first book in this new series and you MUST listen to it first. I was thrilled with Ms. Bowen's style of writing and her characters and who doesn't love anything narrated by Ashford McNab?!! A Duke to Remember (Book 2) doesn't disappoint and proves the first novel wasn't just a lucky flash in the pan. The characters are interesting and genuinely likeable as well as believable. I love that there is none of the so often overdone angst in this genre. The intelligence and passion and humor of the story just draws you in! The female lead is strong, amazing and capable without being overdone and the male lead .... well .... he's just .... yummy. hahaha Great romance AND a good mystery! Win-win!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful