1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $17.00

Buy for $17.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

"A big-hearted story that’s as sweet as it is awesome." (R.J. Palacio, author of Wonder)

“An honest, emotionally rich take on disability, family, and growing up.” (Kirkus Reviews, starred review)

In the tradition of Wonder and Out of My Mind, this big-hearted middle-grade debut tells the story of an irrepressible girl with cerebral palsy whose life takes an unexpected turn when she moves to a new town.

Ellie’s a girl who tells it like it is. That surprises some people, who see a kid in a wheelchair and think she’s going to be all sunshine and cuddles. The thing is, Ellie has big dreams: She might be eating Stouffer’s for dinner, but one day she’s going to be a professional baker. If she’s not writing fan letters to her favorite celebrity chefs, she’s practicing recipes on her well-meaning, if overworked, mother. 

But when Ellie and her mom move so they can help take care of her ailing grandpa, Ellie has to start all over again in a new town at a new school. Except she’s not just the new kid - she’s the new kid in the wheelchair who lives in the trailer park on the wrong side of town. It all feels like one challenge too many, until Ellie starts to make her first-ever friends. Now she just has to convince her mom that this town might just be the best thing that ever happened to them!

©2019 Jamie Sumner (P)2019 Simon & Schuster

Featured Article: Best Audiobooks for Middle Schoolers


There’s nothing quite like middle school. It’s a time of major change, anxiety, and lots of awkwardness. Luckily for the middle schooler in your life, there are some great stories about navigating the ups and downs of friendships, family, first crushes, big changes, and so much more. We’ve collected 15 of the best audiobooks that focus on the unique experience of being a kid in middle school to help young listeners feel less alone during this exciting and confusing time.

What listeners say about Roll with It

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    109
  • 4 Stars
    26
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    91
  • 4 Stars
    17
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    86
  • 4 Stars
    22
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

BEST!!!!!!!💕❤️♥️

Love. A story about a wheelchairs prose and cons. Victory’s and fails. Love 🥰 and loss 😢. This is a great book, a must read! (Good for ages 1 to 9,000)

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The best

I think this is such a good book I recommend to older kids it’s one of the best books I have ever read I’m totally going to find more books by Jamie summer

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story!

Really shed some light on the actual feelings of someone in a wheelchair. Also includes a single mom with a daughter moving in with their grandparents.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Cool book ☺

This book is so awesome and cool. I thank my dad for buying this book

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

no need for the word handicap.

at this day and age, it's unnecessary to use the word handicap. it's offensive and derogatory. look it up.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Love this!

From the story to the narration- just superb! I’m very sad the book is done.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

This is an amazing book

I loved this book because of how it was a book about disabilatys! This is such a good book

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved this book

I thought that this book was heartfelt and well written so well written I think it deserves a round of applause

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good book

This is a good book and very wholesome reading this book was very fun and I think it’s just really sweet

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Best book ever

OK this book is really good because some people have to use wheelchairs and they can relate to this and it teaches you good lessons

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ted
  • Ted
  • 01-14-20

A nice quick read for younger readers

Jamie Summers’ novel “Roll With It” is a book I wish I had had as a twelve year old. Representation of a cerebral palsy protagonist - moreover, a well-written protagonist - is incredibly rare to find. For me reading this, I could relate to many aspects of Ellie and her family dynamics to that of my own. This book was a breath of fresh air in many aspects and would definitely recommend it for readers looking for a quick and easy read.