adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $15.93

Buy for $15.93

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Once, in a house on Egypt Street, there lived a china rabbit named Edward Tulane. The rabbit was very pleased with himself, and for good reason: He was owned by a girl named Abilene, who treated him with the utmost care and adored him completely.

And then, one day, he was lost.

Kate DiCamillo takes us on an extraordinary journey, from the depths of the ocean to the net of a fisherman, from the top of a garbage heap to the fireside of a hoboes' camp, from the bedside of an ailing child to the bustling streets of Memphis. And along the way, we are shown a true miracle, that even a heart of the most breakable kind can learn to love, to lose, and to love again.

©2006 Kate DiCamillo (P)2006 Random House, Inc. Listening Library, an imprint of the Random House Audio Publishing Group

Critic Reviews

"This achingly beautiful story shows a true master of writing at her very best." (Publishers Weekly)

Editor's Pick

Difficult protagonists are my favorite protagonists
"This is the title that got me into children’s literature, beginning my decade-long career in the wonderful world of kidlit. Edward, the book’s protagonist, is a difficult one: a cherished but spoiled toy to an affluent young girl. As a result, he hasn’t experienced much beyond his privileged existence. But then he’s sent careening into the wider world, carried from one harrowing or bittersweet experience to another, until he emerges as a wiser and kinder version of himself. I believe most listeners will emerge from this listening experience similarly."
Sean T., Audible Editor

What listeners say about The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,086
  • 4 Stars
    174
  • 3 Stars
    57
  • 2 Stars
    22
  • 1 Stars
    17
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    858
  • 4 Stars
    164
  • 3 Stars
    47
  • 2 Stars
    18
  • 1 Stars
    12
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    909
  • 4 Stars
    134
  • 3 Stars
    37
  • 2 Stars
    13
  • 1 Stars
    12

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Stunning, Healing

The story is fun, warm, cathartic, emotionally healing. It opened my heart even more than it already is by considerable trials in life. It is emotionally honest to the point of being painful, but moves along conclusively toward truth, reality and healing. The pain is healing. IT'S FUN. Like the bible, this book has more emotional depth, acuity, and life application than anything I've ever read. I will treasure it and share it with everyone I know. You will disdain, pity, dislike, identify with, cry for, mourn with, and love the very typical and yet charming and unusual Edward Tulane.

19 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Beauty out of Brokenness

I listened to this book while driving to Atlanta from the MS Gulf Coast. Upon returning home I found that Kate is best friends with an old girlfriend. Working with families and children post-Katrina I thought this book would inspire hope for children who had lost everything. The message, "someone will come for you," echoed throughout my mind as I contacted Kate who graciously had her publisher send 125 copies of the book which was distributed at the local library. This book is a book for children which grounds the child in reality. We live in a world of loss and pain but there is always hope. To loose hope is to loose life. Edward Tulane's journey brought hope to many who lost everything. A truly amazing story.

12 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

My nine-year-old loved the book

Any additional comments?

My nine-year-old son picked this book out and the two of us listen to it together while working on a fence in our backyard. The story was excellent and it was one we could not stop listening to.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very good story, but WAAAY too sad.....

It definitely deserves a five star rating, but very tragic. Well written......but still.....why....
Not for young children.
There is child abuse, tragic sickness and the cruel death of an innocent soul in this book

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Bool

Great story for kids of all ages.
Entertaining , easy to read and follow, very emotional and sentimental.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

highly recomend

I lobed the book as well as my 8 years old daughter. Sucha spectrum of emotions.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A Favorite

One of my very favorite children’s stories brought to life. I’m sure I will listen again and again.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Edward the rabbit learns to love

My kids (8 and 11) enjoyed this story--all about learning to love from a doll rabbit's perspective.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

So much HEART

I read this to my 3rd graders every year. This book gets me every time!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars

Marvelous

In the tradition of _The Mouse and His Child_, _The Little Prince_ and _The Velveteen Rabbit_ this is one of those rare and astonishing stories, ostensibly written for children, that work on so many different levels one can't possibly process them all with one listen. Just as Edward Tulane becomes a different doll in each stage of his journey, I expect that this is a different story for everyone who reads it, and each time they read it.

The only reason for 4 stars rather than 5, is that the first half of the story does get a bit repetitive and even tedious. Still, by the last chapter I was overwhelmed by a level of raw emotion seldom experienced since childhood. I don't believe it is possible to come away from this story unaffected, and it stays with you for a long time after the narration has ended.

11 people found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for V
  • V
  • 03-14-16

Captivating

Wonderful story of love, loss and longing. Once started you have to finish. Expressively and clearly narrated.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Andreea Micu
  • Andreea Micu
  • 06-01-20

Simply marvelous!

An extremely beautiful story read very, very well.
I recommend it with all my heart!❤️

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mrs K Vontzalidist
  • Mrs K Vontzalidist
  • 05-18-20

Joshua Vontzalidis age 9🙋🙋

It was emotional at the end and it was the best book EVER and also it made me cry 😿😿😹 I also loved it when Abilene came to the shop and recognised Edward.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 01-02-19

Perfect

Perfect book must read very eye opening and inspiring book about love. Very good characters and wording