Regular price: $0.95

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

This episode of the Adventures of Nero Wolfe first aired on December 15, 1946.

Nero Wolfe, featured in 46 novels, movies, and television series, first came to radio on April 7, 1943. The great character actor Sydney Greenstreet played him from 1950-51. Wolfe, the "gargantuan gourmet", solved crimes with an attention to detail that rivaled the great Sherlock Holmes. The overweight detective of Rex Stout's novels refused to leave his elegant brownstone on business, sending his wisecracking, two-fisted assistant, Archie Goodwin, out to do his legwork. This peculiar private investigator preferred tending to his beloved orchids over solving crimes. In fact, the only reason he worked at all was to keep up his lavish lifestyle.

(P)2006 Radio Spirits Inc.

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    65
  • 4 Stars
    41
  • 3 Stars
    29
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    8

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    44
  • 4 Stars
    28
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    5

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    41
  • 4 Stars
    25
  • 3 Stars
    19
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    6
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

THE ONLY EPISODE KNOWN TO EXIST!

From "The Amazing Nero Wolfe" starring the legendary Francis X Bushman & the versatile Elliot Lewis who played a wide range of characters on radio (everything from Carlton E Morse's Captain Friday in Adventures by Morse to Phil Hartis' hapless guitar player on the Phil Harrid/Alice Faye Show.)
A must for fans of Wolfe & Archiei

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Georgie
  • BallaratAustralia
  • 05-27-08

Excellent

This was a great mystery/who dunnit! Highly recommend it.....A must for everyone who loves timeless crime stories

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Annoying ads throughout

I can't imagine it would be difficult for Audible to cut out the corny, old ads and splice the episodes together.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

good story

I really enjoyed it. As good as a book and fun to listen to to.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Absolutely charming!

What made the experience of listening to The Shakespeare Folio the most enjoyable?

The cast is spot-on, crystal clear audio with sound effects. It's an excellent performance all around. That this is a radio performance is impressive. Very enjoyable.

What other book might you compare The Shakespeare Folio to and why?

Any of the Nero Wolfe books, the tone reminds me immediately of the books.

Which character – as performed by uncredited – was your favorite?

Archie Goodwin - the actor captures him perfectly.

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

Yes. These are only half an hour so are perfect for the car.

Any additional comments?

This really is a glimpse into the past - the recording even has the original radio ads about hand cream!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • BJ
  • Florence, CO, United States
  • 02-16-16

A fun one and well done.

simple..i liked it...it had a couple good twists to the solution. t waa a little more fun than some of them.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

great entertainment

Very enjoyable. great way to escape back to time of listening and imagination . Fun.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Cry Wolfe

I love Nero Wolfe and Archie. I've read the books and seen the television show. Now I'm listing to the radio show and I love it. Nero and Archie are the best team ever.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Thomas
  • Grapeland, Texas, United States
  • 05-20-12

If you love Stout and Nero ya gotta give a listen!

What made the experience of listening to The Shakespeare Folio the most enjoyable?

This goes for all of the Nero Wolf mysteries tha I downloaded and listened to. I have been a fan of Rex Stout and Nero Wolf since I was in my teens and here I am in my late 60's still enjoying them. Wonderful presentations by great actors! Sydney Greenstreet is awesome as Nero though at times it is difficult to understand him because of his very singular voice.

What was one of the most memorable moments of The Shakespeare Folio?

The most memorable thing about ALL of the Nero Wolf mysteries is of course the interaction between Archie and Wolf. It is what makes the stories special.

Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

Very few of the storyies make you cry but all of them have moments that make you laugh! What else can you do with the way the primary characters react with each other.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Ruth
  • Los Angeles, CA, United States
  • 04-26-12

Only fit for old radio fans

Would you try another book from Adventures of Nero Wolfe and/or the narrator?

If you love Rex Stout's Nero Wolfe books, don't bother with these mere recordings of the old radio show. Terrible actors and truncated plots seem to be the norm. All the sparkle and verve of a real Rex Stout book is missing here.

If you're an old radio fan and you don't know anything about Nero Wolfe, than you might be fine. But I come away wondering if it is possible to give negative stars.

Would you ever listen to anything by Adventures of Nero Wolfe again?

Nope-- I'm steering clear of all recordings of old radio shows from now on.

How could the performance have been better?

In so many ways it's not really worth bothering about. It would be like trying to fix a volkswagen after it got accordianed between two semis.

What reaction did this book spark in you? Anger, sadness, disappointment?

Dismay and disappointment.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • DungBeetle
  • 01-28-16

Quite good

Not the best of Nero Wolfe stories but a reasonable listen with some humour and interesting twists. ..and a fascinating advertisement included for skin lotion ...worth getting this audio book for that little slice of history alone.