We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
The Samurai Code Audiobook

The Samurai Code: A Hiram Kane Novella, Book 1

Regular Price:$14.95
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Expedition leader Hiram Kane is in Japan when the storm of the century hits. He joins the rescue mission as flash floods cause chaos, death and destruction.

Yakuza boss Katashi Goto is retiring from the mob. Before he does, there is one more thing to achieve: revenge over a centuries old enemy.

When their two very different worlds collide, Kane is forced to make a choice. He has always known honour is worth fighting for. When challenged by Katashi, he has to decide if it is also worth dying for.

The Samurai Code is the first instalment of the Hiram Kane adventure series. For fans of Russell Blake and Clive Cussler, Steven Moore's breakout action thriller will leave you breathless.

©2017 Steven Moore (P)2017 Steven Moore

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.0 (4 )
5 star
 (1)
4 star
 (2)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.0 (3 )
5 star
 (1)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.0 (3 )
5 star
 (1)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Jan 07-16-17
    Jan 07-16-17 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    432
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    456
    454
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    11
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wow!!! What a story!"

    This is the first book by this author and narrator that I have listened to. I found it quite enjoyable. The author was able to give such vivid imagery and I loved the glimpses of Japanese history and culture. I thought the book moved along quite well and had enough character development for its short length. The narrator was able to convey so many emotions, and did a great job with the various characters. My review is not a synopsis of the book, but rather my opinion of it. I was provided with this review copy audiobook at no charge by the author, publisher, and/or narrator at my request and voluntarily left this review. In addition to being full of action, this book does give some great insight into the Japanese culture, and some unexpected humor.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    NotPaidFor Review 08-15-17 Member Since 2014
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    36
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Hints of an adventurer with more of a tale to tell"
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    This book introduces Hiram Kane and as such, moved slower than usual. There are hints that there is more to come on Hiram's background, but there is sufficient detail in this book to give a rounded story. Not as much of a mystery as I thought there would be but the small insights into Japanese culture added to the overall reading enjoyment. I received this audio book for free and voluntarily reviewed.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jeff M. 07-29-17
    Jeff M. 07-29-17
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "This just wasn't quite for me."
    Would you say that listening to this book was time well-spent? Why or why not?

    Yes, because it was from an author I had never read before and I like to periodically try out different ones. Now I know. It was a relatively short 4 hours; if it had been a few hours longer, my answer might have been different.


    Would you be willing to try another book from Steven Moore? Why or why not?

    Probably. The Hiram Kane character was reasonably interesting, which would be the primary reason. This particular story just didn't quite do it for me, but since this was the first one of his I have read/listened to, I'd be willing to try again.


    What do you think the narrator could have done better?

    I didn't like the narrator very much. He did well with the Japanese accents, but his reading cadence was wrong in many places in my opinion. Also, this is a problem I've discovered tends to be common with narrators with low-pitched voices -- they don't account for that when reading and don't project very well in "quieter" scenes. It made it nearly impossible to hear for me unless I jacked the volume WAY up, which blew me out in the scenes where he got excited and did project.


    Do you think The Samurai Code needs a follow-up book? Why or why not?

    Well, I know there already is at least one. It seems like the author is intending this to be a somewhat episodic series a la Lee Child's Jack Reacher series. He spent a lot of time in this one fleshing out "who" Hiram Kane is, it would seem to go to waste if he didn't write at least one followup.


    Any additional comments?

    *SPOILERS*

    The biggest complaint I had about the story, which played the biggest part in dropping it from a 4 to a 3 (the story was too leisurely and felt too overly drawn out for me to rate it a 5), was the number of supposedly mortal wounds people kept coming back from. As one example, the author makes a big deal about how the main antagonist can barely even speak and is on death's door after being shot in the back/chest cavity, but then just a bit later that same guy is upright and monologuing while training a gun on folks. Similarly, another character was shot and bleeding out fast but somehow got up and walked quite a ways down a beach in a severe storm and/or its aftermath (I lose track of that particular part of the timeline).

    My other complaint is smaller -- the main action is amongst a group of Japanese men on a Japanese island with no other people around, yet it's not clear for large portions whether they're speaking English or Japanese. I say this because Hiram is eavesdropping and seems to understand most or all of what they are saying, yet it was never really established that he had the necessary level of mastery of the Japanese language. That just bothered me in the back of my mind throughout as I listened, but wouldn't necessarily matter to others and thus I mention it last.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kindle Customer 07-18-17
    HELPFUL VOTES
    51
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    189
    131
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    3
    0
    Overall
    "Interesting."

    A tale of samurai, and a good story line makes this book interesting. I received this audio book for free and voluntarily reviewed.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Sort by:
  • melanie herriot
    6/9/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A great story made even better in audio"

    Adventure novels wouldn't normally be a genre I am attracted to however I listened to this book on a long drive and it kept me on the edge of my seat.....quite literally! The story was not only entertaining and well written, but educational at the same time. Loved it and can't wait to read the next adventure of Hiram Kane.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • Gill
    7/28/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "brilliantly written and narrated."

    This is a brilliant story which kept me on the edge of my seat. The narration was totally compelling. would definitely recommend.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • N Caldecutt
    Bacup, United Kingdom
    7/14/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great story, reasonable narrattion"

    I really enjoyed the story (reading along with kindle). It moved along quickly, interesting plot good characters. Narration I felt was good at times but a little average in others, a little staccato in delivery at times it jarred a little.
    Otherwise emotions were expressed well, accents and characters acted out well too.
    All in all a good audio of a well written book.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.