Regular price: $20.65

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

She has it all. How far would she go to keep it?

A breathtakingly tense thriller from the author of The Wrong Girl, about one woman's determination to defend what's hers - and how quickly a straightforward plan can spiral out of control.

Perfect for fans of Katerina Diamond's The Secret and Fiona Barton's The Widow.

Shortly after Christmas, a message arrives at Sophie's house, scrawled across her own round robin newsletter: 'He's going to leave you. Let's see how smug you are then, you stupid bitch.'

Perhaps she should ignore it, but she ignored the last one. And the one before that. Now it's time to take action. But when a simple plan to identify and confront the other woman goes drastically and violently wrong, Sophie must go to extreme lengths to keep her life and her family together - while never letting on about her devastating secret.

©2017 Laura Wilson (P)2017 WF Howes Ltd

Critic Reviews

"Thoughtful, scary and true, this is reminiscent of Barbara Vine at her best." (Mail on Sunday on The Wrong Girl)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 3.0 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 2.0 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 2.0 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Ann D
  • 08-14-17

Wordy tale of superficial, rich folk!

This is the story a family from the shooting set who send their children to schools costing £40,000 a year. None of the characters are at all sympathetic. The only one I warmed to was lovely Dexter, a long suffering Labrador. It is described by the publisher as 'a breathtakingly tense thriller'. It isn't. Essentially (avoiding spoilers) a crime is committed because the wife is afraid of losing her creature comforts and money if her husband leaves her for his bit on the side. It's written in the style of an old fashioned thriller with lots of farce. Not for me at all. I will be returning it.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Mrs
  • 09-14-17

A good yarn!

The publisher's description of the book as a breathtakingly tense thriller I think, is inaccurate, as others reviewing it have already said. Also, it is not comparable to the superb The Widow, so if you expect something like that, you will be disappointed. However, it really is a ripping good yarn, with farcical overtones & it certainly made me smile!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • J Jackson Skeats
  • 08-21-17

The Worst Story Ever

I had to listen until the end, but I fast forwarded the majority. It was ludicrous. All the characters were utterly hate able. Even the kids were loathsome. The actual actual worst. Save yourselves the bother.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Anonymous User
  • 08-20-17

Utter rubbish!

Boring! Nothing to it.. don't waste your time .
Utter rubbish.. I returned the book. Bridget

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Sophie
  • 08-18-17

Far fetched and irritating

I found this irritating and totally implausible from the word go. No depth to the characters and a farcical plot.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Ms
  • 11-29-17

Very silly

Loved the Stratton series so surprised that this was so throwaway. Characters were thin, plot unconvincing and tone a sort of forced comedy. Didn’t feel like author’s heart was in it.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Debs
  • 11-06-17

Sorry but dreadful

I usualy think/believe, if you have nothing good to say, then say nothing. But in this case, sorry to the author and narrator, this was truly awful! What a farce! Had to finish it as unfair to criticise it if not heard it all. Nothing good to say about it at all! I will be looking into how to return it!

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Amazon Customer
  • 10-21-17

Absolute rubbish!!!!!

I don’t normally write book reviews because I think the like ability is largely down to personal opinion, but I have just finished The Other Woman and I have felt compelled to write about it in an attempt to prevent other readers, who may be tempted by the Publisher’s Summary, wasting ££s/a credit on this ridiculous story. It is totally unbelievable, and, at times, verges on comedy! The Publisher’s Summary calls it ‘a breathtakingly tense thriller’. To come close to that description it has to be credible and it certainly is NOT!!!! It was boring, farcical, ludicrous and ridiculous. As I said before UTTER RUBBISH!! I would have preferred not to give it any stars because it do not think it warrants any but I cannot submit the review unless I give it at least one star for each category. I feel this is VERY misleading.
I will be returning it.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Mrs
  • 10-16-17

Ridiculous plot!

I doubt I have ever come across such a ridiculous plot.....totally unbelieveable. i cannot recommend.