Regular price: $20.65

Free with 30-day trial Membership
Membership details Membership details
  • 30 days of membership free - plus an audiobook, on us.
  • 1 credit a month after trial - good for any title.
  • Easy exchange. Don't love book? swap it for free.
  • Exchange books you don't like
  • After your free trial, Audible is $14.95 a month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

She has it all. How far would she go to keep it?

A breathtakingly tense thriller from the author of The Wrong Girl, about one woman's determination to defend what's hers - and how quickly a straightforward plan can spiral out of control.

Perfect for fans of Katerina Diamond's The Secret and Fiona Barton's The Widow.

Shortly after Christmas, a message arrives at Sophie's house, scrawled across her own round robin newsletter: 'He's going to leave you. Let's see how smug you are then, you stupid bitch.'

Perhaps she should ignore it, but she ignored the last one. And the one before that. Now it's time to take action. But when a simple plan to identify and confront the other woman goes drastically and violently wrong, Sophie must go to extreme lengths to keep her life and her family together - while never letting on about her devastating secret.

©2017 Laura Wilson (P)2017 WF Howes Ltd

Critic Reviews

"Thoughtful, scary and true, this is reminiscent of Barbara Vine at her best." (Mail on Sunday on The Wrong Girl)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 3.0 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 2.0 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 2.0 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Ann D
  • 08-14-17

Wordy tale of superficial, rich folk!

This is the story a family from the shooting set who send their children to schools costing £40,000 a year. None of the characters are at all sympathetic. The only one I warmed to was lovely Dexter, a long suffering Labrador. It is described by the publisher as 'a breathtakingly tense thriller'. It isn't. Essentially (avoiding spoilers) a crime is committed because the wife is afraid of losing her creature comforts and money if her husband leaves her for his bit on the side. It's written in the style of an old fashioned thriller with lots of farce. Not for me at all. I will be returning it.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Mrs
  • 09-14-17

A good yarn!

The publisher's description of the book as a breathtakingly tense thriller I think, is inaccurate, as others reviewing it have already said. Also, it is not comparable to the superb The Widow, so if you expect something like that, you will be disappointed. However, it really is a ripping good yarn, with farcical overtones & it certainly made me smile!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • J Jackson Skeats
  • 08-21-17

The Worst Story Ever

I had to listen until the end, but I fast forwarded the majority. It was ludicrous. All the characters were utterly hate able. Even the kids were loathsome. The actual actual worst. Save yourselves the bother.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Anonymous User
  • 08-20-17

Utter rubbish!

Boring! Nothing to it.. don't waste your time .
Utter rubbish.. I returned the book. Bridget

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Sophie
  • 08-18-17

Far fetched and irritating

I found this irritating and totally implausible from the word go. No depth to the characters and a farcical plot.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Mrs
  • 10-16-17

Ridiculous plot!

I doubt I have ever come across such a ridiculous plot.....totally unbelieveable. i cannot recommend.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.