Regular price: $14.22

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

A chillingly unsettling psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Paula Hawkins, Liane Moriarty, Shari Lapena and Clare Macintosh. Are you ready to question if everything in your life is really as it seems?

She thought they had a perfect marriage....

When a plane crashes, Iris Griffiths watches the news unfold with horror...and then relief. Her beloved husband, Will, had just flown out from the same airport, but he was on a different flight.

So why is his name on the list of victims? Surely there's some mistake - her husband would never lie to her. Would he? But wading deeper into the truth of her husband's deception, Iris begins to think the unthinkable.

Maybe she's glad that he's dead....

©2016 Kimberly Belle (P)2016 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A wild ride

It's been few days since I finished this beauty and still can't get over it. The narrator was brilliant, characters relatable; twist and turns in every chapter and you are sucked in from the beginning. IT was super quick and really enjoyable read! definitely recommended... keeps you guessing.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Insanely annoying

Everything is wrong about this book. It is insanely annoying. Don't listen to it! It will probably ruin your day too.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Jools
  • 01-03-17

A good listen

Enjoyed this book although if felt the last few chapters could be condensed. Narrator perfect.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Lynn
  • 01-10-17

had me hooked from the beginning..

it really did have me hooked from the beginning and the end was perfect. brilliant

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 01-30-17

Best twist ever

I couldn't have dreamt it up in my wildest dreams. Still plays on my mind.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Ann D
  • 01-02-17

I don't really get the gushing reviews!

Any additional comments?

I stuck with this for 7 hours out of the 10 hour 22 minute length. I usually move on much sooner from a book that is not grabbing me. I continued so long with this because every review I had read was so enthusiastic about it being a great read and I thought that it must improve! The narration was very good and the story started with promise. However, the characters had little depth and I didn't really engage with any of them. I found the story had little substance, and very quickly I became a bit bored. My favourite genre is modern crime fiction and I had thought this fell broadly into that. That doesn't mean that I need, or particularly want, gruesome in my fiction, but I expect the occasional twist or turn. There is nothing of that to be found here. For me the story proceeds in an entirely predictable, and not very interesting, way. I had guessed the ending by half way through and thought the same with only 3 hours to go. Since I gave-up at that point, of course I can't be certain that my prediction would be correct, but I didn't care. It's pretty poor when over two thirds of a book have been ploughed through and still you don't care what happens in the end.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Karen D
  • 02-04-17

Not a single dull moment!

One of the best listens in a very long time. the narrator was excellent and very believable. I felt every emotion that the main character experienced.
The ending was not was not what I wanted but more realistic

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • CE Beedell
  • 02-15-17

Great story

I enjoyed this but found the mom's 'Dutch' accent to be annoying in its lack of authenticity and it was distracting. The performance for all
other characters was flawless

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Dame Brighid
  • 01-15-17

The 'READER' makes this story!

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

The reader more then reads. I was impressed. I think the reader added a dimension to this story, that of I had read it myself. I may not have appreciated as much.

Good story line. Well presented.

What other book might you compare The Marriage Lie to, and why?

None yet.

Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

No.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Janet biglari
  • 10-16-17

This Turned Out To Be A Strange Listen

I was not sure about this book and almost gave up many times, however you do get to a point when you have gone so far you might as well get to the end. I suppose it was enjoyable but some of the narration got on my nerves particularly the mens voices. I guessed from the start most of the supposed twist, which was a total let down, no real twist at all. I suppose the best part was the final two lines !
I would not rush to recommend this book if you like complex psychological thrillers that keep you guessing.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • S. Babb
  • 07-31-17

Fantastic book

I loved this book I thought I could predict what was going to happen right up to the end, but I was wrong.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • atueyi chinenye
  • 06-28-17

One of those books you listen to because you have nothing else to listen too.

I bought it. Could not let my money Go to waste. The start was interesting. Then boring then interesting at the end. I would recommend you buy a more interesting audible book not this one. You wouldn't miss anything.