Regular price: $21.31

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Author of the BBC Radio 2 Book Club best seller Better Off Dead

From best-selling author Tom Wood comes a unique and gasp-inducing Victor thriller that turns all your expectations on their head....

Former CIA agent Antonio Alvarez has been tracking a dangerous murderer for years, a nameless hitman responsible for numerous homicides. Once, the Agency deflected him away from his search, but now a promotion has given him a second chance to right the past.

Only problem is the murderer has vanished.

Thousands of miles away, the assassin known as Victor has stopped working - recently he began to care; he made mistakes. But there's another assassin, Raven, who needs his help - and she is hard to refuse....

Enter a world of betrayal, tension and twists perfect for fans of Gregg Hurwitz (Orphan X, The Nowhere Man), James Swallow (Nomad, Exile) and Terry Hayes (I Am Pilgrim, Day of the Locust).

©2017 Tom Wood (P)2017 Little Brown Book Group

Critic Reviews

"Terrifically fun and explosively propulsive." (Gregg Hurwitz, author of Orphan X)
"Great, page-turning stuff." (James Swallow, author of Nomad and Exile)
"Very Few British writers are as good at the action thriller." ( Sunday Express)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

amazing

love all the victor assasin series
better to me than Jack teacher,john rain,gray man and Mitch rapp series loooovvve itt

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Ali O'G
  • 09-14-17

excellent read as usual

Fab read tied up some loose ends but created some more. Hoping there are more.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Jonesranger
  • 09-07-17

Amazing series

Every book as good as last if dare I say more gripping.
I would like to give it 5 stars...
But I'm maybe too stingy.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Vyonne
  • 08-17-17

average

Sorry but I thought it wasn't up to Tom's usual standard. It felt a bit rushed in my opinion.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Mr
  • 08-09-17

Another great Victor story

A fresh story that ties together a lot of loose ends and brings the previous 3 books together.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Gary
  • 07-25-17

Another outstanding book by Tom Wood!

Tom Wood continues to turn Victor into one of the book worlds best characters!
As Toms books grow stronger Victors story gets deeper. New characters emerge and open pathways to future storylines!
Keep up the good work Tom!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Mr. Peter J. P. Buckley
  • 07-16-17

A sharper focus needed

Really love the 'Victor' stories but this one not only started very slow but seemed to drift quite a lot.

Shame it had to be this way, but overall loyalty to the 'Victor' character means happy to wait for the next installment.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • D. Allen
  • 07-13-17

good next instalment

lacking the quantity of action in previous books, but an entertaining reaf nevertheless. cant wait for victor 7

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Chris
  • 07-11-17

Victor Is Back With An Irish Accent !

I have waited for ages for this. When I noticed that the narrator wasn't Rob Shapiro, I realised I had been listening to the US only versions of these books .

So, it was with a heavy and impatient heart that I bought and downloaded the UK edition .
I should have waited . I lost count of how many times I groaned at the narrators inability to mimic an American accent and instead, sounding quasi Welsh/Scandinavian ( seriously, listen to it if you don't believe me) or something worse .

The storyline would have been gripping I think but insteadI got really distracted by the increasingly lumpen and vaudevillian character accents .

So please, avoid this version and wait until August when Rob Shapiro's version is released . He embodies Victor and really electrifies the prose .

Anyone else simply isn't Victor.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Matt E
  • 07-04-17

Victor is back

I really enjoy this series around victor
This character is dark smart and clever
Bourne meets Reacher meets one bad mo fo
Must listen book with great narration and powerful characters

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Mikey
  • 10-16-17

Too many characters, stories didn't flow!

Coming from a big fan of Victor the assassin, I take no pleasure in saying I was disappointed with Wood's latest instalment in the series.

There were too many characters and too many different stories which seemed to veer off in all directions which had no real structure for my liking. Philpott has also had better days, with a few accents being not quite on par.

Not enthralling, but a decent read. It was nothing special, perhaps I've put Victor on too high a pedestal. You will more than likely enjoy parts of it as did I, so based on that I would still suggest giving it a try. Soz Tom.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Peter Beckerleg
  • 07-25-17

Dull predictable, slow moving struggles to finish

Dull story line, predictable & very slow, poor character develment & I struggled to finish it - nearly giving up several times

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • "neil999b"
  • 07-17-17

great as usual

great narration.great story aleays enjoy tom woods work. will definately get the next one. thankks

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Tim
  • 07-15-17

Contrived

I've listened to all the books in the series, they've always been pulp but this book is particularly bad. Complete with shadowy group manipulating the world's governments and institutions. How many seconds did Wood spend on dreaming up the name The Consensus?

Contrived dialogue... "my enemies" this "my enemies" that. We get it, Raven.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • william
  • 07-11-17

Complicated-not stand alone

Would you say that listening to this book was time well-spent? Why or why not?

No, I found myself falling asleep, not good when driving a truck, I had to backtrack to get a hold of the plot it took me a while to realise some of the smaller characters were from previous books

What could Tom Wood have done to make this a more enjoyable book for you?

Victor didn't seem as ruthless as he usually is,we need more victor interaction and dialogue with the enemy

Would you listen to another book narrated by Daniel Philpott?

Yes of course I will Daniel is victor he does a great job more violence needed (sorry)

Do you think The Final Hour needs a follow-up book? Why or why not?

No let's move on this book seemed too long to get to an ending

Any additional comments?

A couple of Toms books have started with victor front row and centre-excellent,puts you right in the mood especially if you're new to Toms books