Regular price: $20.65

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

The Dark Beneath was previously published as Tenacity.

In this breathless thriller, Lieutenant Dani Lewis must uncover the dark truth after a suspicious death on a navy submarine. Fans of M. J. Arlidge and Elly Griffiths will be absolutely gripped.

A sailor is found dead onboard the navy submarine Tenacity.

Although it's ruled a suicide, Lieutenant Dani Lewis, fearless star of the Special Investigations Branch, knows the man's wife was found brutally murdered only days before. Now she must enter the cramped confines of HMS Tenacity and interrogate the tight-knit, male-only crew to determine if there's a link.

Trapped deep in the ocean - the only woman onboard with a possible killer in tow - the pressure rises quickly for Dani Lewis. And she may need to choose between the truth and her own survival if she's to make it out alive.

Two hundred metres below the surface, she will have nowhere to run and nowhere to hide....

©2015 James Law Author Ltd (P)2015 Headline Publishing Group Ltd

Critic Reviews

"Addictively readable." (Patricia Cornwell, number one best seller)
"I read this in a day and can't wait for the next." (Clare Mackintosh, author of I Let You Go)
"An impressive debut…gripping, entertaining reading." (The Times)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 2.0 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.0 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 2.0 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • GeoffNotJeff
  • 08-03-15

Uncomfortable, gripping and constantly tense.

Where does Tenacity rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

It's right up there. Certainly in my top 3.

Who was your favorite character and why?

The protagonist Lt 'Dan' Lewis is really the only character you can 'like', but in terms of characterisation, I love the way the author wrote the more pernicious characters. Two stood out, but without spoilers, it's difficult to elaborate. They're so well written you feel like taking a swing for them yourself every time they arrive on scene.

What does Lisa Coleman bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

Lisa Coleman was perfect for Dan Lewis. Just the right balance of vulnerability and kick-ass. She did struggle a little with the few regional accents in the book, particularly Geordie, but it wasn't distracting.

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

'Moved' me? If claustrophobia and fear count - absolutely. Again, without spoilers, I'll just say that there are 2 particular chapters which will stay with me. The action described in each covers only a few minutes, but the prose was so dense and intimate and very chilling.

Any additional comments?

I wish the book had been longer - which is always a good sign. The book finishes with much unresolved and whilst I picked out the baddies reasonably early, the reveals were still shocking and unexpected. That's almost always the way with crime thrillers: there are only so many characters from which to choose the perpetrators. For me though, it was the density of the story and the prose rather than the scale of the plot that were the biggest revelation and I can't wait for book 2.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • rob
  • 11-22-17

gripping, emotional and really well tuned!

I have delayed reading this book owing to a personal preference not to indulge in fiction writing.....what a mistake!

The parallels the author draws from his experience as a submariner strike home with real effect. Couple this with a gripping storyline that leaves you desperate for the next chapter and a lead character that has real appeal as an investigator gifted with talented instincts but suffering as a result of her own life decisions makes the read that more indulgent. I was expecting the story to conclude..... but am left excited at the prospect of how events unfold in the future.

This novel is a must. if you are a submariner....it will really hit home. If you are not, then I can't think of a more inciteful read than this to give a feel for how a brotherhood can be guilty of pulling together, and excluding, yet operate as professionals in the most challenging of environments. The Fictional Twist that the author has developed really plays off the weaknesses inherent to the services.

a must read made better by Audio books

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • The Earnest Critic
  • 02-15-16

Unusual setting for claustrophobic crime novel.

This well written novel features an intriguing protagonist and an exceptionally unusual setting. I can see this becoming a TV series for sure.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Gillian Hill
  • 02-13-16

Claustrophobic thriller

Thoroughly enjoyed this debut novel. The description used in creating the atmosphere on board Tenacity is very clever. It immerses the reader in the claustrophobic environment of a submarine. The story was clever and I went back and forwards trying to guess the protagonists. Can't wait for the next Dan Lewis escapade.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • SE COATES
  • 11-14-15

Tenacity needed to finish

I really enjoyed this until nearly the end.
It was unbelievable that Dan, having already been in huge trouble for not going for help in a previous case, that she would behave the same way.
The conversation with Felicity was a clumsy way of moving the story forward and very dull.
That said, it was a good listen for 80% of the time.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Catherine
  • 08-13-15

Edge of your seat thriller

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

Recommended if you like a well-written, tense mystery/thriller. The first in a naval series from debut author J. S. Law. As he is ex Royal Navy (including submarines) the authenticity shines through. You don’t get much more terrifyingly claustrophobic than on a submarine with a killer out to get you. Ashore wasn’t any safer either. That was the most edge-of-my-seat book I have read in a long time, and I read a lot! I actually yelled "NO" at the last line. I am sure this will rocket up the best-seller charts.

What does Lisa Coleman bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

She is the perfect reader for this book, edgy, determined voice, just like the main character!

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

Yes, in fact I kept reading it way past my bed-time as I didn't want to put it down

Any additional comments?

He has two more in the pipeline and I can’t wait for them! As ex WRNS myself I can assure you, this is a brilliant book!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Jeanette NORMAN
  • 06-25-16

Am going to have to think about this book!

Just love the way Lisa Coleman narrates. I found an insiders look into navy male behaviour the same as trying to work with the ADF - hopeless. However - I am again rather tired of stupid "crime fighters" who's so called strength and endurance is portraid as a vitue rather than the serious flaw in their personalities that actually is. So in terms of ratings - I am still considering. I guess if I asked myself this question - will I purchase the follow up book - the answer is NO