Regular price: $20.65

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

For fans of The Girl Before, Behind Her Eyes and The Couple Next Door, The Choice is a hypnotic suspense debut from a remarkable new talent and explores the terrifying Sophie's Choice scenario: what if you had to choose between your children?

Then: Madeleine lived for her children. She'd always believed she'd die for them, too. But on the morning of her twins' tenth birthday her love was put to the test when a killer knocked on their door and forced her to make a devastating choice: which child should live and which should die - her son or her daughter?

Now: Madeleine stands silent on the periphery of her now fractured family, trying desperately to unravel why her world was so suddenly blown apart. But while everyday life continues around her, memories of everything leading up to that tragic day return in agonising flashes. And that's when she realises her family's life still hangs terrifyingly in the balance....

©2017 Samantha King (P)2017 Little Brown Book Group

Critic Reviews

"Taunt, tense and very clever. Definitely one to watch out for in 2017." (Claire Douglas, Sunday Times best-selling author of The Sisters)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 3.8 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.3 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 3.7 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Kathryn Kramer
  • 09-27-17

GET ON WITH IT!

So entirely predictable from about 30 minutes in that I was actually surprised to have been right in the end. It just couldn't be that straightforward. The story was extraordinarily slow and repeatedly and very very slowly wallowed through the narrator's feelings for her beloved children. The scenes between husband and wife in the abandoned house went on for centuries and were also very repetitive. The paedophile plot thread was weirdly underplayed (maybe he wasn't a real paedophile, just a man who fancied a child?!). If I'd been reading a paper copy of the book, I'd have given up, but I found it was okay to listen to while doing other tasks. Definitely would not recommend.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Diana K.
  • 09-21-17

Unbelievable

I found this book very frustrating- the story was not in the least believable-and the ending entirely predictable. Disappointing.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Alex Hutchinson
  • 09-20-17

It felt like it would never end

Oh it went on and on...
I persevered, but this could have been so many chapters shorter! If you can cope with the constant banging on about how much the main character loves, adores, worships her children (an absolute constant repetitive dialogue throughout), there’s actually an interesting story beneath it.
Overdone and unnecessary, glad I had the audio version as wouldn’t have managed to plough through this on my own steam!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • a white
  • 09-16-17

Promising but....

Initially I liked this story, and the blurb certainly enticed me but I found it very dull in parts. I also found many aspects of the story unbelievable. There were sections that just seemed to go on and on AND on( I started to skip bits). I can only suspend so much reality before it becomes stupid.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Teresa R
  • 08-28-17

Excellent Thriller

Took me a little while to get into it. But I think that may have been more me.
Once I did, I found it difficult to put down.
Very cleverly written
Read it. Or listen to it. You won't regret it

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • FELICITY GAINARD
  • 12-04-17

Dissatisfied

Sorry to say I was glad this book was over :( . Found the narrators voice so droning on and on . Didn’t think I didn’t like it enough to return but certainly didn’t excite me and want to finish it .