Regular price: $16.77

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Fast paced and suspenseful, The Accident is perfect for fans of Before I Go to Sleep, Gone Girl, and Sophie Hannah.

A gripping psychological thriller about the deadly secrets your children can keep....

Sue Jackson has the perfect family, but when her teenage daughter, Charlotte, deliberately steps in front of a bus and ends up in a coma she is forced to face a very dark reality.

Retracing her daughter's steps, she finds a horrifying entry in Charlotte's diary and is forced to head deep into Charlotte's private world. In her hunt for evidence, Sue begins to mistrust everyone close to her daughter, and she's forced to look further, into the depths of her own past.

Sue will do anything to protect her daughter. But what if she is the reason that Charlotte is in danger?

©2015 C.L. Taylor (P)2015 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic Reviews

"An enjoyable rollercoaster of a suspense novel with multiple twists." (Daily Mail)
"This dark and creepy book is a must read." (The Sun)
"A thrilling crime debut" (Woman Magazine)
"An ominous atmosphere, a tense tale of past and present colliding, and a narrator whom no-one believes: this book is a delight." (Alex Marwood)
"Utterly compelling. I could not put this gripping, heart-stopping page-turner down" (Rowan Coleman)
"Twisty, dark and utterly compelling" (Lucy Diamond)
"I was gripped from start to finish. Everyone should read this book!" (Lucy Robinson)
"This fast, twisty psychological thriller has suspense on every page!" (Paula Daly)
"Gripping and terrifying" (Julie Cohen)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 2.5 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 3.0 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 2.0 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

The yawn yawn accident

Very average , boring storyline . Don't bother downloading . I wish I could think of something nice about the book

Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Rachel Redford
  • 07-29-15

"Keeping this secret is killing me!"

Any additional comments?

'Keeping this secret is killing me!' - so 15 year-old Charlotte wrote in her diary before she walked in front of a bus, an entry her desperate mother Sue found in the hidden diary whilst Charlotte lies in hospital in a coma. 'The Accident' is in the genre of Gone-Girl-fast-paced psychological thrillers which keep you listening. The trick with these stories is to keep you listening so that you gloss over the ridiculous implausibilities as you hurtle along the Big Dipper of a plot. 'The Accident' succeeds, even if the final scene in hospital is absurd and Sue's past relationship with dream-lover James who turns into your worst nightmare is incredible. But don't stop to think - just go with the twists and turns, the lies and counter-lies, the convolutions of Sue's detective work, the revealed secrets and hidden terrors - and enjoy the tension along the way. Jenny Funnell's narration helps to keep the listener grounded - she gets right inside Sue which increases our sympathy for her and our belief in her. The book has been criticised for the writer's careless writing skills including over-long ill-punctuated sentences and some readers have understandably lost patience with it for this reason. Listening to a professional narration is clearly better than reading!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • MR
  • 05-03-15

tense!!!

loved it, some moments were really frightening, am going read more of her books. great story, great narrator, scary and exciting.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • NANCY VATCHER
  • 06-07-15

Annoying

The main character of this book is so annoying. If I knew someone like her I'd want to kill her as well lol.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Anonymous User
  • 02-13-16

OK

Any additional comments?

This was not the best book in the world but I'm pretty sure its also not the worst!<br/>Probably more suited to teens than adults.<br/>Nothing crazy special, a time filler.<br/>The story was interesting but could have been better, some parts were captivating and action filled others boring and slow. Perhaps with further development could've been a great book!<br/><br/>I was intrigued enough to listen all the way through though.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Aninie R.
  • 05-30-15

Twists and turns to the very end

This is the first book I have listened to by C.L.Taylor and I will be going back for more. Very good story line, with twists and turns right to the very end. Very well narrated, with just the right amount of different accents and voices.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Pooella DeVille
  • 07-14-17

Realistic

Quite unsettling as it was like two of my past relationships rolled into one.
Very well written, powerful and uncomfortable in parts but that was so insightful.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • JuicyLucyMarkie
  • 03-20-17

Too slow in moving the story forward

Good story line with twists but frustratingly slow in story development. I usually really enjoy audio books.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Cabaspre
  • 08-25-16

The main character was so annoyingly stupid!

Any additional comments?

Such a disappointment, having first read The Missing by this author. Without giving too much away, I understand that abused women find it hard to get away, or be understood by other people etc. etc. but Sue missed every single opportunity going! She then perpetuated the problem by not divulging key information to loved ones 20 years later. The story was well narrated. I am sorry that I would not recommend it although knowing how wonderful The Missing was, I will try a new book by this author.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • DMS12
  • 06-30-16

Loved this book

Found it a little slow in the very beginning but it soon picked up. Really enjoyable story line with some twists and turns!

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Mrs. C. Brazil
  • 06-09-16

Love it

Due to an eyesight difficulty - I've listened 2 many audio books. I hope the author/narrator review the feedback & are aware of the many hours of pleasure they give. 10/10 for both- LOVED IT FROM START 3 FINISH.