Regular price: $31.93

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Former operative Major Hector Cross must face off against a pair of lethal enemies and prevent an international catastrophe in this gripping contemporary adventure-thriller - perfect for fans of Clive Cussler, Ted Bell, and Vince Flynn - from the legendary worldwide best-selling author of Desert God and Golden Lion.

One of the most formidable fighters in the world, ex-SAS warrior and former private security consultant Major Hector Cross has survived explosive tangles with depraved enemies - warlords, pirates, and arms dealers - from the Middle East to the heart of Africa. Now Cross must take the law into his own hands once again to stop a vengeful old enemy who has resurfaced - and hunt down a deadly new nemesis in pursuit of global domination.

Cowritten with internationally best-selling author Tom Cain, this exciting tale, filled with knife-edge tension, cunning global intrigue, rip-roaring action, and breathtaking adventure, demonstrates the extraordinary vision and talent of a writer with a gift for consistently delivering nonstop entertainment.

©2016 Orion Mintaka (UK) Ltd (P)2016 HarperCollins Publishers

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.0 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    70
  • 4 Stars
    51
  • 3 Stars
    21
  • 2 Stars
    12
  • 1 Stars
    11

Performance

  • 4.0 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    71
  • 4 Stars
    45
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    14
  • 1 Stars
    11

Story

  • 3.9 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    58
  • 4 Stars
    49
  • 3 Stars
    25
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    12
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

NOT Wilbur Smith

First off, this book cannot be from Wilbur Smith an immensely talented writer. He should stick to African family based stores or historical type novels where he is best. This book is terrible & the performance is even worse, perhaps the worst I have heard on Audible!!
Don"t bother with this book

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Where was the producer?

I enjoyed the story because I had read the first two but this reader made me crazy with his mangled pronunciations. Why the producer didn't do their job is beyond me. Pretty much ruined it for me!!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Kathryn
  • Belleville, ON, Canada
  • 05-18-16

Do not waste a credit

story was a mess. Hector Cross series is so bad...narrator hard to understand...very disappointed. Have been a Wilbur Smith fan for decades.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

terrible narrating...

This book wasn’t for you, but who do you think might enjoy it more?

only if you can cope with the narrating...too much emphasis and inappropriate pauses...

If you’ve listened to books by Wilbur Smith before, how does this one compare?

one of the worst

Who would you have cast as narrator instead of Ben Onwukwe?

someone like Scott Brick, Jeffrey Kafer

Any additional comments?

couldn't get beyond first part...and had to return it to Audible

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Not disappointed

I've been a Wilber Smith fan for many years and have liked some books more than others. This was a great "listen" in every way! Narration was exceptional.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Another great Wilbur Smith book!

I wish it had been a bit longer! Narration was excellent. I must now go back and read the prior novel.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Ronda
  • Sidney, ME, United States
  • 03-27-16

Non-stop action

This is the first book I've read by this author and I have well over 1,000 books in my library. I really don't understand the less than 5 star reviews. This book had characters who were well drawn and you cared about or despised. The action was non-stop until the end. I'd put this up there with any book by Vince Flynn, Brad Thor or Brad Taylor. I enjoyed it so much that I just went back and downloaded the first book in the series.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Not as good as book 1 or 2

I was very unhappy with the fact that they changed narrators for each of the 3 books. Book 1 narrator was excellent. Book 2 story was good but the narrator wasn't as exciting as in book 1. Both the narrator and the story in this book, book 3 were not good. Not a good end to a trilogy.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Finally Gave up

Would you try another book from Wilbur Smith and/or Ben Onwukwe?

No, I love Wilbur Smith's Africa series...this one just didn't work for me. The narration was awful and everything seemed drawn out and confusing. I listen to audible books while traveling, walking, and working out.

Would you be willing to try another book from Wilbur Smith? Why or why not?

Not with this narrator...I will listen to samples before buying any more of Wilbur Smith books in audio format...

Who would you have cast as narrator instead of Ben Onwukwe?

Lou Diamond Phillips is the best narrator I've heard on any books...

You didn’t love this book... but did it have any redeeming qualities?

Seems to have a good plot, but jumped around and was difficult to follow characters...I gave up about halfway through the book...

Any additional comments?

I would try again with an abridged version and different narrator. Other Wilbur Smith books I've read and listened to are outstanding.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Not Wilbur Smith. Feeling ripped off. Should have read prior reviews

Not Wilbur Smith. Feeling ripped off. Should have read prior reviews. Bad story. Slow slow slow