We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Predator Audiobook

Predator: A Crossbow Novel

Regular Price:$31.93
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Former operative Major Hector Cross must face off against a pair of lethal enemies and prevent an international catastrophe in this gripping contemporary adventure-thriller - perfect for fans of Clive Cussler, Ted Bell, and Vince Flynn - from the legendary worldwide best-selling author of Desert God and Golden Lion.

One of the most formidable fighters in the world, ex-SAS warrior and former private security consultant Major Hector Cross has survived explosive tangles with depraved enemies - warlords, pirates, and arms dealers - from the Middle East to the heart of Africa. Now Cross must take the law into his own hands once again to stop a vengeful old enemy who has resurfaced - and hunt down a deadly new nemesis in pursuit of global domination.

Cowritten with internationally best-selling author Tom Cain, this exciting tale, filled with knife-edge tension, cunning global intrigue, rip-roaring action, and breathtaking adventure, demonstrates the extraordinary vision and talent of a writer with a gift for consistently delivering nonstop entertainment.

©2016 Orion Mintaka (UK) Ltd (P)2016 HarperCollins Publishers

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.9 (162 )
5 star
 (67)
4 star
 (50)
3 star
 (21)
2 star
 (13)
1 star
 (11)
Overall
3.8 (151 )
5 star
 (55)
4 star
 (48)
3 star
 (25)
2 star
 (11)
1 star
 (12)
Story
4.0 (151 )
5 star
 (68)
4 star
 (44)
3 star
 (14)
2 star
 (14)
1 star
 (11)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Kindle Customer North Palm Beach,Fl 05-17-16
    Kindle Customer North Palm Beach,Fl 05-17-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    12
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    60
    26
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "NOT Wilbur Smith"

    First off, this book cannot be from Wilbur Smith an immensely talented writer. He should stick to African family based stores or historical type novels where he is best. This book is terrible & the performance is even worse, perhaps the worst I have heard on Audible!!
    Don"t bother with this book

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kenneth L. 06-11-16
    Kenneth L. 06-11-16 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Where was the producer?"

    I enjoyed the story because I had read the first two but this reader made me crazy with his mangled pronunciations. Why the producer didn't do their job is beyond me. Pretty much ruined it for me!!

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kathryn Belleville, ON, Canada 05-18-16
    Kathryn Belleville, ON, Canada 05-18-16 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    70
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Do not waste a credit"

    story was a mess. Hector Cross series is so bad...narrator hard to understand...very disappointed. Have been a Wilbur Smith fan for decades.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sharon Compton HOTCHKISS, CO, US 05-13-16
    Sharon Compton HOTCHKISS, CO, US 05-13-16 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    54
    11
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not disappointed"

    I've been a Wilber Smith fan for many years and have liked some books more than others. This was a great "listen" in every way! Narration was exceptional.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    steve Perth 05-09-16
    steve Perth 05-09-16 Member Since 2013

    Avid reader...listener...15 - 20 books a year. Love words, love what they can give to us...

    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    37
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "terrible narrating..."
    This book wasn’t for you, but who do you think might enjoy it more?

    only if you can cope with the narrating...too much emphasis and inappropriate pauses...


    If you’ve listened to books by Wilbur Smith before, how does this one compare?

    one of the worst


    Who would you have cast as narrator instead of Ben Onwukwe?

    someone like Scott Brick, Jeffrey Kafer


    Any additional comments?

    couldn't get beyond first part...and had to return it to Audible

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Linda 03-31-16
    Linda 03-31-16 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    12
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Another great Wilbur Smith book!"

    I wish it had been a bit longer! Narration was excellent. I must now go back and read the prior novel.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ronda Sidney, ME, United States 03-27-16
    Ronda Sidney, ME, United States 03-27-16 Member Since 2007
    HELPFUL VOTES
    46
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    110
    22
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Non-stop action"

    This is the first book I've read by this author and I have well over 1,000 books in my library. I really don't understand the less than 5 star reviews. This book had characters who were well drawn and you cared about or despised. The action was non-stop until the end. I'd put this up there with any book by Vince Flynn, Brad Thor or Brad Taylor. I enjoyed it so much that I just went back and downloaded the first book in the series.

    3 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    M. KILMER Orange County, CA 03-17-17
    M. KILMER Orange County, CA 03-17-17 Member Since 2016

    Business Suave

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    10
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not as good as book 1 or 2"

    I was very unhappy with the fact that they changed narrators for each of the 3 books. Book 1 narrator was excellent. Book 2 story was good but the narrator wasn't as exciting as in book 1. Both the narrator and the story in this book, book 3 were not good. Not a good end to a trilogy.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    jay gordon N. TX 02-07-17
    jay gordon N. TX 02-07-17 Member Since 2011

    John

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Finally Gave up"
    Would you try another book from Wilbur Smith and/or Ben Onwukwe?

    No, I love Wilbur Smith's Africa series...this one just didn't work for me. The narration was awful and everything seemed drawn out and confusing. I listen to audible books while traveling, walking, and working out.


    Would you be willing to try another book from Wilbur Smith? Why or why not?

    Not with this narrator...I will listen to samples before buying any more of Wilbur Smith books in audio format...


    Who would you have cast as narrator instead of Ben Onwukwe?

    Lou Diamond Phillips is the best narrator I've heard on any books...


    You didn’t love this book... but did it have any redeeming qualities?

    Seems to have a good plot, but jumped around and was difficult to follow characters...I gave up about halfway through the book...


    Any additional comments?

    I would try again with an abridged version and different narrator. Other Wilbur Smith books I've read and listened to are outstanding.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    robàmcdonald 12-26-16 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not Wilbur Smith. Feeling ripped off. Should have read prior reviews"

    Not Wilbur Smith. Feeling ripped off. Should have read prior reviews. Bad story. Slow slow slow

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.