Regular price: $20.65

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

The first in a new crime series from M. B. Shaw, pen name of best-selling author Tilly Bagshawe - perfect for fans of Agatha Christie's Marple and Midsomer Murders.

Murder at the Mill introduces listeners to portrait painter and amateur sleuth Iris Grey, who sees the truths of others while struggling to find her own way. Grey arrives at The Mill in Hampshire, commissioned to paint a portrait of Dominic Wetherby, a celebrated author. She quickly finds herself drawn into a world of village gossip, romantic intrigue, buried secrets and murder.

©2017 Tilly Bagshawe (P)2017 Orion Publishing Group

More from the same

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • JM Manington
  • 12-18-17

Very good story line.

Loved this story, very different but still felt comfortable, I don’t like too gory books, where the author feels you need to have everything explained in detail, this is nice, easy listening.
The narrator is fabulous too.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Valerie Field
  • 04-03-18

Loved the book

Really enjoyed it. A modern Agatha Christie. Looking forward to listening to the next book.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • buffy
  • 03-05-18

Sadly won't be reading more of Iris Grey.

Story was good, however, the main character, Iris Grey, is incredibly annoying. Could not, at any point, find anything appealing about her. The narrator has a lovely reading voice, until she attempts to characterise. At this she is really poor. So sad as I would have read more by this author.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Anna
  • 03-25-18

Excellent modern 'cosy' crime!

Any additional comments?

I thought this was a brilliant story line with a brilliant narration by Rawlins. I'm hoping M.B Shaw writes more stories involving Iris! I've been looking for something modern in the Christie vein and this really hit the mark.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 03-23-18

Struggling with narration

The story is interesting with hints of old style murder mystery set in the modern world. I think I would have preferred the book as for me the narration is irritating. The voices are too put on and very distracting. The male characters are far too much and I found it hard to focus on what they were saying in the story. Sorry to say I wouldn’t choose this style of narration again.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Stella
  • 04-17-18

Patronising main character makes this less than enjoyable

I hoped this book would be an easy listen, but had to give it up when the smug Iris started talking down to the lead policeman as if her investigating experience made her an expert. Maybe Jenna would have made a better lead. Had to stop listening as it made me a little angry.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 05-21-18

great story and telling

Just when you think you know what's going to happen there's another twist. more please

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Cityslug
  • 05-10-18

Good book

Good book though nothing spectacular. The narrator was great...until doing character voices which could really grate.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Merrimaid
  • 05-02-18

exceptional narration!

I have both the kindle edition and the audible version, I think I got a special offer, and as I only generally listen whilst walking to and from work, it made sense to me at the time. However, in this case, the narrator was so brilliant, I ended up listening to the whole thing! She made the characters literally come alive, and I thoroughly enjoyed it. The story itself was engaging, the characters well rounded and believable, and the mystery very well plotted out - I was literally enthralled to the last minute. Looking forward to the next one, and I'm off to seek out more books narrated by Penelope Rawlins!