We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Mr. Churchill's Secretary Audiobook

Mr. Churchill's Secretary: A Maggie Hope Novel, Book 1

Regular Price:$28.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Laurie R. King, and Anne Perry, Mr. Churchill’s Secretary captures the drama of an era of unprecedented challenge - and the greatness that rose to meet it.

London, 1940: Winston Churchill has just been sworn in, war rages across the Channel, and the threat of a Blitz looms larger by the day. But none of this deters Maggie Hope. She graduated at the top of her college class and possesses all the skills of the finest minds in British intelligence, but her gender qualifies her only to be the newest typist at No. 10 Downing Street. Her indefatigable spirit and remarkable gifts for codebreaking, though, rival those of even the highest men in government, and Maggie finds that working for the prime minister affords her a level of clearance she could never have imagined - and opportunities she will not let pass.

In troubled, deadly times, with air-raid sirens sending multitudes underground, access to the War Rooms also exposes Maggie to the machinations of a menacing faction determined to do whatever it takes to change the course of history.

Ensnared in a web of spies, murder, and intrigue, Maggie must work quickly to balance her duty to King and Country with her chances for survival. And when she unravels a mystery that points toward her own family’s hidden secrets, she’ll discover that her quick wits are all that stand between an assassin’s murderous plan and Churchill himself.

In this daring debut, Susan Elia MacNeal blends meticulous research on the era, psychological insight into Winston Churchill, and the creation of a riveting main character, Maggie Hope, into a spectacularly crafted novel.

©2012 Susan Elia Macneal (P)2012 Random House Audio

What the Critics Say

“This wonderful debut is intelligent, richly detailed, and filled with suspense.” (Stefanie Pintoff)

“A terrific read.... Chock full of fascinating period details and real people including Winston Churchill, MacNeal’s fast-paced thriller gives a glimpse of the struggles, tensions, and dangers of life on the home front during World War II.” (Rhys Bowen, author of Royal Blood and winner of the Agatha, Anthony, and Macavity awards)

“Think early Ken Follett, amp it up with a whip-smart young American not averse to red lipstick and vintage cocktails, season it with espionage during the London Blitz, and you’ve got a heart-pounding, atmospheric debut. I loved it.” (Cara Black, author of Murder in Passy)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.0 (1488 )
5 star
 (522)
4 star
 (597)
3 star
 (261)
2 star
 (69)
1 star
 (39)
Overall
4.0 (1319 )
5 star
 (453)
4 star
 (511)
3 star
 (248)
2 star
 (67)
1 star
 (40)
Story
4.2 (1313 )
5 star
 (587)
4 star
 (468)
3 star
 (177)
2 star
 (47)
1 star
 (34)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Alicia Drier 06-29-16 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Brits pretending to be American"

    while the book itself was fun, the plot was clunky at times. more than anything what was extremely interesting was the narrator who could not nail down an American accent for the life of her.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Arthur B. Burnett 05-21-16 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    197
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Riviting Story. Couldn't Stop Listening."
    If you could sum up Mr. Churchill's Secretary in three words, what would they be?

    Good historical fiction.


    What was one of the most memorable moments of Mr. Churchill's Secretary?

    When Paige (Clair) and Murphy killed (?) the dancer.


    Have you listened to any of Wanda McCaddon’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

    No


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    I loved it. It made me both laugh and cry.


    Any additional comments?

    This story made me care about the characters. It was very well done. I can't wait to read the next book.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ronda 04-13-16
    Ronda 04-13-16 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    6
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "loved the story, hard to hear different girls"

    I liked the story and the characters. wasn't sure about narrator but she got better as the story progressed. I enjoyed it

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Barbara 03-31-16
    Barbara 03-31-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    28
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Foyle's War meets The Immitation Game"
    Where does Mr. Churchill's Secretary rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    At the top! This series is a more sophisticated version of the Her Royal Spyness novels, which I also love. Enough English history for any history buff in this one!


    What did you like best about this story?

    Lots of twist and turns and unexpected character development. Just enough "mature" language and plot lines to make the story realistic. I especial liked that problems such as the Irish troubles or the British Hitler supporters were not ignored nor glossed over.


    What does Wanda McCaddon bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    I loved the reader, Wanda McCaddon. At first I thought her voice was too mature, but her reading style, her inflection, her accents, made me fall in love with her voice. I'm sorry to read that other books in the series don't use McCaddon, now that I have her characterizations in my 'head'! McCaddon gave life to each of the characters!


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    Not about the book. However there was one or two times when McCaddon didn't get a young gravely voice exactly right, and I thought I heard just a touch of Marge Simpson in the accent.THAT made me laugh! However, I did get very emotionally involved with the characters. So much so that I'm probably hooked on the Maggie Hope series.


    Any additional comments?

    Congratulations to Susan Elia MacNeal for a wonderful beginning to a very enjoyable series.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Yvonne 03-23-16
    Yvonne 03-23-16 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    5
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Cozy read!"

    I enjoyed it and the time era! It was engaging but not rocket science....for relaxation, it is great.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    EFL 03-20-16
    EFL 03-20-16 Member Since 2013

    Say something about yourself!

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    47
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wobbly accents"

    I generally enjoyed the story, but the narrator had difficulty nailing the different accents, which I found distracting.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Pixanna Walker 02-06-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    56
    14
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "very interesting"

    I like the way she put history end of the story and yet made the story interesting to read I recommend this book

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    sweetsusiegirl 07-15-15 Member Since 2013
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    56
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good, but lacking the wow factor."

    The story was good, but did not have me riveted. Also, I think the narrator's voice was too mature-sounding to pull off all the young female characters...which is a pet peeve of mine. I understand that the narrator in the following books is different, so we'll see how that goes.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jean Sindhikara New Jersey 07-04-15
    Jean Sindhikara New Jersey 07-04-15 Member Since 2013

    Teacher/Mom Jean

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    59
    13
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Accent of reader ruins authenticity"
    If you could sum up Mr. Churchill's Secretary in three words, what would they be?

    Intrigue in the offices of Winston Churchill's office at the height of WWII.


    What was one of the most memorable moments of Mr. Churchill's Secretary?

    Speeches by Winston Churchill


    How could the performance have been better?

    Reader must have an authentic American accent, especially since lead character is American. Other accents, even some of the British, seem exaggerated.


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    No. It took a while to get into.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    TeeShirtBroker Austin 06-23-15
    TeeShirtBroker Austin 06-23-15 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    73
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not exactly compelling"

    Premise here seemed interesting. Ie. WWII setting, smart. Female protagonist (Wellesley, summa cum laude graduate)., who btw is also beautiful.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.