We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Mercy Audiobook

Mercy: Department Q, Book 1

Regular Price:$24.79
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

The unabridged, digital audiobook edition of Jussi Adler-Olsen’s Mercy, Scandinavia’s new bestselling crime phenomenon.

Read by the actor Steven Pacey. At first the prisoner scratches at the walls until her fingers bleed. But there is no escaping the room. With no way of measuring time, her days, weeks, months go unrecorded. She vows not to go mad. She will not give her captors the satisfaction. She will die first. Copenhagen detective Carl has been taken off homicide to run a newly created department for unsolved crimes. His first case concerns Merete Lynggaard, who vanished five years ago. Everyone says she's dead. Everyone says it’s a waste of time. He thinks they’re right.

The voice in the dark is distorted, harsh and without mercy. It says the prisoner’s torture will only end when she answers one simple question. It is one she has asked herself a million times: WHY is this happening?

©2012 Jussi Adler-Olsen (P)2012 Penguin Books Ltd

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.4 (117 )
5 star
 (64)
4 star
 (39)
3 star
 (9)
2 star
 (4)
1 star
 (1)
Overall
4.4 (106 )
5 star
 (58)
4 star
 (32)
3 star
 (12)
2 star
 (4)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.5 (106 )
5 star
 (67)
4 star
 (30)
3 star
 (6)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (1)
Performance


There are no reviews for this title yet.

Sort by:
  • TeaPartyPrincess
    UK
    1/21/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Long..."

    5 Words: Brutal, slow, intense, horrific, blah.

    I didn't enjoy this at all to start. I wasn't so keen on the narrator and I wasn't keen at all on Carl. But then we were introduced to Merete and I couldn't put it down.

    But my, is it a long listen.

    I didn't like Carl and the way he consistently objectified women and belittled them for not falling at his feet. It actually made me feel sick and is absolutely NOT what I want from a main protagonist.

    The scenes with Merete were pretty brutal. I listened curled up, my hands in fists, my jaw clenched. They were disturbingly well written.

    I liked Assad. He brought some well needed humour - and even a thread of mystery - to the story. Without him it would have been too heavy.

    11 of 13 people found this review helpful
  • Penny
    Havelock North, New Zealand
    12/9/13
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Please, please - more from author and narrator!!"

    I've listened to three in a row now (Mercy, Disgrace and Redemption) and found them all utterly compelling - I feel totally bereft now I don't have one to listen to. I love all the flawed characters - makes it so interesting to listen to, and Steven Pacey is brilliant as a narrator, switching voices and accents to different character's speech - marvellous. The only other narrator to compare with him is Derek Jacoby (Pereira Maintains - another brilliant listen). I simply can't rave enough about this, and I'm not usually a raver.

    6 of 7 people found this review helpful
  • Farniboy
    Wirral, UK
    7/15/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "New. Nordic-Noir, Nice and Nasty!"
    If you could sum up Mercy in three words, what would they be?

    Exciting, claustrophobic and tense!


    What did you like best about this story?

    At a time when Isis are rampaging across the Middle East and committing atrocities, news reports of Muslim grooming gangs and hate preachers. Its great to see a positive portrayal of a Muslim. Someone who is clever, kind and compassionate. He's an enigma, that raises questions. Only some are answered in this book.


    What does Steven Pacey bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

    A good reading by Steven Pacey, as ever my sole bugbear with Mr Pacey's reading is the way he pronounces grimace. It may be a northern thing but we pronounce it griMISS, he pronounces it griMAYCE. Its a small thing but over many listening's to Pacey otherwise great readings, it has become increasingly annoying to me.


    If you made a film of this book, what would be the tag line be?

    Can you take the pressure?


    Any additional comments?

    A great start to a fantastic series. A definite must listen for fans of The KiIlling, The Bridge, Larrson and Nesbo.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • r100gser
    6/8/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "this is the start of an excellent 5 book series"
    What made the experience of listening to Mercy the most enjoyable?

    the book is well narrated, and the plot is good, it's well written and easy and enjoyable to listen to.


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    difficult to pick a favourite character - the three main characters are all equally as interesting


    Have you listened to any of Steven Pacey’s other performances? How does this one compare?

    This is about the 100th audio book I have bought - and Steven Pacey is in my opinion an easy narrator to listen to


    Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    I laughed when I realised what a good listen it was, and almost cried when I had finished it


    Any additional comments?

    Some of my favourite crime writers are T F Muir, Stuart McBride, James Oswald and of course Reginald Hill - I have not listened to a book by any of them I have not enjoyed - now I have listened to all 5 books in this series I feel I can say the same about this author
    My personal preference on crime novels are that they are enjoyable, and don't get bogged down with too much technical detail and allow a certain artistic licence in the story - I do by the way work within the justice system - like the other authors mentioned above Jussi Adler - Olson writes a very entertaining story with good characters who develop over the five book series ......... I can hardly wait for episode six in the department Q saga

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • Kalps
    8/6/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "For lovers of The girl with the dragon tattoo type books"

    This book captivates you from the start .So very addictive . I loved the narration and story .

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Redgrave
    8/1/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Outstanding story, characters and narration"
    If you could sum up Mercy in three words, what would they be?

    Great story, characters and, particularly the narration. The tension at the end is not for the faint-hearted. This is my new favourite author.


    What does Steven Pacey bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

    Steven's narration takes the story to a new level.


    Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    The end is quite emotional.


    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Sue
    7/23/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great series"

    Second time of listening for me. I found this series when searching for the narrator. He's amazing! Good story line snd believable characters - brought to life by the gifted Steven Pacey.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Sukuma
    UK
    7/20/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Unusual Kidnapping"
    Any additional comments?

    The book describes a "horrible" yet unusual kidnapping; I wouldn't wish this on anyone. I enjoyed the description of the detective involved and the relationship interaction with his helper, building the character along with the actual story itself.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Petrova
    7/9/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellent"

    A very satisfying read, well-written, full of suspense and with some engaging characters. Steven Pacey's narration was also excellent.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Siobhan
    7/7/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great read"

    A definite page turner
    Steven Pacey did the story justice . I m looking forward to listening to the next book in the series

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.