Regular price: $24.47

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

When college kids hiking near an abandoned military industrial complex in West Virginia mysteriously disappear, special agent Janet Carter - earnest, honest, and fed up with the stifling chauvinistic environment at the Roanoke FBI headquarters - is called in to investigate. Unfortunately, there are no leads - it's as if the three just vanished into thin air.

The authorities at the FBI are quick to write off the case as teenage runaways, and order Janet off the case - but not before she has the chance to speak with the father of one of the missing, Edwin Kriess.

Kriess is an ex-"sweeper", a member of an elite CIA task force trained to track down and bring in rogue agents. To be a sweeper means to be expertly trained in the art of hunting and killing, and Kriess was not only a sweeper himself, but the agent in charge of training and leading the entire program. Only something went wrong - an assignment to track down an agent involved in a Chinese espionage plot ended in a bloody massacre, and threatened to reveal a monumental government cover-up. Kriess was quietly sacrificed to the scandal, and has since lived in solitude.

But now his daughter is missing, and he knows that she didn't run away - and he will do anything to find her and bring her abductors to justice. His search brings him back to the abandoned industrial complex, where two right-wing religious fanatics - tied to the Waco disaster and inspired by the Oklahoma City bombing - are building a hydrogen bomb.

When the FBI learns of Kriess' independent investigations, they fear the worst: he knows too many secrets already, and if his search efforts are successful, a scandal of epic proportions would unfold. They decide they need a plant, someone who has access to Kriess, and can win his trust. Someone who will report back what he knows, and what he finds - and that person is Janet Carter.

©2005 P. T. Deutermann (P)2005 Brilliance Audio, Inc.

Critic Reviews

"Deutermann's latest blast at the FBI/ CIA establishment [is] read with muscular intelligence by Hill." ( Publishers Weekly)
"A solid read from an author whose own tradecraft is every bit as good as that of his characters." ( Booklist)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    431
  • 4 Stars
    510
  • 3 Stars
    186
  • 2 Stars
    46
  • 1 Stars
    26

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    363
  • 4 Stars
    230
  • 3 Stars
    73
  • 2 Stars
    14
  • 1 Stars
    3

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    304
  • 4 Stars
    252
  • 3 Stars
    98
  • 2 Stars
    25
  • 1 Stars
    7
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • CBDC
  • Washington, DC USA
  • 03-09-10

GOOD book and good reader

While the underlying premise (conspiracy theory) is a little shaky, the book is great. The main character (Edwin Kreiss) is a real Reacher type; his daughter Lynn is amazing - smart and totally together, and Janet Carter the "good" FBI agent is courageous, ethical, human and likable. While the lead character is a man, there are strong women who are key players, multi-dimensioned and strong. Dick Hill does a really good job at all the different voices.

18 of 18 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Jancie
  • Melbourne Beach, FL
  • 10-31-09

Pure Entertainment!!

I loved this book! I did not know anything about this author when I started, but WOW!! It was a combination of the best of Clive Cussler and Dan Brown, with a little Tom Clancy thrown in. Looking back, some of the plot is a little unbelievable, but when I was listening, I did not even notice that. Highly recommend.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

On par with a great Lee Child book. Loved it!!

I actually wasn't looking for a book like this. I had no idea that the main character would be in the same vein as a Jack Reacher ala Lee Child. I was very, very happy to have found this book to say the least. For a long book, I never felt like it dragged out at any point, and kept the story moving at a good pace.

Edwin Kriess was cut from the same cloth as Jack Reacher, which is all the needs to be said. Nothing more enjoyable then to be in the head with the baddest man in town.

If you are a Jack Reacher fan, then this is the book for you.

23 of 24 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Sharon
  • Richmond, VA, USA
  • 05-09-09

Hunting Season

Loved this book and all the characters. Action packed. I was sorry when it ended and hope P T Deuterman uses the characters again.

27 of 29 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Liz
  • Cochranville, PA, United States
  • 11-03-09

What a story!

This book will capture your attention in the first chapter and NEVER let go. Great characters! This was my first for P.T. Deutermann. So glad I got it!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

we loved this book...

P.T. Deutermann is my new favorite suspense author.
me and my husband went on a long road trip and i bought this just for grins to see if my husband would like it well we both loved this book. I hope you give this book a try if you like cover ups and FBI books with a twist you will like this one there were quite a few twists and turns. I am so excited that i took a chance on this book.
Heather

10 of 11 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Katie
  • JOHNS CREEK, GA, United States
  • 03-22-12

Good story but the whiny voice was rough

Any additional comments?

It was full of action and conspiracy but I found myself really frustrated with the whiny voice used for Janet Carter. It was driving me crazy! I also have to admit I was a little unhappy with that character as a whole. I was ok with naive but it seemed she was beyond that. She was dangerously stupid which didn't seem fair.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Stevon
  • Tempe, AZ, United States
  • 04-14-11

My 1st Deutermann

It semed a bit strange hearing Dick Hill narrate this story as the lead character in this book was somewhat like Jack Reacher in the Lee Childs books. But, you got used to it and it didn't detract from the story. But if you like terrorsm, counterterrorism, the FBI, the CIA, the ATF and a good anti-hero with some other good characters then you'll like this story. It was entertaining. This was my first Deutermann and I"ll listen to him again.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Todd
  • Glenview, IL, United States
  • 02-04-10

WOW all action

Great story with plenty of non-stop action. This is the second book from Deutermann I have listened too. I am looking forward to many more. If you like heros who do good to the whole, in a very twisted way, this is a book you need to read.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Mel
  • Raleigh, NC, United States
  • 07-06-14

An Iconic Rogue Hero ......

Fans of BobLee Swagger, Jack Reacher, Mitch Rapp and Dewey Andreas - meet Edwin Kriess.... and Kriess is angry and on the hunt. Uh oh!

I became a Deutermann fan several months ago and went thru his 4-book Cam Richter series in several weeks. This one is a stand-alone but could be a series. I guess the term "formula plot" is supposed to be a negative but not for me. With the familiar voice of Dick Hill, I am in familiar territory with a rugged iconic "operative" who has run afoul of the bureaucrats..... sound familiar?

Some reviewers analyze books like they critique wine. Not me. I like the story - the characters - the narrator. If you like those characters I noted above, I think you will like Hunting Season too.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful