Regular price: $27.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

It's April, but there's still snow on the Montana mountains the day a member of the Madison River Liar and Fly Tiers club finds a Santa hat in the chimney of his rented cabin. With the flue clogged, and desperate to make a fire, he climbs up to the roof only to find the body of a teenage girl wedged into the chimney. When Sheriff Martha Ettinger and her team arrive to extract the body, they identify the victim as Cinderella "Cindy" Huntingdon - a promising young rodeo star who has been missing since November.

Was Cindy murdered? Or was she running for her life? And if so, from whom? Cindy's mother, Etta, hires private detective Sean Stranahan to find out. Jasper Fey, the girl's stepfather, believes moving on is the only way to heal. But Etta's not willing to let it go, and neither are Sean or Martha, who find clues to the death in the mysterious legends of the Crazy Mountains.

The fourth book in McCafferty's mystery series features a brisk, savvy plot and charming yet authentic characters - perfect for fans of C. J. Box and Craig Johnson.

©2015 Keith McCafferty (P)2015 Recorded Books

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    142
  • 4 Stars
    76
  • 3 Stars
    21
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    153
  • 4 Stars
    59
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    122
  • 4 Stars
    77
  • 3 Stars
    21
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Mark
  • Bettendorf, IA, United States
  • 07-15-16

Mountain of a tale

Keith McCafferty has quickly become one of my new favorite authors. He's like the metaphorical love child that would materialize if Richard Russo, Adrian McKinty & Louis L Amour could merge. But he is distinctly his own man, and an excellent writer.

Can't believe how attached I've become to Sean, Martha and Sam, especially, but also Harold, Katie, Walt & the docs. Even when events break your heart. Sad to be starting the final book (so far) of the series...These are "can't- put- downers".

Additional props must be given to Rick Holmes, who does an amazing job with all characters. And to the publisher for sticking with a great narrator throughout the series.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Ray
  • United States
  • 07-01-15

Great as always

The story is not as strong as the other books in the series, but well narrated and thoroughly enjoyable.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Always a Good Read

Luv the Sean Stranahan series. I recommend this series to anyone who loves a good mystery.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • jack
  • Canton, CT, United States
  • 01-19-18

Terrific story

Where does Crazy Mountain Kiss rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

Top 20

Who was your favorite character and why?

Sean, Jim, Martha. Sean and Martha relationship, Jim, always willing to help.

Which scene was your favorite?

Sean & Jim cave trip.

If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

Edge of your seat, with a smile.

Any additional comments?

Rick Holmes was as always great!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another winner

This series just keeps getting better. This book has plenty of twists and turns to keep you on the edge of your seat. I highly recommend this book and the entire series.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wounderfull story

Loved the way the story comes together, and the different twists in the mystery.
This a very good author and his books just keep getting better.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Story should have stayed stuck in chimney...

Would you try another book from Keith McCafferty and/or Rick Holmes?

This was the worst disappointment! I think I'll stick with Wm. Kent Krueger and C.J. Box. This will go back on the "Haven't read, probably won't" list.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great book!!!

Loved the characters! Love discrimination of the land. Kept me guessing. Great reader. Poinient!!!! I enjoyed this story. !!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Outstanding in every way

Writing that paints with every word. Characters, plot and narration entertains sublimely. A must read for any mystery buff.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful