Regular price: $19.95

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

The kidnapping of the Pope....

The heist of the spear that pierced Christ's side during the crucifixion....

The rise of the Neo-Nazi Fourth Reich....

The only man who can stop it all is adventurer Chase Baker.

After surviving a bloody run-in with ISIS-sympathizing bandits in the middle of Morocco’s Sahara Desert, adventurer and Renaissance man Chase Baker finds himself in the presence of a Vatican priest who desperately needs his help. One of the church’s great relics has been stolen by a surviving member of the Nazi SS. A man by the name of Adolf Rickman. The relic is none other than the Spear of Longinus. The very weapon that pierced Jesus Christ’s side while he hung from the cross on Golgotha. If Chase can’t recover the spear, it will be used by Rickman and his neo-Nazi cohorts to create a brand new evil Fourth Reich. 

One thing stands in Rickman’s way however. The spear is not complete. Its tip has been broken off. The power of the spear can only be accessed with the tip when it is once again reunited with its whole. But who is the keeper of the spear tip? The Papal Father himself. So what does this mean for Chase? It means that not only must he recover the spear, he must prevent the Pope from being kidnapped by a band of 21st Century Nazis bent on taking over the world. 

Now, along with the help of a beautiful and sexy Vatican archivist and a chain-smoking priest, Chase Baker travels to Italy, the Vatican, Germany and points in between in search of the one relic that can either save mankind, or obliterate it. 

For fans of Russell Blake, Clive Cussler, Dan Brown, Boyd Morrison, and Brad Thor comes another full-length, hair-raising Chase Baker action/adventure from New York Times and USA Today best-selling ITW Thriller Award Winner Vincent Zandri. Filled with romance, suspense, intrigue, and just plain fun, Chase Baker and the Spear of Destiny is one wild ride.

©2017 Vincent Zandri (P)2017 Vincent Zandri

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 3.9 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.4 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.1 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Eh!

Not a bad listen. The story was a bit unbelievable and far fetched even for a fiction book. The narrator wasn’t bad his accents need quite a bit of work.
Overall I didn’t hate it but definitely didn’t love it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Relentless non-stop action

Vincent Zandri and Andrew B. Wehrlen have rapidly become an author/narrator team that I seek out. The great news is that there are several books out there already published and it appears more to come.
This book is not one I would normally read as I like mystery thrillers, which introduced me to the author to begin with. This book is great for action lovers who want no fat. It starts out rolling and never stops.

I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

great!

Great writing with action, adventure and perfect narration. I really enjoyed this story and can't wait for more chase baker!


I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review. The fact that I was gifted this book had no influence over my opinion of it.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Better than the last

I received a review copy at my request and voluntarily reviewed. I requested this audiobook because of the narrator, Andrew B. Wehrlen, before realizing it was part of the Chase Baker series. Fortunately, this book was better than the last Chase Baker book I listened to. This one has plenty of action and adventure to hold the listener’s arrention. While not the best book I’ve listened to, it’s definitely not the worst. As always, Wehrlen gives a great performance.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Indiana jonesish bs the nazis

How can you ever go wrong when you have an Indiana Jones style protagonist going head to head with modern day nazis in a quest for the spear of destiny? It will be hard to remember you are listening to a book and not watching a movie play out in your mind. The pope is in danger, an old SS officer has revived the nazi party. Only chase baker and a select group stand in their way. Can they succeed? Death and betrayal lurk around every corner along with ancient secrets and horrible traps. Enjoy it. I did. Part of a series but easily stands on its own merit. I was voluntarily provided this free review copy audiobook by the author, narrator, or publisher.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Too much influenced.

I received a free copy of this audiobook from the author / narrator / publisher in exchange for an unbiased review.

The main character Chase Baker appears to be heavily influenced by Robert Langdon. So much so that in a blind test (whatever the audiobook equivalent would be), the story would sound like the draft version of the next adventure of Robert Langdon. Draft version, because the book lacks the polish that Dan Brown's books typically have. In order to make the story more interesting, the author pushed it more towards absurd and "that's impossible" territory. As a result, the book kinda delves into contemporary fantasy genre. And then it follows a set formula throughout the book. You know what's going to happen in next chapter before it even starts.

And then there are cheesy attempts at drawing in audience with phrases like "sexy Vatican archivist" etc. Why does the archivist have to be sexy. Or more specifically, why does it need to be highlighted? Oh right, to bring in audience. tch tch.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Great series!

Great series, always a fun listen. Well worth the credit.


This book has been provided at no cost for a fair and honest review.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

And the thrills continue!

Vincent Zandri takes us on an adventure and holds our attention throughout.

The narrator did an excellent job. Knew his characters well.

I was given a free review copy of this audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

A Must Have !!

If you are a series FAN..you will be CAPTIVATED .So Well done!! By both Author and narration is PERFECT combination.. Do Not Miss.!!

"I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review."

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

A Good read / listen

I read/listened to this as a stand alone book, it is part of a series of Chase Baker adventures,
I will be looking up some of the earlier books to read.
Well written and edited, good adventure story.
Vincent Zandri has a distinctive writing style that I like, and Andrew B Wehrien does an excellent job of narration. So much so that it forms pictures in your head - His portrayal of Callum just made me imagine Robbie Coltrane (big wild scotsman)in the role. Vivid pictures painted with words.
I recommend this book whole heartedly.
I received a free copy in exchange for an honest review.

Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Tony Bough
  • 11-21-17

An exciting action filled plot with a great lead

I love Chase as a main character. A smart guy who can pretty much do anything and sort of knows it. The narrator’s performance hits him perfectly which is especially important given the way it’s written.

The story is really good. There’s twists and turns to the plot a pace that never lets up but never goes too fast either. Just the right amount of action and story. The narrator once again really compliments that sense of pace and story.

It’s a stand-alone book in terms of the way the story plays out which is always nice. I really loved the story. It’s well written with great ideas and descriptions of the environment and it moves along very well.

This book was given to me for free at my request and I provided this voluntary review.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Norma Miles
  • 11-11-17

Even nomads have cell phones nowadays.

There is a legend that the spear which pierced the side of Jesus during the crucification is the ultimate weapon, and another, continuing the myth, that Hitler and the others sharing his Berlin bunker, killed themselves and their families within an hour of it being placed in his hands. But to fulfill its full power, the spearhead has to be complete not, as it currently exists, with a broken tip kept by the Pope himself whilst the main part languishes in archival imprisonment.
Someone wants to get that spear and reunite tip and body. Someone is prepared to do anything to do this. And Chase Baker is out to stop it from happening.

Author Vincent Zandri's tales are always exciting, intriguing, informative and written with humour. This is no exception being a dazzling cartoon-style colouration of character, plot and location with a very sensory visit to the Sahara as well as Florence and Rome.Mostly written in the first person present, Chase Baker - archaeologist, adventurer and best selling author - is sardonic, egotistical and, if not brave then determined. Andrew Werhlen portrays him to perfection, as always: his fast paced reading echoing the quick, snappy dialogue with good intonation and appropriate expression. His voicings of the other protagonists is also good, distinctive and accented.

This is another completely stand alone fun book in this exciting series. I was fortunate in being gifted a complementary copy of The Spear of Destiny at my request, by the rights holder, via Audiobook Boom. Thank you. Good story, good narration - recommended.to all adventure fans.