We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Ashes to Ashes Audiobook

Ashes to Ashes: Detective Mark Heckenburg, Book 6

Regular Price:$14.48
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

The Sunday Times best seller returns with his next unforgettable crime thriller. Fans of MJ Arlidge and Stuart MacBride won't be able to stop listening to this.

John Sagan is a forgettable man. You could pass him in the street and not realise he's there. But then, that's why he's so dangerous.

A torturer for hire, Sagan has terrorised - and mutilated - countless victims. And now he's on the move. DS Mark 'Heck' Heckenburg must chase the trail, even when it leads him to his hometown of Bradburn - a place he never thought he'd set foot in again.

But Sagan isn't the only problem. Bradburn is being terrorised by a lone killer who burns his victims to death. And with the victims chosen at random, no one knows who will be next. Least of all Heck...

©2017 Paul Finch (P)2017 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

What the Critics Say

"Edge-of-the-seat reading.... Heck is formidable - a British Alex Cross." (The Sun)
"Wonderfully dark and peppered with grim humour. Finch is a born storyteller and writes with the authentic voice of the ex-copper he is." (Peter Finch)
"An ingenious and original plot. Compulsive reading." (Rachel Abbott)
"A deliciously twisted and fiendish set of murders and a great pairing of detectives." (Stav Sherez)
"Avon's big star...part edge-of-the-seat, part hide-behind-the-sofa! An excellent series." (The Bookseller)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.1 (15 )
5 star
 (8)
4 star
 (4)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (1)
Overall
4.1 (15 )
5 star
 (8)
4 star
 (4)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (1)
Story
4.1 (15 )
5 star
 (8)
4 star
 (4)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (1)
Performance


There are no reviews for this title yet.

Sort by:
  • Amazon Customer
    5/12/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Awesome and Paul Thornley cracks it again."

    The story is very good and never lets its foot off the gas.
    Paul Thornley really is a master of narration and adds to the twists, turns and excitement.
    Highly recommended.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  • David
    5/5/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Each one gets better"

    Have listened to all the series and they get better each time. Can't wait for next installment.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • johanna allsopp
    4/24/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A bit slow"

    A bit slow to start with but it got there in the end, hope the next one is a bit more gritty.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • Jon Lymp.
    4/9/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wonderful"

    Best of the series so far....I love the simmering romance
    Between Heck and his boss Gemma....Hope they get back
    Together in the next book......loved it.....

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • Mandy Dockery
    5/14/17
    Overall
    "Not for me-"

    The violence is too gratuitous for me, I managed to get to Chapter 4 before giving up. The narrator who is good, is the only reason any stars were given.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Graham Keene
    5/4/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Heck"

    Paul Thornley is Heckenburg! He tells the story brilliantly. After however many Heckenburg books he has related no one else could do it better. The story is, as ever, fast moving and gripping. My only criticism and it is only a small one, this hero must be made of titanium..... mere skin and bone would surely fail.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Amazon Customer
    4/27/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "DS Heckenburg wows again."

    Excellent, suspense filled story. Wonderfully told by Paul Thornley. Can't wait for the next book.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Mrs. T. Griffin
    UK
    4/23/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "what the heck!"
    If this book wasn’t for you, who do you think might enjoy it more?

    Ive enjoyed this series so far, until this one. someone who doesnt want a crime thriller main character to be at all realistic will probably love it


    What was most disappointing about Paul Finch’s story?

    the main character has veered from the sublime to the ridiculous in this book, some of the scenes particularly towards the end were so unbelievable they were daft; some of the lines Heck comes out with either me cringe or laugh out loud.


    What does Paul Thornley bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

    I love this narrator


    What character would you cut from Ashes to Ashes?

    Heck


    Any additional comments?

    police crime thrillers can still be interesting and thrilling without being so over the top and so 'one man army' arrogant

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Mrs.Danvers
    UK
    4/24/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "curiously clichéd"

    I was surprised at how clichéd and dated this book sounded, perhaps it might have been better if read in book format - but I doubt it, The narration was awful, especially the female voices and regional accents - so basically all the different voices. I'm sad to have wasted my monthly credit on this audio book. I found myself hoping that Heck would get killed in a particularly ghastly manner so that should give you an idea of how annoying the main character is. Sadly I can't find one good thing to say about this book

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful
  • Mack
    US
    5/24/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Another amazing Heck adventure!"

    Just like the rest of the series, Ashes to Ashes is a gripping story with flawless narration. I've flown through the series and now I've caught up I'm not sure what to do with myself!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.