• Midnight on the River Grey

  • A Regency Mystery
  • By: Abigail Wilson
  • Narrated by: Laura Kirman
  • Length: 9 hrs and 48 mins
  • 4.7 out of 5 stars (102 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $30.79

Buy for $30.79

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

In this Gothic Regency romance, Rebecca fears she has developed feelings for the man she swore to see hanged, her brother's murderer. 

After her elder brother’s mysterious death, Rebecca Hunter vows to expose the man she believes responsible: Mr. Lewis Browning - known by the locals as the Midnight Devil and by Rebecca as her new guardian. 

Summoned to his reclusive country estate to await her London season, Rebecca plans her own secret investigation among the darkened corridors of the mysterious Greybourne Hall. Yet Lewis Browning is not as she once imagined, and his motivation is horribly unclear. Recurrent nightmares and Rebecca’s restless feelings are further complicated by the shadow of her mother’s prior descent into madness and wondering if she, too, will follow the same heartbreaking path. 

Even as midnight rides, strange injuries, and further murders lead back to Mr. Browning, Rebecca can’t ignore the subtle turn of her heart. Has she fallen for the man she swore would pay for her brother's death? And moreover, can she trust him with her uncertain future?

“Murder is far from no one’s thoughts in this delicious new romantic mystery from Abigail Wilson. With scandal dodging every turn of the page, mystery hiding behind the visage of each character, and a romance brewing with an English rake of the worse - and best - sorts, readers will find nothing lacking! I was entranced, mesmerized, addlepated, and not a little bit bewildered as I wandered the halls of Middlecrest Abbey.” (Jaime Jo Wright, author of the Christy Award-winning novel The House on Foster Hill)

Full-length Regency romance with a murder mystery (c. 90,000 words)

Perfect for fans of Sarah Ladd, Deanna Raybourn, Julie Klassen, Tasha Alexander, and Lauren Willig.

Also by Abigail Wilson:

  • In the Shadow of Croft Towers
  • Masquerade at Middlecrest Abbey
  • The Vanishing at Loxby Manor (available January 2021)

Includes discussion questions for book clubs  

©2019 Abigail Wilson (P)2019 Thomas Nelson

What listeners say about Midnight on the River Grey

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    75
  • 4 Stars
    21
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    74
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    68
  • 4 Stars
    21
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Truly entertaining

Midnight on the River Grey was at times creepy and such an alluring mystery that I couldn’t stand to put the book down. Rebecca is desperate to solve her brother’s murder and fears the looming threat of madness that overtook her mother. The gothic nature of this story raised the hair on my arms on several occasions. The narrator did a fantastic job and really added to the atmosphere. I highly recommend this book and will be reading more from this author.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another home run!

Abigail Wilson crafts an amazingly gripping story and Laura Kirman's narration is the icing on the cake. Great listen!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Mystery with Romance was nice

I enjoyed this book. A little mystery along with inspirational romance was nice. It's also good not to have prayers and sermons even though it's clean.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Best book I've listen to all year!

This book had everything! It had a mystery with a twist at the end, sweet romance, deep characters, and excellent narration.
I can't wait to find more books by this author! The title does not do it justice.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

So good!

I just discovered this author and I love her! Great plot and narrator! I’m on to her next book😊

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Superb

The narrator was excellent. The story was riveting and well done. Not just another predictable love story.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Surprising!

I love this Author! Every book is so surprising! I'm reading them back to back.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I really love this Author

I really enjoyed this book, it took me a minute to get hooked, but once it got underway, I was hooked.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A great way to spend Christmas break

I have listened to four of Abigail Wilson's wonderful stories while I have been on Christmas break from school. Getting wrapped up in these stories makes organizing my home much more pleasant! Abigail's characters are believable (where can I find a guy like Louis Browning?). They make mistakes, let their imaginations get a little crazy, have weaknesses...but I love their kindness, caring, and how they grow during the stories. I also love that I don't have to worry about language, violence or lack of morals, and I don't need a score card to keep up with which character is which. As soon as I finish writing my thoughts, I'm going to download the next story in this series. I've already bought extra credits. Thank you, Abigail.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • SB
  • 06-04-21

Wonderful

This book was a wonderful surprise! Great story line with Gothic elements, mystery, and clean romance. The story moved along at a nice pace, with clues deftly laid out for the reader. I was able to figure out the mystery fairly easily, but that in no way detracted from my enjoyment of the story.