adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $28.51

Buy for $28.51

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

In this new Regency romance, a young unwed mother knows she must protect her heart from the charms of her convenient new husband, Lord Torrington. She is not, however, prepared to protect her life.

When the widowed Lord Torrington agreed to spy for the crown, he never planned to impersonate a highwayman, let alone rob the wrong carriage. Stranded on the road with an unconscious young woman, he is forced to propose marriage to protect his identity and her reputation, as well as his dangerous mission.

Trapped not only by her duty to her country, but also by her limited options as an unwed mother, Miss Elizabeth Cantrell and her infant son are whisked away to Middlecrest Abbey by none other than the elder brother of her son’s absent father. There she is met by Torrington’s beautiful grown daughters, a vicious murder, and an urgent hunt for the missing intelligence that could turn the war with France. Meanwhile she must convince everyone that her marriage is a genuine love match if her new husband has any hope of uncovering the enemy.

Determined to keep her son’s true identity a secret, Elizabeth will need to remain one step ahead of her fragile heart, her uncertain future, and the relentless fiend bent on her new family’s ruin.  

Early Praise for Masquerade at Middlecrest Abbey:

“Murder is far from no one’s thoughts in this delicious new romantic mystery from Abigail Wilson. With scandal dodging every turn of the page, mystery hiding behind the visage of each character, and a romance brewing with an English rake of the worse - and best - sorts, readers will find nothing lacking! I was entranced, mesmerized, addlepated, and not a little bit bewildered as I wandered the halls of Middlecrest Abbey.” (Jaime Jo Wright, author of the Christy Award-winning novel The House on Foster Hill)

“From the very first page, I was enraptured! Masquerade at Middlecrest Abbey has intrigue, mystery, and suspense beautifully enhanced by the vulnerability revealed through memorable characters making this story impossible to put down. A must-read recommendation, this story is exactly what makes me love reading!” (Natalie Walters, author of the Harbored Secrets series)

“Suspicion shades the affluent grounds of Middlecrest Abbey in this riveting novel by Abigail Wilson. The artful balance of mystery and romance cleverly blends with the Gothic tones of Regency England. With exquisite prose and a layered plot, Masquerade at Middlecrest Abbey is a compelling story not to be missed.” (Rachel Scott McDaniel, award-winning author of Above the Fold)

Full-length Regency romance mystery (c. 90,000 words)

Perfect for fans of Sarah Ladd, Deanna Raybourn, Julie Klassen, Tasha Alexander, and Lauren Willig.

Also by Abigail Wilson:

  • In the Shadow of Croft Towers
  • Midnight on the River Grey
  • The Vanishing at Loxby Manor (available January 2021)

Includes discussion questions for book clubs 

©2020 Abigail Wilson (P)2020 Thomas Nelson

What listeners say about Masquerade at Middlecrest Abbey

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    183
  • 4 Stars
    60
  • 3 Stars
    21
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    180
  • 4 Stars
    47
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    165
  • 4 Stars
    56
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent!!!

This story has it all with suspense, mystery, history, romance (clean), and interesting characters in an interesting setting!! The lead characters and some secondary were well developed, had emotional depth, and intelligence. Narrator adds to story with character differentiation, pleasant voices, and good pacing. Thank you Ms. Wilson and Ms. Kirman🎉😀❤️

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent!

Great story! Narrator was wonderful! Thrilling mystery right up until the end! I wish there had been a bit more progress on the romance front...lots of innuendo but very little kissing!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

I can't get over.

I just can't get over certain things in this book. Like how does the heroine end up trusting all the people who mean her ill and the ones looking out for her she keeps secrets from and at a distance. I could tell who the French spy was from the beginning and who was helping him it was too obvious and for it to take at least one of the characters the whole book to figure it out and the other not to is irritating just waited for them to figure out what i did a long time before them.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Love!

I was so surprised at how much I liked this book! It was a random purchase and I’m so thankful I chose it! I will definitely seek out more from this author.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A delightful Regency Mystery wit Spies & Intrigue

I haven’t previously read anything by Abigail Wilson but I was captivated by MADQUERADE AT MIDDLECREST ABBEY. It had intrigue, great setting details, imperfect characters that I could admire, twists and turns that kept my attention till the end. The narration was well done. I was very pleased with my purchase.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good Mystery But No Romance

The story was slightly predictable. I enjoyed the mystery but the romance was not there

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Get it now

This is such a good book. Most mysteries reveal themselves at the beginning. But this took so many twists and turns. I loved every minute of it and I wish there was a sequel. I’ve fallen in love with the family.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Not bad

Interesting mystery. A little slow in some spots, such as my least favorite thing: internal pondering. But that’s the beauty of being able to skip or turn up the speed. I liked the main characters. Narration good, though she occasionally slipped in consistency
. And the whispering was impossible to hear without replaying a few times and turning up. Otherwise, an enjoyable listen.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A.M.A.Z.I.N.G!!!

This is one of those 'can't sleep, can't eat, can't do anything besides listen' type of stories!!! It is fast paced, exciting, mysterious and romantic and grabbed my attention from the very start! I think I may have found one of my new favorite authors!!! And the narrator is fantastic!!! I'm so glad I stumbled upon this amazing author!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

It's Not a Romance & None of the Drama Makes Sense

Here's the thing: This is not a bad little story. It really isn't. I fully intend to seek out another Abigail Wilson story because the writing was really good. The story wasn't horrible...it had good bones.

But it's not romantic. I like clean romances. The vast majority of audiobooks I listen to are historical romance titles. I love this genre. I don't ask them to be Shakespeare, and I don't even ask them to be Austen or Bronte. I do, however, like for them to be romantic.

This book is a regency mystery story with hints of a romantic relationship far in the background that doesn't even really have any chemistry. I mean, the heroine claims to feel chemistry a few times, but nobody's buying what she's selling in that regard. There is zero romantic tension in this story. None. Not a whiff. When the heroine says that she's feeling romantic tension, the reader doesn't believe her.

Now, I like the heroine. Elizabeth is a smart woman (about most things). She doesn't do annoyingly dangerous things that put her in manufactured distressed damsel situations. She isn't hyper-emotional and she doesn't sit around navel-gazing or mooning over a man the entire time. She is, in short, a delightfully rational creature, and I liked her.

The hero is also very likeable. He is kind, honorable, honest, open, and accommodating. No complaints, and we're told that he is handsome, as well, which is always nice. The secondary characters are distinct and seem like real people--great additions, both the nice ones and the nasty ones.

Y'all, the protagonists don't even share a kiss until like 3/4 of the way through the story, and quite frankly, when you get there, the kiss makes no sense whatsoever. It's not romantic in the slightest, and I found that beyond irritating in a book whose subtitle reads: "A Regency Romance." Nah, fam. This is a Regency murder mystery. And that's fine.

The mystery is relatively interesting, and if the book were a smidge shorter, I'd have given it another star, but it drags on too long for what it is. The secrets the heroine is keeping don't make sense. Like, there is zero reason for the heroine to keep the secret. It's utterly unbelievable. There is a scene with a bad man where the author tries to make a manufactured angst misunderstanding occur between the hero and heroine...and it's clumsy and doesn't work. I really despise the "angst created by people refusing to just open their mouths and tell each other things" trope. In this story, it was especially upsetting to see because it made the mystery plot drag on too long and added nothing to the non-existent romance.

The narrator did a good job and has a beautiful, soothing voice. Each character was distinct, and I never had to guess who was speaking.

I feel like I've been super hard on this book, but it really wasn't "bad." It just wasn't very romantic, and I found that disappointing. I really wanted romance between these two people, but it never happened.