adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $27.37

Buy for $27.37

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

In this new Regency romance, a young unwed mother knows she must protect her heart from the charms of her convenient new husband, Lord Torrington. She is not, however, prepared to protect her life.

When the widowed Lord Torrington agreed to spy for the crown, he never planned to impersonate a highwayman, let alone rob the wrong carriage. Stranded on the road with an unconscious young woman, he is forced to propose marriage to protect his identity and her reputation, as well as his dangerous mission.

Trapped not only by her duty to her country, but also by her limited options as an unwed mother, Miss Elizabeth Cantrell and her infant son are whisked away to Middlecrest Abbey by none other than the elder brother of her son’s absent father. There she is met by Torrington’s beautiful grown daughters, a vicious murder, and an urgent hunt for the missing intelligence that could turn the war with France. Meanwhile she must convince everyone that her marriage is a genuine love match if her new husband has any hope of uncovering the enemy.

Determined to keep her son’s true identity a secret, Elizabeth will need to remain one step ahead of her fragile heart, her uncertain future, and the relentless fiend bent on her new family’s ruin.  

Early Praise for Masquerade at Middlecrest Abbey:

“Murder is far from no one’s thoughts in this delicious new romantic mystery from Abigail Wilson. With scandal dodging every turn of the page, mystery hiding behind the visage of each character, and a romance brewing with an English rake of the worse - and best - sorts, readers will find nothing lacking! I was entranced, mesmerized, addlepated, and not a little bit bewildered as I wandered the halls of Middlecrest Abbey.” (Jaime Jo Wright, author of the Christy Award-winning novel The House on Foster Hill)

“From the very first page, I was enraptured! Masquerade at Middlecrest Abbey has intrigue, mystery, and suspense beautifully enhanced by the vulnerability revealed through memorable characters making this story impossible to put down. A must-read recommendation, this story is exactly what makes me love reading!” (Natalie Walters, author of the Harbored Secrets series)

“Suspicion shades the affluent grounds of Middlecrest Abbey in this riveting novel by Abigail Wilson. The artful balance of mystery and romance cleverly blends with the Gothic tones of Regency England. With exquisite prose and a layered plot, Masquerade at Middlecrest Abbey is a compelling story not to be missed.” (Rachel Scott McDaniel, award-winning author of Above the Fold)

Full-length Regency romance mystery (c. 90,000 words)

Perfect for fans of Sarah Ladd, Deanna Raybourn, Julie Klassen, Tasha Alexander, and Lauren Willig.

Also by Abigail Wilson:

  • In the Shadow of Croft Towers
  • Midnight on the River Grey
  • The Vanishing at Loxby Manor (available January 2021)

Includes discussion questions for book clubs 

©2020 Abigail Wilson (P)2020 Thomas Nelson

What listeners say about Masquerade at Middlecrest Abbey

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    72
  • 4 Stars
    27
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    75
  • 4 Stars
    17
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    68
  • 4 Stars
    25
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent!

Great story! Narrator was wonderful! Thrilling mystery right up until the end! I wish there had been a bit more progress on the romance front...lots of innuendo but very little kissing!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

I can't get over.

I just can't get over certain things in this book. Like how does the heroine end up trusting all the people who mean her ill and the ones looking out for her she keeps secrets from and at a distance. I could tell who the French spy was from the beginning and who was helping him it was too obvious and for it to take at least one of the characters the whole book to figure it out and the other not to is irritating just waited for them to figure out what i did a long time before them.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Not bad

Interesting mystery. A little slow in some spots, such as my least favorite thing: internal pondering. But that’s the beauty of being able to skip or turn up the speed. I liked the main characters. Narration good, though she occasionally slipped in consistency
. And the whispering was impossible to hear without replaying a few times and turning up. Otherwise, an enjoyable listen.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent!!!

This story has it all with suspense, mystery, history, romance (clean), and interesting characters in an interesting setting!! The lead characters and some secondary were well developed, had emotional depth, and intelligence. Narrator adds to story with character differentiation, pleasant voices, and good pacing. Thank you Ms. Wilson and Ms. Kirman🎉😀❤️

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Entertaining

When I purchase one of your bargain books I am more willing to sit back and be entertained and I was. It was an unusual story with sympathetic leads. But in addition to the usual dithering where honest would have set things aright, I was surprised that the lead, a spy, seemed clueless at times.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A.M.A.Z.I.N.G!!!

This is one of those 'can't sleep, can't eat, can't do anything besides listen' type of stories!!! It is fast paced, exciting, mysterious and romantic and grabbed my attention from the very start! I think I may have found one of my new favorite authors!!! And the narrator is fantastic!!! I'm so glad I stumbled upon this amazing author!