We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
Worlds at War Audiobook

Worlds at War: The 2,500-Year Struggle Between East and West

Regular Price:$34.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

In the tradition of Jared Diamond and Jacques Barzun, prize-winning historian Anthony Pagden presents a sweeping history of the long struggle between East and West, from the Greeks to the present day.

The relationship between East and West has always been one of turmoil. In this historical tour de force, a renowned historian leads us from the world of classical antiquity, through the Dark Ages, to the Crusades, Europe's resurgence, and the dominance of the Ottoman Empire, which almost shattered Europe entirely. Pagden travels from Napoleon in Egypt to Europe's carving up of the finally moribund Ottomans - creating the modern Middle East along the way - and on to the present struggles in Iraq.

Throughout, we learn a tremendous amount about what "East" and "West" were and are, and how it has always been competing worldviews and psychologies, more than religion or power grabs, that have fed the mistrust and violence between East and West. In Pagden's dark but provocative view, this struggle cannot help but go on.

©2008 Anthony Pagden; (P)2008 Tantor

What the Critics Say

"An accessible and lucid exploration of the history of the East-West split....Fans of Jacques Barzun and Jared Diamond will be most impressed by Pagden's big picture perspective." (Publishers Weekly)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.9 (477 )
5 star
 (157)
4 star
 (183)
3 star
 (88)
2 star
 (33)
1 star
 (16)
Overall
4.0 (242 )
5 star
 (93)
4 star
 (86)
3 star
 (40)
2 star
 (16)
1 star
 (7)
Story
4.2 (245 )
5 star
 (105)
4 star
 (91)
3 star
 (36)
2 star
 (11)
1 star
 (2)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Neil Chisholm Buninyong, Australia 01-08-12
    Neil Chisholm Buninyong, Australia 01-08-12

    "fabric artist and quilter"

    HELPFUL VOTES
    336
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    101
    81
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    48
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Sweeping historical saga"

    This is a fantastic review of what makes the West western and the East oriental and why there has been constant war between the East and the West since early history. Its not a book for school children and some times it takes a bit of concentration on the part of the adult listener but overall it is learned, interesting and very illuminating. Highly recommended.

    3 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Craig South Yarra, Australia 06-05-11
    Craig South Yarra, Australia 06-05-11 Member Since 2007
    HELPFUL VOTES
    8
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Compelling analysis, but factually unreliable"

    Presents the compelling argument that Europe and the middle east have been culturally divided since pre-history, irrespective of which empires and religions have ruled them. Main concern is the author is careless to the point of amateurish with his fact(oid) checking. These are rarely central to his thesis but do detract from its impact. (ie "'Veni vidi vici' uttered by Julius Caesar after his conquest of Britain' - um, no, he reputedly said them of Pontus, and his brief incursion into Britain was anything but a conquest)

    5 of 7 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jim Boston, MA, United States 04-11-11
    Jim Boston, MA, United States 04-11-11 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    168
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    168
    32
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    4
    0
    Overall
    "Great survey of the seeds of discontent"

    This is a great survey of the thousands of years of mistrust, misunderstandings and the planting of the seeds of discontent that still are very much with us today. John Lee was the perfect narrator for this book. Loved it.

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Gary Las Cruces, NM, United States 06-12-14
    Gary Las Cruces, NM, United States 06-12-14 Member Since 2016

    l'enfer c'est les autres

    HELPFUL VOTES
    2851
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    764
    313
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    347
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Four legs good, two legs bad"

    The author's make-believe take on the East excludes India, barely mentioned, and China and Japan, mentioned even less. By the East he means the Persian Empire and the Islamic middle east. He has a fantasy that the history of the world can be described by the "battle line drawn" between Europe and the East over 2300 years ago.

    The author is never at a wont for describing the East in generic negative terms. I'll bet he referred to directly or quoted others that the East is "feminine" more than 10 times. What does it mean when a culture is feminine? He never tells me, but he clearly uses that as a negative trait. Besides, why would it be bad for a culture to be feminine or good if it were masculine? The East, according to him (or the ones he quotes favorably) are lover of boys and are disordered and not for liberty. Even when he talks about the advances made under Islamic civilizations during the West's dark ages, he just dismisses them by saying since they were ruled by such disordered leaders there indigenous populations got to flourish because they were poorly led and got to be themselves because of the poor leadership, whatever.

    Western Civilization History is usually told by looking within and very little of the between is told. The author does tell the story by focusing only on the between providing the listener with insights into the development of the West which is not usually told in such great detail in survey of history books. That's the feature of the book I liked and it's why I tolerated the author's comic book characterizations of the "East", but in the end his characterizations of Persia and Islam sounded like the pigs in Animal farm repeating a mantra over and over that "four legs good, two legs bad" or in his case "Western Christians good, East Muslim bad".

    Life is too short to read books that have such an obvious silly take on world history and I would recommend a good book on World History instead such as "The History of the World" by Roberts instead of this comic book characterization.

    3 of 5 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Michael 08-01-17
    Michael 08-01-17 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "An excellent synopsis of East-West history"

    Extremely worthwhile read for anyone who is curious about the roots of the conflict which fills our newspapers with terrorist attacks and Western airstrikes on a near daily basis.

    Starting at the beginning of recorded history, long before the coming of Christianity and Islam, The books thoroughly traces the long history of animosity in conflict between fundamentally different civilizations. In so doing, it leaves the reader with a greater understanding, if not optimism about, of the current geocultural situation.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Mrlimmer 02-17-16
    Mrlimmer 02-17-16 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    13
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    39
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A Devastating, Deep, and Dreadful Truth"

    This book had not been recommended to me; I chose it as a lark, a way to use my credit this month to explore a more general, broad-strokes assessment of historical conflict. What I found when I had finished the piece a day and a half later was a chilling, accurate, and altogether revolutionary look at the conflict between east and west trough history, and how they have shaped and altered so much. The tensions herein approached are spilling over once more into the conflict of our days, and any who look at the invasion of Iraq, or other, similar endeavors, as altogether favorable, must reassess their values and heir hopes.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Avid Reader 12-01-15
    Avid Reader 12-01-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    8
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Informative and easily read"

    An interesting source of information about the relationship and the history of conflicts between east and west reaching the present age. Religion occupies a significant portion of its content answering a lot of questions regarding the current status quo.

    I highly recommend it.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Michael Lee, NH, United States 10-25-15
    Michael Lee, NH, United States 10-25-15 Member Since 2006
    HELPFUL VOTES
    35
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    71
    12
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Informative not great"

    Learned a lot re historical interaction of cultures of Europe and Mideast, particularly religion, wars, politics...though audio book not great for absorbing unfamiliar person and place names. A main point is that Muslim conflict in current times is based on version of Islam that does not separate church and state, while "West" does separate. Note that book's notion of East and West excludes anybody not within 1000 miles of the Mediterranean, except a few mentions of the US towards the end. Excludes most of Asia, Africa, the Americas, Oceania.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    henry h holcomb 03-26-15 Member Since 2009
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellent historical account and analysis"

    An excellent accounting of the long and violent struggle between East And West. Worth the time and the effort! Thank you.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kristin 01-26-14
    Kristin 01-26-14 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    44
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    71
    43
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good to listen to."

    Very interesting and well done. I went on to read Lawrence in Arabia and thought this had been an excellent prelude to that amazing book.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.