Regular price: $22.95

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

In the tradition of Galileo's Daughter and Brunelleschi's Dome, this exciting story illuminates the captivating world of the late Renaissance - in this case its plagues, remedies, and alchemy - through the life of Leonardo Fioravanti, a brilliant, remarkably forward-thinking, and utterly unconventional doctor. Fioravanti's marvelous cures and talent for self-aggrandizement earned him the adoration of the people, the scorn of the medical establishment, and a reputation as one of the age's most colorful, combative figures.

Written by Pulitzer-prize nominated historian William Eamon, The Professor of Secrets entices readers into a dangerous scientific underworld of sorcerers and surgeons. Meticulously researched and engagingly written, this gripping narrative will appeal to those interested in Renaissance history, the development of science, and the historical thrillers so popular today.

©2010 William Eamon (P)2010 Audible, Inc.

Critic Reviews

“The author presents what medicine was like during the Renaissance with a wealth of unexpected details…and a light, accessible touch…that makes this book welcome reading not only for the summer but for any time of year.” (Los Angeles Times)

More from the same

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 3.6 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    4

Performance

  • 4.2 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 3.7 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Stefan
  • Lexington, KY, United States
  • 03-16-11

very informative and well researched

This book gives a very good overview of the development of medicine during the transition from the middle ages to renaissance. Since it follows one person, it gives lots of colorful details that are easy to follow. I found parallels between renaissance medical establishment and today's medical practice very interesting.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall

Where was the Alchemy???

This book had more dramatic words that any actual facts!!!
I don't even know what the author actually feels about the main character and I didn't learn anything about alchemy or medicine!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful