We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
The Potato Factory Audiobook

The Potato Factory: The Australian Trilogy, Book 1

Regular Price:$34.97
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Always leave a little salt on the bread...

Ikey Solomon's favorite saying is also his way of doing business, and in the business of thieving he's very successful indeed. Ikey's partner in crime is his mistress, the forthright Mary Abacus, until misfortune befalls them. They are parted and each must make the harsh journey from thriving nineteenth century London to the convict settlement of Van Diemen's Land.

In the backstreets and dives of Hobart Town, Mary learns the art of brewing and builds The Potato Factory, where she plans a new future. But her ambitions are threatened by Ikey's wife, Hannah, her old enemy. The two women raise their separate families, one legitimate and the other bastard. As each woman sets out to destroy the other, the families are brought to the edge of disaster.

©1995 Bryce Courtenay; (P)2000 Bolinda Publishing Pyt Ltd by arrangement with Penguin Group (Australia)

What the Critics Say

"In the tradition of Charles Dickens, Courtenay creates a unique cast of characters from the outset of this epic novel....Humphrey Bower's performance is a marvel...making this one of those rare books with a sweep of characters the readers come to care about deeply." (AudioFile)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.4 (4808 )
5 star
 (2863)
4 star
 (1275)
3 star
 (391)
2 star
 (141)
1 star
 (138)
Overall
4.4 (3707 )
5 star
 (2307)
4 star
 (906)
3 star
 (285)
2 star
 (114)
1 star
 (95)
Story
4.6 (3705 )
5 star
 (2792)
4 star
 (640)
3 star
 (167)
2 star
 (49)
1 star
 (57)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Sierra 04-07-16
    Sierra 04-07-16 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    40
    13
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "great story"

    this was a wonderful story. made me feel involved and invested. riveting to the last.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lauren San Clemente, CA, United States 03-26-16
    Lauren San Clemente, CA, United States 03-26-16 Member Since 2013

    RaeKei

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    28
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Outstanding in every way!"

    Loved this story in every way. Hard to believe how tough people had to be to survive at that time.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    John 03-22-16
    John 03-22-16

    I'm a crippeled old warrior with difficulty typing/writing etc. I used to love reading books, and have read many. I now love audio books.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    137
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    195
    52
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    9
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Horatio Alger could only wish. . . ."

    Bryce Courtenay is constantly pulling you into the story. You're really not to sure who the protagonist until you reach the end so you root for all.

    I only leave reviews for the best of books and this is one.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    EZ 03-17-16
    EZ 03-17-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    6
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    517
    15
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Engaging and brutal."

    A story that drew me to listening even with the sometimes exaggerated violence. The protagonists are lovable and the fiction is endearing. Though violent, at least it's no Game of Thrones style of inevitable doom.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    S. Taggart Missouri 03-13-16
    S. Taggart Missouri 03-13-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    6
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    30
    27
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Pick this one!"

    Three initial lives woven together, I had a brief moment of wondering where this was going but once it got there, wow! Loved these characters, each was developed so beautifully. The story was set in the seedy underbelly of England and later Australia as it was conquered. Will continue to look for books from this author!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    ashley Woodland Hills, CA, United States 03-10-16
    ashley Woodland Hills, CA, United States 03-10-16 Member Since 2013
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A great book with a masterfull performance!!"
    If you could sum up The Potato Factory in three words, what would they be?

    Survival, unbroken, spirit


    What was one of the most memorable moments of The Potato Factory?

    The ingenious ways Mary found to keep her self sane in an insane journey to serve her sentence.


    What about Humphrey Bower’s performance did you like?

    Deep onto the core of the character


    Who was the most memorable character of The Potato Factory and why?

    Mary. To hell and back again and again didn't changed the good in her.


    Any additional comments?

    Traffic? I couldn't wait the hour plus drive to work just so I could continue the story.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    jeanne 03-08-16
    jeanne 03-08-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellent!!!"

    The story was wonderful, the performance was fantastic! I enthusiastically recommend this audible recording! Better than reading it.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Payne 03-06-16
    Payne 03-06-16 Member Since 2011
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellent reader - good compelling story"
    Where does The Potato Factory rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    A very good story, with compelling, though not sympathetic characters.


    What did you like best about this story?

    By far the skill of the reader - a variety of voices - distinct for each character, and even a song!


    If you could rename The Potato Factory, what would you call it?

    Leave a little salt..... <br/>


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Tiffany Walker 03-03-16 Member Since 2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    12
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not As Gory as the other reviewers made it out to be"

    When I first purchased this book the reviews made it seem as though the novel was unnecessarily lude and gory on its sexual details. On the contrary this book is no more sexually explicit than any other contemporary novel. The cast of characters is portrayed in a manner that shows them to be more realistic than any other contemporary novel set in the Victorian era. The narrator does a great job with the voices.
    My only critique is that the ending felt rushed, though the ending itself is still very unexpected

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    HollyD 03-01-16
    HollyD 03-01-16 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    64
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Two thumbs up!!"

    Loved everything about this book!! A little vulgar and graphic but necessary for the era.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.