Regular price: $15.98

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

If you don't know Simon Scarrow, you don't know Rome!

The Legion is the action-packed tenth novel in Simon Scarrow's best-selling Eagles of the Empire series. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden.

Egypt, AD 49. Cato, one of the youngest Prefects of the Roman army, and Centurion Macro have a tough posting: to track down and destroy a gang of former gladiators who have turned to piracy. Driven by vengeance, these hardened brutes have been defiling temples, sinking Roman ships, and slaughtering men, women and children.

What's worse is that they are doing it all under the name of Macro and Cato, in an attempt to stir up a rebellion against the occupying forces. And it's working. If Macro and Cato don't stop the pirates in time, it could be the beginning of the end for the Roman Empire.

©2010 Simon Scarrow (P)2012 Headline Publishing Group Ltd

Critic Reviews

"I don't need this kind of competition!" (Bernard Cornwall)
"Scarrow's novels rank with the best." (Independent)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.8 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.7 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.6 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • val wills.
  • 10-01-17

brilliant as ever the continious of story of Ajax

Macro and Cato survived yet more blood deaths and betrayal . Love love love it

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Simon
  • 08-17-17

Macro and Cato Going on a Bear Hunt

I still love these books. There is little better a way to while away some hours than in the company of Marco and Cato especially with the excellent Jonathan Keeble at the microphone. This one sees our two heroes led a rather merry dance by their nemesis, the ex-gladiator Ajax. There's lots of great action and a slightly unexpected conclusion as Scarrow once again delivers a high quality adventure. There is also a decent twist in the plot near the end which I personally didn't see coming.

If you like the previous ones you should be as happy as me again with the one small proviso that Ajax's continuing survival does take a little bit of swallowing as the book goes on. Still one of my favourite series though.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • mark
  • 07-28-17

Brilliant

This is a brilliant audio book, excellent narration and an intriguing story line, I have never been disappointed by scarrow.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • James
  • 03-31-17

Fantastic book

Really enjoyed this book, would recommend the eagle series to anyone with an interest in the Ancient Roman period.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • sam
  • 02-19-17

Best yet

I've been working my way through these books and omg! This was amazing I can't even describe how tense it gets! Get it! Or if you are new to the series go back to the start and follow Macro and Cato through everything!

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Carole
  • 02-12-16

Brilliant

Brilliantly entertaining story, characters brought to life by good narration . Attention to detail makes you feel you are right there.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • ColinB
  • 10-15-15

ripping story

great story totally enthralling feels as though you are there amongst the blood an guts. managed to pass hours of time lost in the smells of ancient rome

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • james
  • 07-09-15

Continuation of the Same boring Ajax story

More of the same. These books are basically 3 story archs dragged out. The main difference here is that Cato gets half his usual brains alongside some rubbish plot twists. Yawn

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Nana
  • 02-08-15

Another goo macro and kato romp

Enjoyed this as I have the others on the series. What am I going to do with myself when I get to the end?

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Alastair Majury
  • 11-24-13

Great story and performance

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

I am a big fan of Simon Scarrow's Macro & Cato series of books, I have read all of his books and listening to the books again as a way of refreshing my memory. I found the audio version of the book to be very good.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful