Regular price: $28.00

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

In the tradition of Michel Faber and Sarah Waters, here's a literary historical novel about an orphan girl's journey from poverty to film stardom, set against the grand backdrop of World War I Berlin, the cabaret era, the run-up to World War II, and the innovations in art and industry that accompanied it all.
©2008 Beatrice Colin; (P)2008 Penguin

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 3.5 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 3.5 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 3.8 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Jill
  • Early, TX, USA
  • 06-12-09

Depressing

the most depressing story ever told, I kept waiting on her exciting life to unfold, it barely did and in the the last 20 minutes of a 14Hour story I cant believe I stayed with it that long.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful